linux-mm.kvack.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>
To: linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>,
	Jeremy Kerr <jk@ozlabs.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com>,
	Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com>,
	Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Frederic Barrat <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Manoj N. Kumar" <manoj@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Matthew R. Ochs" <mrochs@linux.ibm.com>,
	Uma Krishnan <ukrishn@linux.ibm.com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>,
	Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>, Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthew.garrett@nebula.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>,
	Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	Mark Fasheh <mark@fasheh.com>,
	Joseph Qi <joseph.qi@linux.alibaba.com>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@google.com>,
	Anton Vorontsov <anton@enomsg.org>,
	Colin Cross <ccross@android.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>, Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@chromium.org>, Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, oprofile-list@lists.sf.net,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, autofs@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-efi@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	ocfs2-devel@oss.oracle.com, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 6/8] simplefs: add file creation functions
Date: Tue, 14 Apr 2020 14:43:00 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200414124304.4470-7-eesposit@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200414124304.4470-1-eesposit@redhat.com>

A bunch of code is duplicated between debugfs and tracefs, unify it to the
simplefs library.

The code is very similar, except that dentry and inode creation are unified
into a single function (unlike start_creating in debugfs and tracefs, which
only takes care of dentries).  This adds an output parameter to the creation
functions, but pushes all error recovery into fs/simplefs.c.

Signed-off-by: Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>
---
 fs/simplefs.c            | 150 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/simplefs.h |  19 +++++
 2 files changed, 169 insertions(+)

diff --git a/fs/simplefs.c b/fs/simplefs.c
index c59eb8d996be..3e48a288beb3 100644
--- a/fs/simplefs.c
+++ b/fs/simplefs.c
@@ -1,6 +1,8 @@
 /* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
 #include <linux/simplefs.h>
 #include <linux/mount.h>
+#include <linux/namei.h>
+#include <linux/fsnotify.h>
 
 static DEFINE_SPINLOCK(pin_fs_lock);
 
@@ -42,3 +44,151 @@ struct inode *simple_alloc_anon_inode(struct simple_fs *fs)
 	return alloc_anon_inode(fs->mount->mnt_sb);
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(simple_alloc_anon_inode);
+
+static struct dentry *failed_creating(struct simple_fs *fs, struct dentry *dentry)
+{
+	inode_unlock(d_inode(dentry->d_parent));
+	dput(dentry);
+	simple_release_fs(fs);
+	return ERR_PTR(-ENOMEM);
+}
+
+struct dentry *simplefs_create_dentry(struct simple_fs *fs, struct file_system_type *type,
+				      const char *name, struct dentry *parent,
+				      struct inode **inode)
+{
+	struct dentry *dentry;
+	int error;
+
+	pr_debug("creating file '%s'\n", name);
+
+	if (IS_ERR(parent))
+		return parent;
+
+	error = simple_pin_fs(fs, type);
+	if (error) {
+		pr_err("Unable to pin filesystem for file '%s'\n", name);
+		return ERR_PTR(error);
+	}
+
+	/* If the parent is not specified, we create it in the root.
+	 * We need the root dentry to do this, which is in the super
+	 * block. A pointer to that is in the struct vfsmount that we
+	 * have around.
+	 */
+	if (!parent)
+		parent = fs->mount->mnt_root;
+
+	inode_lock(d_inode(parent));
+	dentry = lookup_one_len(name, parent, strlen(name));
+	if (!IS_ERR(dentry) && d_really_is_positive(dentry)) {
+		if (d_is_dir(dentry))
+			pr_err("Directory '%s' with parent '%s' already present!\n",
+			       name, parent->d_name.name);
+		else
+			pr_err("File '%s' in directory '%s' already present!\n",
+			       name, parent->d_name.name);
+		dput(dentry);
+		dentry = ERR_PTR(-EEXIST);
+	}
+
+	if (IS_ERR(dentry)) {
+		inode_unlock(d_inode(parent));
+		simple_release_fs(fs);
+	}
+
+
+	if (IS_ERR(dentry))
+		return dentry;
+
+	*inode = simple_new_inode(fs->mount->mnt_sb);
+	if (unlikely(!(*inode))) {
+		pr_err("out of free inodes, can not create file '%s'\n",
+		       name);
+		return failed_creating(fs, dentry);
+	}
+
+	return dentry;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(simplefs_create_dentry);
+
+struct dentry *simplefs_create_file(struct simple_fs *fs, struct file_system_type *type,
+				    const char *name, umode_t mode,
+				    struct dentry *parent, void *data,
+				    struct inode **inode)
+{
+	struct dentry *dentry;
+
+	WARN_ON((mode & S_IFMT) && !S_ISREG(mode));
+	mode |= S_IFREG;
+
+	dentry = simplefs_create_dentry(fs, type, name, parent, inode);
+
+	if (IS_ERR(dentry))
+		return dentry;
+
+	(*inode)->i_mode = mode;
+	(*inode)->i_private = data;
+
+	return dentry;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(simplefs_create_file);
+
+struct dentry *simplefs_finish_dentry(struct dentry *dentry, struct inode *inode)
+{
+	d_instantiate(dentry, inode);
+	if (S_ISDIR(inode->i_mode)) {
+		inc_nlink(d_inode(dentry->d_parent));
+		fsnotify_mkdir(d_inode(dentry->d_parent), dentry);
+	} else {
+		fsnotify_create(d_inode(dentry->d_parent), dentry);
+	}
+	inode_unlock(d_inode(dentry->d_parent));
+	return dentry;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(simplefs_finish_dentry);
+
+struct dentry *simplefs_create_dir(struct simple_fs *fs, struct file_system_type *type,
+				   const char *name, umode_t mode, struct dentry *parent,
+				   struct inode **inode)
+{
+	struct dentry *dentry;
+
+	WARN_ON((mode & S_IFMT) && !S_ISDIR(mode));
+	mode |= S_IFDIR;
+
+	dentry = simplefs_create_dentry(fs, type, name, parent, inode);
+	if (IS_ERR(dentry))
+		return dentry;
+
+	(*inode)->i_mode = mode;
+	(*inode)->i_op = &simple_dir_inode_operations;
+	(*inode)->i_fop = &simple_dir_operations;
+
+	/* directory inodes start off with i_nlink == 2 (for "." entry) */
+	inc_nlink(*inode);
+	return dentry;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(simplefs_create_dir);
+
+struct dentry *simplefs_create_symlink(struct simple_fs *fs, struct file_system_type *type,
+				       const char *name, struct dentry *parent,
+				       const char *target, struct inode **inode)
+{
+	struct dentry *dentry;
+	char *link = kstrdup(target, GFP_KERNEL);
+	if (!link)
+		return ERR_PTR(-ENOMEM);
+
+	dentry = simplefs_create_dentry(fs, type, name, parent, inode);
+	if (IS_ERR(dentry)) {
+		kfree_link(link);
+		return dentry;
+	}
+
+	(*inode)->i_mode = S_IFLNK | S_IRWXUGO;
+	(*inode)->i_link = link;
+	(*inode)->i_op = &simple_symlink_inode_operations;
+	return dentry;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(simplefs_create_symlink);
diff --git a/include/linux/simplefs.h b/include/linux/simplefs.h
index c62ab526414e..cc53eed0bc3d 100644
--- a/include/linux/simplefs.h
+++ b/include/linux/simplefs.h
@@ -14,4 +14,23 @@ extern void simple_release_fs(struct simple_fs *);
 
