linux-mm.kvack.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
To: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	DRI Development <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	KVM list <kvm@vger.kernel.org>, Linux MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-samsung-soc <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:DMA BUFFER SHARING FRAMEWORK"
	<linux-media@vger.kernel.org>, Tomasz Figa <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>,
	J??r??me Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>, Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>,
	Pawel Osciak <pawel@osciak.com>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>,
	Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>,
	Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/3] media/videobuf1|2: Mark follow_pfn usage as unsafe
Date: Wed, 17 Mar 2021 07:22:48 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210317072248.GA284559@infradead.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAKMK7uF8Lv0P4TuoctjUiVHtRzAnXf9a50JaYgm0rV+v+7=LFw@mail.gmail.com>

On Tue, Mar 16, 2021 at 04:52:44PM +0100, Daniel Vetter wrote:
> My understanding is mostly, but with some objections. And I kinda
> don't want to let this die in a bikeshed and then not getting rid of
> follow_pfn as a result. There's enough people who acked this, and the
> full removal got some nack from Mauro iirc.

Hmm, ok I must have missed that.  I defintively prefer your series over
doing nothing, but killing the dead horse ASAP would be even better.


  reply	other threads:[~2021-03-17  7:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-03-16 15:33 [PATCH 0/3] switch to unsafe_follow_pfn Daniel Vetter
2021-03-16 15:33 ` [PATCH 1/3] mm: Add unsafe_follow_pfn Daniel Vetter
2021-03-29 13:29   ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-03-16 15:33 ` [PATCH 2/3] media/videobuf1|2: Mark follow_pfn usage as unsafe Daniel Vetter
2021-03-16 15:45   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-03-16 15:52     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-03-17  7:22       ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2021-03-17  8:04         ` Daniel Vetter
2021-03-16 15:33 ` [PATCH 3/3] mm: unexport follow_pfn Daniel Vetter
2021-03-24 12:52   ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-03-24 14:31     ` Paolo Bonzini
2021-03-24 19:17     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-03-25 21:33       ` Daniel Vetter
2021-03-29 13:31   ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-08 10:05     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-04-08 11:40       ` Paolo Bonzini
2021-04-08 11:44         ` Daniel Vetter

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210317072248.GA284559@infradead.org \
    --to=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=jack@suse.cz \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kyungmin.park@samsung.com \
    --cc=ldufour@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=pawel@osciak.com \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=walken@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).