Linux-parisc archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
To: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>,
	Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>,
	Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>, Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>,
	Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Sam Creasey <sammy@sammy.net>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>,
	Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>, Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>,
	Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>,
	Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-csky@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org, openrisc@lists.librecores.org,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-um@lists.infradead.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2] mm/special: Create generic fallbacks for pte_special() and pte_mkspecial()
Date: Tue, 10 Mar 2020 14:27:47 +0100
Message-ID: <20200310132747.GA12601@alpha.franken.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1583802551-15406-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com>

On Tue, Mar 10, 2020 at 06:39:11AM +0530, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
> diff --git a/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h
> index aef5378f909c..8e4e4be1ca00 100644
> --- a/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h
> +++ b/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h
> @@ -269,6 +269,36 @@ static inline void set_pte_at(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long addr,
>   */
>  extern pgd_t swapper_pg_dir[];
>  
> +/*
> + * Platform specific pte_special() and pte_mkspecial() definitions
> + * are required only when ARCH_HAS_PTE_SPECIAL is enabled.
> + */
> +#if !defined(CONFIG_32BIT) && !defined(CONFIG_CPU_HAS_RIXI)

this looks wrong.

current Kconfig statement is

select ARCH_HAS_PTE_SPECIAL if !(32BIT && CPU_HAS_RIXI)

so we can't use PTE_SPECIAL on 32bit _and_ CPUs with RIXI support.

Why can't we use

#if defined(CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_PTE_SPECIAL)

here as the comment already suggests ?

Thomas.

-- 
Crap can work. Given enough thrust pigs will fly, but it's not necessarily a
good idea.                                                [ RFC1925, 2.3 ]

  reply index

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-10  1:09 Anshuman Khandual
2020-03-10 13:27 ` Thomas Bogendoerfer [this message]
2020-03-10 13:46   ` Anshuman Khandual

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200310132747.GA12601@alpha.franken.de \
    --to=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=bcain@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=chris@zankel.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jdike@addtoit.com \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=ley.foon.tan@intel.com \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-csky@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mattst88@gmail.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=nickhu@andestech.com \
    --cc=nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=paulburton@kernel.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=rth@twiddle.net \
    --cc=sammy@sammy.net \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-parisc archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-parisc/0 linux-parisc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-parisc linux-parisc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-parisc \
		linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-parisc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-parisc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git