Linux-OMAP Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
To: Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Vadym Kochan <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	Taras Chornyi <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	Jiri Pirko <jiri@nvidia.com>, Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	Ivan Vecera <ivecera@redhat.com>, Roopa Prabhu <roopa@nvidia.com>,
	Nikolay Aleksandrov <nikolay@nvidia.com>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Vignesh Raghavendra <vigneshr@ti.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>,
	Tobias Waldekranz <tobias@waldekranz.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 2/2] net: bridge: switchdev: include local flag in FDB notifications
Date: Wed, 14 Apr 2021 18:38:13 +0200
Message-ID: <YHcadT4XhBq7g61Y@lunn.ch> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210414160510.zcif6liazjltd2cz@skbuf>

On Wed, Apr 14, 2021 at 07:05:10PM +0300, Vladimir Oltean wrote:
> On Wed, Apr 14, 2021 at 05:58:44PM +0200, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> > > Let us now add the 'is_local' bit to bridge FDB entries, and make all
> > > drivers ignore these entries by their own choice.
> > 
> > Hi Vladimir
> > 
> > This goes to the question about the missing cover letter. Why should
> > drivers get to ignore them, rather than the core? It feels like there
> > should be another patch in the series, where a driver does not
> > actually ignore them, but does something?
> 
> Hi Andrew,
> 
> Bridge fdb entries with the is_local flag are entries which are
> terminated locally and not forwarded. Switchdev drivers might want to be
> notified of these addresses so they can trap them (otherwise, if they
> don't program these entries to hardware, there is no guarantee that they
> will do the right thing with these entries, and they won't be, let's
> say, flooded). Of course, ideally none of the switchdev drivers should
> ignore them, but having access to the is_local bit is the bare minimum
> change that should be done in the bridge layer, before this is even
> possible.
> 
> These 2 changes are actually part of a larger group of changes that
> together form the "RX filtering for DSA" series. I haven't had a lot of
> success with that, so I thought a better approach would be to take it
> step by step. DSA will need to be notified of local FDB entries. For
> now, it ignores them like everybody else. This is supposed to be a
> non-functional patch series because I don't want to spam every switchdev
> maintainer with 15+ DSA RX filtering patches.

This is the sort of information which goes into 0/2. It explains the
big picture 'Why' of the change.

    Andrew

  reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-14 15:15 [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: bridge: switchdev: refactor br_switchdev_fdb_notify Vladimir Oltean
2021-04-14 15:15 ` [PATCH net-next 2/2] net: bridge: switchdev: include local flag in FDB notifications Vladimir Oltean
2021-04-14 15:58   ` Andrew Lunn
2021-04-14 16:05     ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-04-14 16:38       ` Andrew Lunn [this message]
2021-04-14 15:25 ` [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: bridge: switchdev: refactor br_switchdev_fdb_notify Nikolay Aleksandrov
2021-04-14 15:26   ` Vladimir Oltean

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YHcadT4XhBq7g61Y@lunn.ch \
    --to=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=ivecera@redhat.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nikolay@nvidia.com \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=roopa@nvidia.com \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=tobias@waldekranz.com \
    --cc=vigneshr@ti.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-OMAP Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-omap/0 linux-omap/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-omap linux-omap/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-omap \
		linux-omap@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-omap

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-omap


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git