Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>
To: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	oohall@gmail.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4] pci: set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only
Date: Tue, 16 Jun 2020 12:07:30 +0300
Message-ID: <20200616090730.GF2795@lahna.fi.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200616011742.138975-2-rajatja@google.com>

On Mon, Jun 15, 2020 at 06:17:40PM -0700, Rajat Jain wrote:
> The "ExternalFacing" devices (root ports) are still internal devices
> that sit on the internal system fabric and thus trusted. Currently they
> were being marked untrusted - likely as an unintended border case.

It was actually intentional :) At the time this was added we did not see
benefits from doing this and even with this you actually are going to
still miss things like a TBT chip that is soldered on the motherboard, I
guess that can be though as an internal device as well.

No objections to this patch, though.

  reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-16  1:17 [PATCH 1/4] pci: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 2/4] pci: set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  9:07   ` Mika Westerberg [this message]
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 3/4] pci: acs: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain
2020-06-19 16:10   ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-22 23:01     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  5:57   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-16  7:32   ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-16 19:27     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-17  7:31       ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-17 19:53         ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18  6:18           ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  8:12           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18  8:36             ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  9:14               ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 14:56                 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 15:03                 ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 15:39                   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 16:02                   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 16:23                     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-18 17:23                       ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 18:46                         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 23:58   ` Rajat Jain

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200616090730.GF2795@lahna.fi.intel.com \
    --to=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git