linux-pci.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: <ansuelsmth@gmail.com>
To: "'Fabio Estevam'" <festevam@gmail.com>
Cc: "'open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS'" 
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"'Richard Zhu'" <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	"'Lucas Stach'" <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	"'Bjorn Helgaas'" <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"'Rob Herring'" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"'Mark Rutland'" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"'Shawn Guo'" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"'Sascha Hauer'" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"'Pengutronix Kernel Team'" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"'NXP Linux Team'" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"'Lorenzo Pieralisi'" <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	"'Andrew Murray'" <amurray@thegoodpenguin.co.uk>,
	<linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	"'moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE'" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"'linux-kernel'" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: R: [PATCH 2/4] drivers: pci: dwc: pci-imx6: update binding to generic name
Date: Fri, 10 Apr 2020 14:40:26 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <003401d60f35$3725b630$a5712290$@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAOMZO5B+rEoQD_ujt9cx9VXO-i2oqfW2UN2cVeB5hZB3aVpGeQ@mail.gmail.com>

> Hi Ansuel,
> 
> On Fri, Apr 10, 2020 at 8:07 AM <ansuelsmth@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
> > so no chance of changing this?
> 
> Reading the commit log I don't see any explanation as to why you need
> to change the current bindings.
> 
> What is the motivation for doing this? Is this really worth it?

It's really to not have the same exact binding to 2 different driver.
If this would cause problem I will use qcom,tx-deemph...... but still it looks
wrong to me having this. How should I proceed?



  reply	other threads:[~2020-04-10 12:40 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-10  0:47 [PATCH 0/4] Move tx-deempth and tx swing to pci.txt Ansuel Smith
2020-04-10  0:47 ` [PATCH 1/4] devicetree: bindings: pci: document tx-deempth tx swing and rx-eq property Ansuel Smith
2020-04-13 20:29   ` Florian Fainelli
2020-04-14 12:51     ` R: " ansuelsmth
2020-04-13 20:40   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-04-10  0:47 ` [PATCH 2/4] drivers: pci: dwc: pci-imx6: update binding to generic name Ansuel Smith
2020-04-10  2:24   ` Fabio Estevam
2020-04-10 11:07     ` R: " ansuelsmth
2020-04-10 12:31       ` Fabio Estevam
2020-04-10 12:40         ` ansuelsmth [this message]
2020-04-10 12:57           ` Fabio Estevam
2020-04-13 20:25   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-04-10  0:47 ` [PATCH 3/4] arm: dts: imx6: update pci " Ansuel Smith
2020-04-10  0:47 ` [PATCH 4/4] devicetree: bindings: pci: fsl,imx6q-pcie: rename tx deemph and swing Ansuel Smith

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='003401d60f35$3725b630$a5712290$@gmail.com' \
    --to=ansuelsmth@gmail.com \
    --cc=amurray@thegoodpenguin.co.uk \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).