Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
To: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	oohall@gmail.com, Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>,
	stable@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Subject: [PATCH RESEND v2] PCI: Add device even if driver attach failed
Date: Mon,  6 Jul 2020 16:32:40 -0700
Message-ID: <20200706233240.3245512-1-rajatja@google.com> (raw)

device_attach() returning failure indicates a driver error while trying to
probe the device. In such a scenario, the PCI device should still be added
in the system and be visible to the user.

This patch partially reverts:
commit ab1a187bba5c ("PCI: Check device_attach() return value always")

Signed-off-by: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
Resending to stable, independent from other patches per Greg's suggestion
v2: Add Greg's reviewed by, fix commit log

 drivers/pci/bus.c | 6 +-----
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/bus.c b/drivers/pci/bus.c
index 8e40b3e6da77d..3cef835b375fd 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/bus.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/bus.c
@@ -322,12 +322,8 @@ void pci_bus_add_device(struct pci_dev *dev)
 
 	dev->match_driver = true;
 	retval = device_attach(&dev->dev);
-	if (retval < 0 && retval != -EPROBE_DEFER) {
+	if (retval < 0 && retval != -EPROBE_DEFER)
 		pci_warn(dev, "device attach failed (%d)\n", retval);
-		pci_proc_detach_device(dev);
-		pci_remove_sysfs_dev_files(dev);
-		return;
-	}
 
 	pci_dev_assign_added(dev, true);
 }
-- 
2.27.0.212.ge8ba1cc988-goog


             reply index

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-06 23:32 Rajat Jain [this message]
2020-07-07  6:57 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-07 22:36 ` Bjorn Helgaas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200706233240.3245512-1-rajatja@google.com \
    --to=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git