linux-pci.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Vidya Sagar <vidyas@nvidia.com>
To: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Cc: <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Dilip Kota <eswara.kota@linux.intel.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Chocron <jonnyc@amazon.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	"Kishon Vijay Abraham I" <kishon@ti.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>,
	Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	"Lucas Stach" <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>, Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Yue Wang <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>, Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>,
	<linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org>, <linux-arm-kernel@axis.com>,
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	<linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 03/40] PCI: dwc: Allow overriding bridge pci_ops
Date: Sun, 8 Aug 2021 20:43:43 +0530	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <68e3adfb-a79d-3b70-87ed-2e5e1bf7fc93@nvidia.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200821035420.380495-4-robh@kernel.org>



On 8/21/2020 9:23 AM, Rob Herring wrote:
> In preparation to allow drivers to set their own root and child pci_ops
> instead of using the DWC specific config space ops, we need to make
> the pci_host_bridge pointer available and move setting the bridge->ops
> and bridge->child_ops pointer to before the .host_init() hook.
> 
> Cc: Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>
> Cc: Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>
> Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
> ---
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c | 15 ++++++++++-----
>   drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h      |  1 +
>   2 files changed, 11 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
> index 1d98554db009..b626cc7cd43a 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
> +++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
> @@ -344,6 +344,8 @@ int dw_pcie_host_init(struct pcie_port *pp)
>   	if (!bridge)
>   		return -ENOMEM;
>   
> +	pp->bridge = bridge;
> +
>   	/* Get the I/O and memory ranges from DT */
>   	resource_list_for_each_entry(win, &bridge->windows) {
>   		switch (resource_type(win->res)) {
> @@ -445,6 +447,10 @@ int dw_pcie_host_init(struct pcie_port *pp)
>   		}
>   	}
>   
> +	/* Set default bus ops */
> +	bridge->ops = &dw_pcie_ops;
> +	bridge->child_ops = &dw_pcie_ops;
> +
>   	if (pp->ops->host_init) {
>   		ret = pp->ops->host_init(pp);
>   		if (ret)
> @@ -452,7 +458,6 @@ int dw_pcie_host_init(struct pcie_port *pp)
>   	}
>   
>   	bridge->sysdata = pp;
> -	bridge->ops = &dw_pcie_ops;
>   
>   	ret = pci_scan_root_bus_bridge(bridge);
>   	if (ret)
> @@ -654,11 +659,11 @@ void dw_pcie_setup_rc(struct pcie_port *pp)
>   	dw_pcie_writel_dbi(pci, PCI_COMMAND, val);
>   
>   	/*
> -	 * If the platform provides ->rd_other_conf, it means the platform
> -	 * uses its own address translation component rather than ATU, so
> -	 * we should not program the ATU here.
> +	 * If the platform provides its own child bus config accesses, it means
> +	 * the platform uses its own address translation component rather than
> +	 * ATU, so we should not program the ATU here.
It is possible that a platform can have its own translation for 
configuration accesses and use DWC's ATU for memory/IO address 
translations. IMHO, ATU setup for memory/IO address translations 
shouldn't be skipped based on platform's '->rd_other_conf' 
implementation. Ex:- A platform can implement configuration space access 
through the ECAM mechanism yet choose to use ATU for memory/IO address 
translations.

Thanks,
Vidya Sagar
>   	 */
> -	if (!pp->ops->rd_other_conf) {
> +	if (pp->bridge->child_ops == &dw_pcie_ops && !pp->ops->rd_other_conf) {
>   		dw_pcie_prog_outbound_atu(pci, PCIE_ATU_REGION_INDEX0,
>   					  PCIE_ATU_TYPE_MEM, pp->mem_base,
>   					  pp->mem_bus_addr, pp->mem_size);
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h
> index f911760dcc69..8b8ea5f3e7af 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h
> +++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h
> @@ -200,6 +200,7 @@ struct pcie_port {
>   	u32			num_vectors;
>   	u32			irq_mask[MAX_MSI_CTRLS];
>   	struct pci_bus		*root_bus;
> +	struct pci_host_bridge  *bridge;
>   	raw_spinlock_t		lock;
>   	DECLARE_BITMAP(msi_irq_in_use, MAX_MSI_IRQS);
>   };
> 

