Linux-parisc archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
To: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	Shuah Khan <skhan@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>,
	David Drysdale <drysdale@google.com>,
	Chanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	containers@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-api@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers
Date: Thu, 5 Sep 2019 19:28:01 +0100
Message-ID: <20190905182801.GR1131@ZenIV.linux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190905182303.7f6bxpa2enbgcegv@wittgenstein>

On Thu, Sep 05, 2019 at 08:23:03PM +0200, Christian Brauner wrote:

> Because every caller of that function right now has that limit set
> anyway iirc. So we can either remove it from here and place it back for
> the individual callers or leave it in the helper.
> Also, I'm really asking, why not? Is it unreasonable to have an upper
> bound on the size (for a long time probably) or are you disagreeing with
> PAGE_SIZE being used? PAGE_SIZE limit is currently used by sched, perf,
> bpf, and clone3 and in a few other places.

For a primitive that can be safely used with any size (OK, any within
the usual 2Gb limit)?  Why push the random policy into the place where
it doesn't belong?

Seriously, what's the point?  If they want to have a large chunk of
userland memory zeroed or checked for non-zeroes - why would that
be a problem?

  reply index

Thread overview: 65+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-04 20:19 [PATCH v12 00/12] namei: openat2(2) path resolution restrictions Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:48   ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:00   ` Randy Dunlap
2019-09-05  7:32   ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-05  9:26     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05  9:43       ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-05 10:57         ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-11 10:37           ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 13:35         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 17:01         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05  8:43   ` Rasmus Villemoes
2019-09-05  9:50     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 10:45       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05  9:09   ` Andreas Schwab
2019-09-05 10:13     ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to, from}_user helpers Gabriel Paubert
2019-09-05 11:05   ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 11:17     ` Rasmus Villemoes
2019-09-05 11:29       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 13:40     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 11:09   ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 11:27     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 11:40       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 18:07   ` Al Viro
2019-09-05 18:23     ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 18:28       ` Al Viro [this message]
2019-09-05 18:35         ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 19:56         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 22:31           ` Al Viro
2019-09-06  7:00           ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 23:00     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 23:49       ` Al Viro
2019-09-06  0:09         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-06  0:14         ` Al Viro
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 02/12] clone3: switch to copy_struct_from_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 03/12] sched_setattr: switch to copy_struct_{to,from}_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 04/12] perf_event_open: switch to copy_struct_from_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 05/12] namei: obey trailing magic-link DAC permissions Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-17 21:30   ` Jann Horn
2019-09-18 13:51     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-18 15:46       ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 06/12] procfs: switch magic-link modes to be more sane Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 07/12] open: O_EMPTYPATH: procfs-less file descriptor re-opening Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 08/12] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 09/12] namei: LOOKUP_IN_ROOT: chroot-like path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 10/12] namei: aggressively check for nd->root escape on ".." resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 21:09   ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:35     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:36       ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:48     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 22:16       ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 22:31       ` David Howells
2019-09-04 22:38         ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 23:29           ` Al Viro
2019-09-04 23:44             ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 11/12] open: openat2(2) syscall Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 21:00   ` Randy Dunlap
2019-09-07 12:40   ` Jeff Layton
2019-09-07 16:58     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-07 17:42       ` Andy Lutomirski
2019-09-07 17:45         ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-07 18:15           ` Andy Lutomirski
2019-09-10  6:35           ` Ingo Molnar
2019-09-08 16:24     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 12/12] selftests: add openat2(2) selftests Aleksa Sarai

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190905182801.GR1131@ZenIV.linux.org.uk \
    --to=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=chanho.min@lge.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drysdale@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=skhan@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-parisc archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-parisc/0 linux-parisc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-parisc linux-parisc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-parisc \
		linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org linux-parisc@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-parisc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-parisc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox