linux-omap.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jisheng Zhang <Jisheng.Zhang@synaptics.com>
To: "Krzysztof Wilczyński" <kw@linux.com>
Cc: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>, Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>, Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Yue Wang <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	linux-omap@vger.kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org, linux-arm-kernel@axis.com,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 5/5] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host
Date: Thu, 11 Mar 2021 14:50:27 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210311145027.58f3955e@xhacker.debian> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YEVPRDt1By8TG9O5@rocinante>

On Sun, 7 Mar 2021 23:10:12 +0100 Krzysztof Wilczyński  wrote:

> 
> 
> Hi,
> 
> > Currently, dw_pcie_msi_init() allocates and maps page for msi, then
> > program the PCIE_MSI_ADDR_LO and PCIE_MSI_ADDR_HI. The Root Complex
> > may lose power during suspend-to-RAM, so when we resume, we want to
> > redo the latter but not the former. If designware based driver (for
> > example, pcie-tegra194.c) calls dw_pcie_msi_init() in resume path, the
> > previous msi page will be leaked. From another side, except
> > pci-dra7xx.c we can move the dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to
> > designware host, I.E move the msi page allocation and mapping to
> > dw_pcie_host_init() and move the PCIE_MSI_ADDR_* programming to
> > dw_pcie_setup_rc(). After this moving, we solve the msi page leakage
> > as well.  
> [...]
> 
> A small nitpick.  All the "designware" should be "DesignWare" both in
> the commit message and the subject.  Similarly, "msi" would be "MSI",
> and "I.E" would become "i.e.,".  If you ever sent another version of the
> patch, that is.
> 

Hi

This series was dropped and useless after Rob's excellent dw pcie code clean
up.

Thanks

  reply	other threads:[~2021-03-11  6:51 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 30+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-09-24 11:05 [PATCH v2 0/5] PCI: dwc: improve msi handling Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:05 ` [PATCH v2 1/5] PCI: dwc: Call dma_unmap_page() before freeing the msi page Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:48   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-24 11:06 ` [PATCH v2 2/5] PCI: dwc: Check alloc_page() return value Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:47   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-29 17:29   ` Marc Zyngier
2020-09-30  1:23     ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:06 ` [PATCH v2 3/5] PCI: dwc: Rename dw_pcie_free_msi to dw_pcie_msi_deinit Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:49   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-24 11:07 ` [PATCH v2 4/5] PCI: dwc: Skip PCIE_MSI_INTR0* programming if MSI is disabled Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-24 11:49   ` Gustavo Pimentel
2020-09-24 11:07 ` [PATCH v2 5/5] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host Jisheng Zhang
2020-10-08  5:43   ` Vidya Sagar
2021-03-07 22:10   ` Krzysztof Wilczyński
2021-03-11  6:50     ` Jisheng Zhang [this message]
2020-09-25  8:53 ` [PATCH v2 0/5] PCI: dwc: improve msi handling Jon Hunter
2020-09-25  9:17   ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-25  9:27     ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-25 15:13       ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-27  8:28         ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-28 17:46           ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-29 10:48   ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-09-29 13:22     ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-29 17:25       ` Marc Zyngier
2020-09-29 18:02         ` Jon Hunter
2020-09-29 18:12           ` Marc Zyngier
2020-10-06  6:26 ` Vidya Sagar
2020-10-06  6:36   ` Jisheng Zhang
2020-10-08  5:32     ` Vidya Sagar
2020-10-09  8:37       ` [PATCH] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host Jisheng Zhang

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210311145027.58f3955e@xhacker.debian \
    --to=jisheng.zhang@synaptics.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=kw@linux.com \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 5/5] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() from each users to designware host' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).