Linux-OMAP Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
To: Michael Walle <michael@walle.cc>,
	ath9k-devel@qca.qualcomm.com, UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com,
	linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org, linux-oxnas@groups.io,
	linux-omap@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-staging@lists.linux.dev
Cc: "Andrew Lunn" <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	"Gregory Clement" <gregory.clement@bootlin.com>,
	"Sebastian Hesselbarth" <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"Andreas Larsson" <andreas@gaisler.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	"Joyce Ooi" <joyce.ooi@intel.com>,
	"Chris Snook" <chris.snook@gmail.com>,
	"Rafał Miłecki" <rafal@milecki.pl>,
	bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Nicolas Ferre" <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	"Claudiu Beznea" <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	"Sunil Goutham" <sgoutham@marvell.com>,
	"Fugang Duan" <fugang.duan@nxp.com>,
	"Madalin Bucur" <madalin.bucur@nxp.com>,
	"Pantelis Antoniou" <pantelis.antoniou@gmail.com>,
	"Claudiu Manoil" <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	"Li Yang" <leoyang.li@nxp.com>,
	"Yisen Zhuang" <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	"Salil Mehta" <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	"Hauke Mehrtens" <hauke@hauke-m.de>,
	"Thomas Petazzoni" <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	"Vadym Kochan" <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	"Taras Chornyi" <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	"Mirko Lindner" <mlindner@marvell.com>,
	"Stephen Hemminger" <stephen@networkplumber.org>,
	"Felix Fietkau" <nbd@nbd.name>, "John Crispin" <john@phrozen.org>,
	"Sean Wang" <sean.wang@mediatek.com>,
	"Mark Lee" <Mark-MC.Lee@mediatek.com>,
	"Matthias Brugger" <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	"Bryan Whitehead" <bryan.whitehead@microchip.com>,
	"Vladimir Zapolskiy" <vz@mleia.com>,
	"Sergei Shtylyov" <sergei.shtylyov@gmail.com>,
	"Byungho An" <bh74.an@samsung.com>,
	"Kunihiko Hayashi" <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	"Giuseppe Cavallaro" <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	"Alexandre Torgue" <alexandre.torgue@st.com>,
	"Jose Abreu" <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	"Maxime Coquelin" <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"NXP Linux Team" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Kevin Hilman" <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	"Jerome Brunet" <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	"Martin Blumenstingl" <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	"Vinod Koul" <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	"Nobuhiro Iwamatsu" <nobuhiro1.iwamatsu@toshiba.co.jp>,
	"Grygorii Strashko" <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	"Wingman Kwok" <w-kwok2@ti.com>,
	"Murali Karicheri" <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	"Michal Simek" <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	"Radhey Shyam Pandey" <radhey.shyam.pandey@xilinx.com>,
	"Kalle Valo" <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	"Lorenzo Bianconi" <lorenzo.bianconi83@gmail.com>,
	"Ryder Lee" <ryder.lee@mediatek.com>,
	"Stanislaw Gruszka" <stf_xl@wp.pl>,
	"Helmut Schaa" <helmut.schaa@googlemail.com>,
	"Heiner Kallweit" <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Frank Rowand" <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Jérôme Pouiller" <jerome.pouiller@silabs.com>,
	"Vivien Didelot" <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	"Vladimir Oltean" <olteanv@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v3 2/2] of: net: fix of_get_mac_addr_nvmem() for PCI and DSA nodes
Date: Tue, 6 Apr 2021 18:45:26 -0700
Message-ID: <70b649a4-4b1f-3e95-a6b9-23a00bbaf122@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210406220921.24313-3-michael@walle.cc>



On 4/6/2021 3:09 PM, Michael Walle wrote:
> of_get_mac_address() already supports fetching the MAC address by an
> nvmem provider. But until now, it was just working for platform devices.
> Esp. it was not working for DSA ports and PCI devices. It gets more
> common that PCI devices have a device tree binding since SoCs contain
> integrated root complexes.
> 
> Use the nvmem of_* binding to fetch the nvmem cells by a struct
> device_node. We still have to try to read the cell by device first
> because there might be a nvmem_cell_lookup associated with that device.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Michael Walle <michael@walle.cc>
> ---
> Please note, that I've kept the nvmem_get_mac_address() which operates
> on a device. The new of_get_mac_addr_nvmem() is almost identical and
> there are no users of the former function right now, but it seems to be
> the "newer" version to get the MAC address for a "struct device". Thus
> I've kept it. Please advise, if I should kill it though.

Nit: if you need to resubmit you could rephrase the subject such that
the limitation of of_get_mac_addr_nvmem() is lifted to include all kinds
of devices, and no longer just platform_device instances as before.
-- 
Florian

      reply index

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-06 22:09 [PATCH net-next v3 0/2] of: net: support non-platform devices in of_get_mac_address() Michael Walle
2021-04-06 22:09 ` [PATCH net-next v3 1/2] of: net: pass the dst buffer to of_get_mac_address() Michael Walle
2021-04-07 16:10   ` Michael Walle
2021-04-06 22:09 ` [PATCH net-next v3 2/2] of: net: fix of_get_mac_addr_nvmem() for PCI and DSA nodes Michael Walle
2021-04-07  1:45   ` Florian Fainelli [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=70b649a4-4b1f-3e95-a6b9-23a00bbaf122@gmail.com \
    --to=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=Mark-MC.Lee@mediatek.com \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=andreas@gaisler.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=ath9k-devel@qca.qualcomm.com \
    --cc=bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bh74.an@samsung.com \
    --cc=bryan.whitehead@microchip.com \
    --cc=chris.snook@gmail.com \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=fugang.duan@nxp.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gregory.clement@bootlin.com \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=hauke@hauke-m.de \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=helmut.schaa@googlemail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jerome.pouiller@silabs.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=joyce.ooi@intel.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=leoyang.li@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-oxnas@groups.io \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-staging@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.bianconi83@gmail.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=madalin.bucur@nxp.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=mlindner@marvell.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=nbd@nbd.name \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=nobuhiro1.iwamatsu@toshiba.co.jp \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=pantelis.antoniou@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=radhey.shyam.pandey@xilinx.com \
    --cc=rafal@milecki.pl \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=ryder.lee@mediatek.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=sean.wang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com \
    --cc=sergei.shtylyov@gmail.com \
    --cc=sgoutham@marvell.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=stf_xl@wp.pl \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=vz@mleia.com \
    --cc=w-kwok2@ti.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-OMAP Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-omap/0 linux-omap/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-omap linux-omap/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-omap \
		linux-omap@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-omap

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-omap


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git