 extern struct inode *simple_alloc_anon_inode(struct simple_fs *fs);
 
+extern struct dentry *simplefs_create_dentry(struct simple_fs *fs,
+					     struct file_system_type *type,
+					     const char *name, struct dentry *parent,
+					     struct inode **inode);
+struct dentry *simplefs_finish_dentry(struct dentry *dentry, struct inode *inode);
+
+extern struct dentry *simplefs_create_file(struct simple_fs *fs,
+					   struct file_system_type *type,
+					   const char *name, umode_t mode,
+					   struct dentry *parent, void *data,
+					   struct inode **inode);
+extern struct dentry *simplefs_create_dir(struct simple_fs *fs, struct file_system_type *type,
+					  const char *name, umode_t mode, struct dentry *parent,
+					  struct inode **inode);
+extern struct dentry *simplefs_create_symlink(struct simple_fs *fs, struct file_system_type *type,
+					      const char *name, struct dentry *parent,
+					      const char *target, struct inode **inode);
+
+
 #endif
-- 
2.25.2



  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-04-14 12:44 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 25+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-14 12:42 [PATCH 0/8] Simplefs: group and simplify linux fs code Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:42 ` [PATCH 1/8] apparmor: just use vfs_kern_mount to make .null Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-16  6:44   ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-04-20 14:00     ` Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:42 ` [PATCH 2/8] fs: extract simple_pin/release_fs to separate files Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:54   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-04-16  6:52   ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-04-21 11:19   ` Frederic Barrat
2020-04-21 11:26     ` Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:42 ` [PATCH 3/8] fs: wrap simple_pin_fs/simple_release_fs arguments in a struct Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 13:03   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-04-14 12:42 ` [PATCH 4/8] fs: introduce simple_new_inode Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 13:01   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-04-20 13:58     ` Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:42 ` [PATCH 5/8] simplefs: add alloc_anon_inode wrapper Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:55   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-04-14 12:43 ` Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito [this message]
2020-04-14 12:56   ` [PATCH 6/8] simplefs: add file creation functions Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-04-20 13:57     ` Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-20 14:28       ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-04-20 14:33         ` Paolo Bonzini
2020-04-14 12:43 ` [PATCH 7/8] debugfs: switch to simplefs inode creation API Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-14 12:43 ` [PATCH 8/8] tracefs: " Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito
2020-04-16  6:59 ` [PATCH 0/8] Simplefs: group and simplify linux fs code Luis Chamberlain
2020-04-20 14:01   ` Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200414124304.4470-7-eesposit@redhat.com \
    --to=eesposit@redhat.com \
    --cc=adobriyan@gmail.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=ajd@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andriin@fb.com \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=anton@enomsg.org \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=autofs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ccross@android.com \
    --cc=chuck.lever@oracle.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dennis.dalessandro@intel.com \
    --cc=dledford@redhat.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=fbarrat@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jk@ozlabs.org \
    --cc=jlbec@evilplan.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=john.johansen@canonical.com \
    --cc=joseph.qi@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kpsingh@chromium.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=manoj@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=mark@fasheh.com \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=matthew.garrett@nebula.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mike.marciniszyn@intel.com \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=mrochs@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ocfs2-devel@oss.oracle.com \
    --cc=oprofile-list@lists.sf.net \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=raven@themaw.net \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=ukrishn@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yzaikin@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).