linux-mm.kvack.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
To: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	 Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	 Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	 Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	 Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>,  Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>,
	Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>,
	 Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>,
	 Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>, Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>,
	Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>,
	 Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	 Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	 Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>, X86 ML <x86@kernel.org>,
	 Kexec Mailing List <kexec@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 3/3] kernel/resource: remove first_lvl / siblings_only logic
Date: Mon, 22 Mar 2021 09:12:13 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAPcyv4hGMoDYCbnFaa2A6JukE+AcOK5qvq2TZVDUomPZYkZjnA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210322160200.19633-4-david@redhat.com>

On Mon, Mar 22, 2021 at 9:03 AM David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> wrote:
>
> All IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM and IORESOURCE_MEM now properly consider the
> whole resource tree, not just the first level. Let's drop the unused
> first_lvl / siblings_only logic.
>
> All functions properly search the whole tree, so remove documentation
> that indicates that some functions behave differently.

Looks good, and the staging of the potential regressions as standalone
lead-in patches makes sense.

Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>


  reply	other threads:[~2021-03-22 16:12 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-03-22 16:01 [PATCH v1 0/3] kernel/resource: make walk_system_ram_res() and walk_mem_res() search the whole tree David Hildenbrand
2021-03-22 16:01 ` [PATCH v1 1/3] kernel/resource: make walk_system_ram_res() find all busy IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM resources David Hildenbrand
2021-03-22 16:10   ` Dan Williams
2021-03-23  9:40   ` David Hildenbrand
2021-03-23 11:07     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-03-23 11:06   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-03-23 11:25     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-03-23 14:33   ` Baoquan He
2021-03-24 11:18   ` Oscar Salvador
2021-03-24 11:28     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-03-22 16:01 ` [PATCH v1 2/3] kernel/resource: make walk_mem_res() find all busy IORESOURCE_MEM resources David Hildenbrand
2021-03-22 16:11   ` Dan Williams
2021-03-23 11:08   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-03-23 11:26     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-03-22 16:02 ` [PATCH v1 3/3] kernel/resource: remove first_lvl / siblings_only logic David Hildenbrand
2021-03-22 16:12   ` Dan Williams [this message]
2021-03-23 11:11   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-03-23 11:19     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-03-23 11:05 ` [PATCH v1 0/3] kernel/resource: make walk_system_ram_res() and walk_mem_res() search the whole tree Andy Shevchenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAPcyv4hGMoDYCbnFaa2A6JukE+AcOK5qvq2TZVDUomPZYkZjnA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bhe@redhat.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=brijesh.singh@amd.com \
    --cc=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=dyoung@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=keith.busch@intel.com \
    --cc=kexec@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=osalvador@suse.de \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=vgoyal@redhat.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).