linux-pci.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
To: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	Jonathan Cameron <jic23@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Jacek Anaszewski <jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-clk@vger.kernel.org,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-hwmon@vger.kernel.org, linux-iio@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-leds@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org, linux-can@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org, linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-remoteproc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org, linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-serial@vger.kernel.org, alsa-devel@alsa-project.org,
	linux-spi@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] dt-bindings: Clean-up schema indentation formatting
Date: Thu, 16 Apr 2020 14:43:59 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200416124359.GB5785@ravnborg.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200416005549.9683-1-robh@kernel.org>

Hi Rob.

On Wed, Apr 15, 2020 at 07:55:48PM -0500, Rob Herring wrote:
> Fix various inconsistencies in schema indentation. Most of these are
> list indentation which should be 2 spaces more than the start of the
> enclosing keyword. This doesn't matter functionally, but affects running
> scripts which do transforms on the schema files.

Are there any plans to improve the tooling so we get warnigns for this?
Otherwise I am afraid we will see a lot of patches that gets this wrong.

As a follow-up patch it would be good if example-schema.yaml
could gain some comments about the correct indentions.

Some comments in the following.

> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/altera.yaml b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/altera.yaml
> index 49e0362ddc11..b388c5aa7984 100644
> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/altera.yaml
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/altera.yaml
> @@ -13,8 +13,8 @@ properties:
>    compatible:
>      items:
>        - enum:
> -        - altr,socfpga-cyclone5
> -        - altr,socfpga-arria5
> -        - altr,socfpga-arria10
> +          - altr,socfpga-cyclone5
> +          - altr,socfpga-arria5
> +          - altr,socfpga-arria10
>        - const: altr,socfpga

So here "- enum" do not need the extra indent.
Is it because this is not a list?

>  ...
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/amlogic/amlogic,meson-gx-ao-secure.yaml b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/amlogic/amlogic,meson-gx-ao-secure.yaml
> index 66213bd95e6e..6cc74523ebfd 100644
> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/amlogic/amlogic,meson-gx-ao-secure.yaml
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/amlogic/amlogic,meson-gx-ao-secure.yaml
> @@ -25,7 +25,7 @@ select:
> 
>  properties:
>    compatible:
> -   items:
> +    items:
>        - const: amlogic,meson-gx-ao-secure
>        - const: syscon

This is something I had expected the tooling to notice.
I had expected the two "- const" to be indented with 4 spaces, not two.
So there is something I do not understand.


> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/nxp/lpc32xx.yaml b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/nxp/lpc32xx.yaml
> index 07f39d3eee7e..f7f024910e71 100644
> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/nxp/lpc32xx.yaml
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/arm/nxp/lpc32xx.yaml
> @@ -17,9 +17,8 @@ properties:
>            - nxp,lpc3230
>            - nxp,lpc3240
>        - items:
> -        - enum:
> -            - ea,ea3250
> -            - phytec,phy3250
> -        - const: nxp,lpc3250
> -
> +          - enum:
> +              - ea,ea3250
> +              - phytec,phy3250
> +          - const: nxp,lpc3250
>  ...

And here "- enum" receive extra indent.

I trust you know what you are doing - but I do not get it.

Some pointers or examples for the correct indention would be great.
I cannot review this patch as long as I do not know the rules.

My request to update example-schema.yaml was one way to teach me.
(Some people will say that is difficult/impossible to teach me,
but thats another story:-) ).

	Sam

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-04-16 12:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-16  0:55 Rob Herring
2020-04-16  6:42 ` Maxime Ripard
2020-04-16  7:20 ` Lee Jones
2020-04-16  8:07 ` Vinod Koul
2020-04-16 10:40 ` Mark Brown
2020-04-16 11:37 ` Alexandre Belloni
2020-04-16 12:43 ` Sam Ravnborg [this message]
2020-04-18 15:57 ` Jonathan Cameron
     [not found] ` <20200416005549.9683-2-robh@kernel.org>
2020-04-16  6:43   ` [PATCH 2/2] dt-bindings: Remove cases of 'allOf' containing a '$ref' Maxime Ripard
2020-04-16  6:49   ` Joe Perches
2020-04-16  7:22   ` Lee Jones
2020-04-16  8:07   ` Vinod Koul
2020-04-16 10:41   ` Mark Brown
2020-04-18 16:03   ` Jonathan Cameron
2020-04-19 18:14   ` Stephen Boyd

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200416124359.GB5785@ravnborg.org \
    --to=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@linaro.org \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com \
    --cc=jic23@kernel.org \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-can@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hwmon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-iio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-leds@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-remoteproc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-serial@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-spi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/2] dt-bindings: Clean-up schema indentation formatting' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).