linux-pci.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Matthias Andree <matthias.andree@gmx.de>
To: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>, Lukas Wunner <lukas@wunner.de>,
	Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Alexandru Gagniuc <mr.nuke.me@gmail.com>,
	Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>,
	Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de>,
	Nicholas Johnson <nicholas.johnson-opensource@outlook.com.au>,
	Justin Forbes <jmforbes@linuxtx.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] PCI: Add missing link delays required by the PCIe spec
Date: Mon, 26 Aug 2019 18:16:27 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1880d84c-b8fa-47ca-4fc7-191ccc6f976f@gmx.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190826144242.GA2643@lahna.fi.intel.com>

Am 26.08.19 um 16:42 schrieb Mika Westerberg:
> According to PCI FW 3.2 the OS is responsible for those delays if the
> platform firmware does not provide that _DSM. So simpler way would be
> always do the delays if the _DSM is not there.

Well, that is

* unless we trip over delays that make other parts of the kernel spin
crazy in unterminated loops because there's this mismatch between the
PME and the readyness world or whatever you analyzed my system PME
interrupt storms for.

Note we normally resume devices asynchronously these days unless someone
zeroes out /sys/power/pm_async.

* assuming we're not seeing complaints from I think it was Nicholas's
system with wakeup/resume deadlines.



  reply	other threads:[~2019-08-26 16:17 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-21 12:45 Mika Westerberg
2019-08-22 18:29 ` Matthias Andree
2019-08-23  7:10   ` Mika Westerberg
2019-08-22 22:23 ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2019-08-24  2:12 ` Bjorn Helgaas
2019-08-26 10:17   ` Mika Westerberg
2019-08-26 14:07     ` Bjorn Helgaas
2019-08-26 14:42       ` Mika Westerberg
2019-08-26 16:16         ` Matthias Andree [this message]
2019-08-26 22:05         ` Bjorn Helgaas
2019-08-27  9:25           ` Mika Westerberg
2019-09-19  6:57             ` Mika Westerberg

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1880d84c-b8fa-47ca-4fc7-191ccc6f976f@gmx.de \
    --to=matthias.andree@gmx.de \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=jmforbes@linuxtx.org \
    --cc=kai.heng.feng@canonical.com \
    --cc=keith.busch@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lukas@wunner.de \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mr.nuke.me@gmail.com \
    --cc=nicholas.johnson-opensource@outlook.com.au \
    --cc=pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] PCI: Add missing link delays required by the PCIe spec' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).