Linux-mtd Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: "Latchesar Ionkov" <lucho@ionkov.net>,
	"Dave Kleikamp" <shaggy@kernel.org>,
	jfs-discussion@lists.sourceforge.net,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org,
	"Martin Brandenburg" <martin@omnibond.com>,
	samba-technical@lists.samba.org,
	"Dominique Martinet" <asmadeus@codewreck.org>,
	"Chao Yu" <yuchao0@huawei.com>,
	"Mimi Zohar" <zohar@linux.ibm.com>,
	linux-unionfs@vger.kernel.org,
	"David Howells" <dhowells@redhat.com>, "Chris Mason" <clm@fb.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Andreas Dilger" <adilger.kernel@dilger.ca>,
	"Eric Paris" <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, "Tyler Hicks" <tyhicks@canonical.com>,
	linux-afs@lists.infradead.org,
	"Mike Marshall" <hubcap@omnibond.com>,
	linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org,
	"Andreas Gruenbacher" <agruenba@redhat.com>,
	"Sage Weil" <sage@redhat.com>,
	"Miklos Szeredi" <miklos@szeredi.hu>,
	"Richard Weinberger" <richard@nod.at>,
	"Mark Fasheh" <mark@fasheh.com>,
	"Hugh Dickins" <hughd@google.com>,
	"Ernesto A. Fernández" <ernesto.mnd.fernandez@gmail.com>,
	cluster-devel@redhat.com, selinux@vger.kernel.org,
	"Vyacheslav Dubeyko" <slava@dubeyko.com>,
	"Casey Schaufler" <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	v9fs-developer@lists.sourceforge.net,
	"Ilya Dryomov" <idryomov@gmail.com>,
	linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org, kernel-team@android.com,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, devel@lists.orangefs.org,
	"Serge Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org,
	"Eric Van Hensbergen" <ericvh@gmail.com>,
	ecryptfs@vger.kernel.org, "Josef Bacik" <josef@toxicpanda.com>,
	reiserfs-devel@vger.kernel.org, "Tejun Heo" <tj@kernel.org>,
	"Joel Becker" <jlbec@evilplan.org>,
	linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org, "David Sterba" <dsterba@suse.com>,
	"Jaegeuk Kim" <jaegeuk@kernel.org>,
	ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Trond Myklebust" <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	"Paul Moore" <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-f2fs-devel@lists.sourceforge.net,
	"Theodore Ts\'o" <tytso@mit.edu>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Joseph Qi" <joseph.qi@linux.alibaba.com>,
	"Mathieu Malaterre" <malat@debian.org>,
	"Stephen Smalley" <sds@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	"Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	"Jeff Layton" <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, stable@vger.kernel.org,
	"Mark Salyzyn" <salyzyn@android.com>,
	"Steve French" <sfrench@samba.org>,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org,
	ocfs2-devel@oss.oracle.com, "Jan Kara" <jack@suse.com>,
	"Bob Peterson" <rpeterso@redhat.com>,
	"Phillip Lougher" <phillip@squashfs.org.uk>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"David Woodhouse" <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	"Anna Schumaker" <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org,
	"Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Add flags option to get xattr method paired to __vfs_getxattr
Date: Thu, 15 Aug 2019 22:43:22 +0200
Message-ID: <20190815204322.GB6782@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <alpine.LRH.2.21.1908160515130.12729@namei.org>

On Fri, Aug 16, 2019 at 05:20:36AM +1000, James Morris wrote:
> On Tue, 13 Aug 2019, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> 
> > On Mon, Aug 12, 2019 at 12:32:49PM -0700, Mark Salyzyn wrote:
> > > --- a/include/linux/xattr.h
> > > +++ b/include/linux/xattr.h
> > > @@ -30,10 +30,10 @@ struct xattr_handler {
> > >  	const char *prefix;
> > >  	int flags;      /* fs private flags */
> > >  	bool (*list)(struct dentry *dentry);
> > > -	int (*get)(const struct xattr_handler *, struct dentry *dentry,
> > > +	int (*get)(const struct xattr_handler *handler, struct dentry *dentry,
> > >  		   struct inode *inode, const char *name, void *buffer,
> > > -		   size_t size);
> > > -	int (*set)(const struct xattr_handler *, struct dentry *dentry,
> > > +		   size_t size, int flags);
> > > +	int (*set)(const struct xattr_handler *handler, struct dentry *dentry,
> > >  		   struct inode *inode, const char *name, const void *buffer,
> > >  		   size_t size, int flags);
> > 
> > Wow, 7 arguments.  Isn't there some nice rule of thumb that says once
> > you get more then 5, a function becomes impossible to understand?
> > 
> > Surely this could be a structure passed in here somehow, that way when
> > you add the 8th argument in the future, you don't have to change
> > everything yet again?  :)
> > 
> > I don't have anything concrete to offer as a replacement fix for this,
> > but to me this just feels really wrong...
> 
> How about something like:
> 
> struct xattr_gs_args {
> 	struct dentry *dentry;
> 	struct inode *inode;

As he said in a later message, dentry and inode is redundant, only 1 is
needed (dentry I think?)

> 	const char *name;
> 	const void *buffer;
> 	size_t size;
> 	int flags;
> };
> 
> int (*get)(const struct xattr_handler *handler, struct xattr_gs_args *args);
> int (*set)(const struct xattr_handler *handler, struct xattr_gs_args *args);

But yes, that would be much much better.

thanks,

greg k-h

______________________________________________________
Linux MTD discussion mailing list
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-mtd/

  reply index

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-12 19:32 Mark Salyzyn
2019-08-13  8:28 ` kbuild test robot
2019-08-13  8:48 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2019-08-13 14:37   ` Mark Salyzyn
2019-08-15 19:20   ` James Morris
2019-08-15 20:43     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman [this message]
2019-08-15 21:26     ` Mark Salyzyn
2019-08-15 22:27       ` James Morris
2019-08-16 15:30         ` Mark Salyzyn

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190815204322.GB6782@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=adilger.kernel@dilger.ca \
    --cc=agruenba@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=asmadeus@codewreck.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=clm@fb.com \
    --cc=cluster-devel@redhat.com \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devel@lists.orangefs.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dsterba@suse.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=ecryptfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=ericvh@gmail.com \
    --cc=ernesto.mnd.fernandez@gmail.com \
    --cc=hubcap@omnibond.com \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=idryomov@gmail.com \
    --cc=jack@suse.com \
    --cc=jaegeuk@kernel.org \
    --cc=jfs-discussion@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=jlbec@evilplan.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=josef@toxicpanda.com \
    --cc=joseph.qi@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linux-afs@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-f2fs-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-unionfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lucho@ionkov.net \
    --cc=malat@debian.org \
    --cc=mark@fasheh.com \
    --cc=martin@omnibond.com \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ocfs2-devel@oss.oracle.com \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=phillip@squashfs.org.uk \
    --cc=reiserfs-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=rpeterso@redhat.com \
    --cc=sage@redhat.com \
    --cc=salyzyn@android.com \
    --cc=samba-technical@lists.samba.org \
    --cc=sds@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sfrench@samba.org \
    --cc=shaggy@kernel.org \
    --cc=slava@dubeyko.com \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=tyhicks@canonical.com \
    --cc=tytso@mit.edu \
    --cc=v9fs-developer@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yuchao0@huawei.com \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-mtd Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mtd/0 linux-mtd/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mtd linux-mtd/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mtd \
		linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org linux-mtd@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mtd


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-mtd


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox