linux-nvdimm.lists.01.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
To: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Elena Reshetova <elena.reshetova@intel.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@srcf.ucam.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>,
	Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>, Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>,
	S huah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Yury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com>,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org, linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	x86@kernel.org, kernel test robot <oliver.sang@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] secretmem: optimize page_is_secretmem()
Date: Mon, 19 Apr 2021 13:21:56 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210419122156.GZ2531743@casper.infradead.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YH1v4XVzfXC1dYND@kernel.org>

On Mon, Apr 19, 2021 at 02:56:17PM +0300, Mike Rapoport wrote:
> On Mon, Apr 19, 2021 at 12:23:02PM +0100, Matthew Wilcox wrote:
> > So you're calling page_is_secretmem() on a struct page without having
> > a refcount on it.  That is definitely not allowed.  secretmem seems to
> > be full of these kinds of races; I know this isn't the first one I've
> > seen in it.  I don't think this patchset is ready for this merge window.
> 
> There were races in the older version that did caching of large pages and
> those were fixed then, but this is anyway irrelevant because all that code
> was dropped in the latest respins.
> 
> I don't think that the fix of the race in gup_pte_range is that significant
> to wait 3 more months because of it.

I have no particular interest in secretmem, but it seems that every time
I come across it while looking at something else, I see these kinds of
major mistakes in it.  That says to me it's not ready and hasn't seen
enough review.

> > With that fixed, you'll have a head page that you can use for testing,
> > which means you don't need to test PageCompound() (because you know the
> > page isn't PageTail), you can just test PageHead().
> 
> I can't say I follow you here. page_is_secretmem() is intended to be a
> generic test, so I don't see how it will get PageHead() if it is called
> from other places.

static inline bool head_is_secretmem(struct page *head)
{
	if (PageHead(head))
		return false;
	...
}

static inline bool page_is_secretmem(struct page *page)
{
	if (PageTail(page))
		return false;
	return head_is_secretmem(page);
}

(yes, calling it head is a misnomer, because it's not necessarily a head,
it might be a base page, but until we have a name for pages which might
be a head page or a base page, it'll have to do ...)
_______________________________________________
Linux-nvdimm mailing list -- linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org
To unsubscribe send an email to linux-nvdimm-leave@lists.01.org

  reply	other threads:[~2021-04-19 12:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-19  8:42 Mike Rapoport
2021-04-19  9:15 ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-19  9:36   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-19  9:38     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-19  9:40       ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-19 10:14         ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-19 10:21           ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-19 11:43     ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-04-19 11:23 ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-04-19 11:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-19 12:21     ` Matthew Wilcox [this message]
2021-04-19 18:24       ` Mike Rapoport

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210419122156.GZ2531743@casper.infradead.org \
    --to=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=elena.reshetova@intel.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mjg59@srcf.ucam.org \
    --cc=mtk.manpages@gmail.com \
    --cc=oliver.sang@intel.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yury.norov@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] secretmem: optimize page_is_secretmem()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).