Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Jesper Nilsson <Jesper.Nilsson@axis.com>
To: "Krzysztof Wilczyński" <kw@linux.com>
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>, Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Yue Wang <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <Jesper.Nilsson@axis.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Hou Zhiqiang <Zhiqiang.Hou@nxp.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Toan Le <toan@os.amperecomputing.com>,
	Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>,
	Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@rock-chips.com>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	"linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org" 
	<linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@axis.com>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-omap@vger.kernel.org" <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-pci@vger.kernel.org" <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org" 
	<linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org" 
	<linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org" <linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	"rfi@lists.rocketboards.org" <rfi@lists.rocketboards.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 01/10] PCI: dwc: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from platform_get_irq()
Date: Mon, 3 Aug 2020 09:16:42 +0200
Message-ID: <20200803071642.7qgua4qnwrre4s3v@axis.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200802142601.1635926-2-kw@linux.com>

On Sun, Aug 02, 2020 at 04:25:53PM +0200, Krzysztof Wilczyński wrote:
> There is no need to call the dev_err() function directly to print a
> custom message when handling an error from either the platform_get_irq()
> or platform_get_irq_byname() functions as both are going to display an
> appropriate error message in case of a failure.
> 
> This change is as per suggestion from Coccinelle:
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-armada8k.c:252:2-9: line 252 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-kirin.c:459:3-10: line 459 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c:872:3-10: line 872 is redundant
>   because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-artpec6.c:391:3-10: line 391 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-spear13xx.c:202:2-9: line 202 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-keystone.c:1254:2-9: line 1254 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-exynos.c:406:2-9: line 406 is redundant
>   because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-exynos.c:419:3-10: line 419 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c:2193:2-9: line 2193 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-histb.c:406:3-10: line 406 is
>   redundant because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-meson.c:492:3-10: line 492 is redundant
>   because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-dra7xx.c:633:2-9: line 633 is redundant
>   because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-dra7xx.c:875:2-9: line 875 is redundant
>   because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
> Suggested-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Wilczyński <kw@linux.com>

Looks good,

Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>

/^JN - Jesper Nilsson
-- 
               Jesper Nilsson -- jesper.nilsson@axis.com

  reply index

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-02 14:25 [PATCH 00/10] Remove surplus " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 01/10] PCI: dwc: Remove " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03  7:16   ` Jesper Nilsson [this message]
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 02/10] PCI: mobiveil: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 03/10] PCI: tegra: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 04/10] PCI: altera: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03  6:19   ` Tan, Ley Foon
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 05/10] PCI: host-generic: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 06/10] PCI: v3-semi: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 07/10] PCI: altera-msi: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:26 ` [PATCH 08/10] PCI: xgene-msi: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:26 ` [PATCH 09/10] PCI: rockchip: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03  2:01 ` [PATCH 00/10] Remove surplus " Bjorn Helgaas
2020-08-03 11:10   ` Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03 14:55   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-08-03  7:10 ` [PATCH 10/10] PCI: xilinx-nwl: Remove " Krzysztof Wilczyński

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200803071642.7qgua4qnwrre4s3v@axis.com \
    --to=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=Zhiqiang.Hou@nxp.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=kw@linux.com \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=ley.foon.tan@intel.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=rfi@lists.rocketboards.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawn.lin@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=toan@os.amperecomputing.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git