linux-omap.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jisheng Zhang <Jisheng.Zhang@synaptics.com>
To: Jon Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>
Cc: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>, Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Yue Wang" <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	<linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	<linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org>, <linux-arm-kernel@axis.com>,
	<linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	Vidya Sagar <vidyas@nvidia.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/5] PCI: dwc: improve msi handling
Date: Tue, 29 Sep 2020 18:48:51 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200929184851.22682ff1@xhacker.debian> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <de4d9294-4f6d-c7d1-efc7-c8ef6570bd64@nvidia.com>

Hi Jon,

On Fri, 25 Sep 2020 09:53:45 +0100 Jon Hunter wrote:

> 
> On 24/09/2020 12:05, Jisheng Zhang wrote:
> > Improve the msi code:
> > 1. Add proper error handling.
> > 2. Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host to solve
> > msi page leakage in resume path.  
> 
> Apologies if this is slightly off topic, but I have been meaning to ask
> about MSIs and PCI. On Tegra194 which uses the DWC PCI driver, whenever we
> hotplug CPUs we see the following warnings ...
> 
>  [      79.068351] WARNING KERN IRQ70: set affinity failed(-22).
>  [      79.068362] WARNING KERN IRQ71: set affinity failed(-22).
> 

I tried to reproduce this issue on Synaptics SoC, but can't reproduce it.
Per my understanding of the code in kernel/irq/cpuhotplug.c, this warning
happened when we migrate irqs away from the offline cpu, this implicitly
implies that before this point the irq has bind to the offline cpu, but how
could this happen given current dw_pci_msi_set_affinity() implementation
always return -EINVAL

thanks

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-09-29 10:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 30+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-09-24 11:05 Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:05 ` [PATCH v2 1/5] PCI: dwc: Call dma_unmap_page() before freeing the msi page Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:48   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-24 11:06 ` [PATCH v2 2/5] PCI: dwc: Check alloc_page() return value Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:47   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-29 17:29   ` Marc Zyngier
2020-09-30  1:23     ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:06 ` [PATCH v2 3/5] PCI: dwc: Rename dw_pcie_free_msi to dw_pcie_msi_deinit Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:49   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-24 11:07 ` [PATCH v2 4/5] PCI: dwc: Skip PCIE_MSI_INTR0* programming if MSI is disabled Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:49   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-24 11:07 ` [PATCH v2 5/5] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host Jisheng Zhang
2020-10-08  5:43   ` Vidya Sagar
2021-03-07 22:10   ` Krzysztof Wilczyński
2021-03-11  6:50     ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-25  8:53 ` [PATCH v2 0/5] PCI: dwc: improve msi handling Jon Hunter
2020-09-25  9:17   ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-25  9:27     ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-25 15:13       ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-27  8:28         ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-28 17:46           ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-29 10:48   ` Jisheng Zhang [this message]
2020-09-29 13:22     ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-29 17:25       ` Marc Zyngier
2020-09-29 18:02         ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-29 18:12           ` Marc Zyngier
2020-10-06  6:26 ` Vidya Sagar
2020-10-06  6:36   ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-10-08  5:32     ` Vidya Sagar
2020-10-09  8:37       ` [PATCH] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host Jisheng Zhang

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200929184851.22682ff1@xhacker.debian \
    --to=jisheng.zhang@synaptics.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=vidyas@nvidia.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/5] PCI: dwc: improve msi handling' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).