Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	 Android Kernel Team <kernel-team@android.com>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,  Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>,
	Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>,
	 Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	 Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Mohamed Alzayat <alzayat@mpi-sws.org>,
	 "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>,
	 Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 0/6] tlb: Fix (soft-)dirty bit management & clean up API
Date: Thu, 28 Jan 2021 09:14:24 -0800
Message-ID: <CAHk-=wibdV-nJxf77npZU8DadAMups90jAjPPAnV4Jnsemn7iQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210127235347.1402-1-will@kernel.org>

On Wed, Jan 27, 2021 at 3:54 PM Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> The objective is to fix the lacklustre TLB invalidation on the clear_refs
> path and then augment the mmu_gather API to make it more difficult to
> abuse.

The series continues to look good to me.

I don't love our "tlb_flush_pending" hackery, but it is what it is,
and at least this series cleans up the proper flushing interfaces.

           Linus


  parent reply index

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-27 23:53 Will Deacon
2021-01-27 23:53 ` [PATCH v3 1/6] mm: proc: Invalidate TLB after clearing soft-dirty page state Will Deacon
2021-01-27 23:53 ` [PATCH v3 2/6] tlb: mmu_gather: Remove unused start/end arguments from tlb_finish_mmu() Will Deacon
2021-01-27 23:53 ` [PATCH v3 3/6] tlb: mmu_gather: Introduce tlb_gather_mmu_fullmm() Will Deacon
2021-01-27 23:53 ` [PATCH v3 4/6] tlb: mmu_gather: Remove start/end arguments from tlb_gather_mmu() Will Deacon
2021-01-27 23:53 ` [PATCH v3 5/6] tlb: arch: Remove empty __tlb_remove_tlb_entry() stubs Will Deacon
2021-01-27 23:53 ` [PATCH v3 6/6] x86/ldt: Use tlb_gather_mmu_fullmm() when freeing LDT page-tables Will Deacon
2021-01-28 17:14 ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2021-01-29 11:09   ` [PATCH v3 0/6] tlb: Fix (soft-)dirty bit management & clean up API Peter Zijlstra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=wibdV-nJxf77npZU8DadAMups90jAjPPAnV4Jnsemn7iQ@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aarcange@redhat.com \
    --cc=alzayat@mpi-sws.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=minchan@kernel.org \
    --cc=namit@vmware.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yuzhao@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git