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-08 15:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 51+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-21  3:53 [PATCH v2 00/40] PCI: dwc: Driver clean-ups Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 01/40] PCI: Allow root and child buses to have different pci_ops Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 02/40] PCI: dwc: Use DBI accessors instead of own config accessors Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 03/40] PCI: dwc: Allow overriding bridge pci_ops Rob Herring
2021-08-08 15:13   ` Vidya Sagar [this message]
2021-08-09 14:52     ` Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 04/40] PCI: dwc: Add a default pci_ops.map_bus for root port Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 05/40] PCI: dwc: al: Use pci_ops for child config space accessors Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 06/40] PCI: dwc: keystone: Use pci_ops for " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 07/40] PCI: dwc: tegra: Use pci_ops for root " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 08/40] PCI: dwc: meson: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 09/40] PCI: dwc: kirin: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 10/40] PCI: dwc: exynos: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 11/40] PCI: dwc: histb: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 12/40] PCI: dwc: Remove dwc specific config accessor ops Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 13/40] PCI: dwc: Use generic config accessors Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 14/40] PCI: Also call .add_bus() callback for root bus Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 15/40] PCI: dwc: keystone: Convert .scan_bus() callback to use add_bus Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 16/40] PCI: dwc: Convert to use pci_host_probe() Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 17/40] PCI: dwc: Remove root_bus pointer Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 18/40] PCI: dwc: Remove storing of PCI resources Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 19/40] PCI: dwc: Simplify config space handling Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 20/40] PCI: dwc/keystone: Drop duplicated 'num-viewport' Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 21/40] PCI: dwc: Check CONFIG_PCI_MSI inside dw_pcie_msi_init() Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 22/40] PCI: dwc/imx6: Remove duplicate define PCIE_LINK_WIDTH_SPEED_CONTROL Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 23/40] PCI: dwc: Add a 'num_lanes' field to struct dw_pcie Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 24/40] PCI: dwc: Ensure FAST_LINK_MODE is cleared Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 25/40] PCI: dwc/meson: Drop the duplicate number of lanes setup Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 26/40] PCI: dwc/meson: Drop unnecessary RC config space initialization Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 27/40] PCI: dwc/meson: Rework PCI config and DW port logic register accesses Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 28/40] PCI: dwc/imx6: Use common PCI register definitions Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 29/40] PCI: dwc/qcom: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 30/40] PCI: dwc: Remove hardcoded PCI_CAP_ID_EXP offset Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 31/40] PCI: dwc/tegra: Use common Designware port logic register definitions Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 32/40] PCI: dwc: Remove read_dbi2 code Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 33/40] PCI: dwc: Make ATU accessors private Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 34/40] PCI: dwc: Centralize link gen setting Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 35/40] PCI: dwc: Set PORT_LINK_DLL_LINK_EN in common setup code Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 36/40] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Drop unnecessary checking of DT 'device_type' property Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 37/40] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Move getting PCI_CAP_ID_EXP offset to intel_pcie_link_setup() Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 38/40] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Drop unused max_width Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 39/40] PCI: dwc: Move N_FTS setup to common setup Rob Herring
2021-08-08 15:01   ` Vidya Sagar
2021-08-09 15:02     ` Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 40/40] PCI: dwc: Use DBI accessors Rob Herring
2020-09-07  9:35 ` [PATCH v2 00/40] PCI: dwc: Driver clean-ups Lorenzo Pieralisi
2020-09-15  9:12 ` Michael Walle
2020-09-15 22:02   ` Rob Herring
2020-09-16  7:54     ` Michael Walle
2020-09-29  5:23       ` Kishon Vijay Abraham I
2020-09-29 14:32         ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=68e3adfb-a79d-3b70-87ed-2e5e1bf7fc93@nvidia.com \
    --to=vidyas@nvidia.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=eswara.kota@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jonnyc@amazon.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawn.guo@linaro.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 03/40] PCI: dwc: Allow overriding bridge pci_ops' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).