Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
To: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	"open list:AMD IOMMU (AMD-VI)" <iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	"Krishnakumar,
	Lalithambika" <lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>,
	Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/7] PCI: Keep the ACS capability offset in device
Date: Mon, 6 Jul 2020 15:16:42 -0700
Message-ID: <CACK8Z6GtOH4o6J17YXnesf0VvQSQRTCR011RRD2U7gkrwA8ziQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200706155815.GA119406@bjorn-Precision-5520>

Hi Bjorn,

Thanks for taking a look.

On Mon, Jul 6, 2020 at 8:58 AM Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> On Mon, Jun 29, 2020 at 09:49:37PM -0700, Rajat Jain wrote:
> > Currently this is being looked up at a number of places. Read and store it
> > once at bootup so that it can be used by all later.
>
> Write the commit log so it is complete even without the subject.
> Right now, you have to read the subject to know what "this" refers to.
>
> The subject is like the title; the log is like the body of an article.
> The title isn't *part* of the article, so the article has to make
> sense all by itself.

Fixed.

>
> > +static void pci_enable_acs(struct pci_dev *dev);
>
> I don't think we need this forward declaration, do we?

We need it unless we move its definition further up in the file:

drivers/pci/pci.c: In function ‘pci_restore_state’:
drivers/pci/pci.c:1551:2: error: implicit declaration of function
‘pci_enable_acs’; did you mean ‘pci_enable_ats’?
[-Werror=implicit-function-declaration]
 1551 |  pci_enable_acs(dev);

Do you want me to move it up in the file so that we do not need the
forward declaration?

>
> > @@ -4653,7 +4653,7 @@ static int pci_quirk_intel_spt_pch_acs(struct pci_dev *dev, u16 acs_flags)
> >       if (!pci_quirk_intel_spt_pch_acs_match(dev))
> >               return -ENOTTY;
> >
> > -     pos = pci_find_ext_capability(dev, PCI_EXT_CAP_ID_ACS);
> > +     pos = dev->acs_cap;
>
> I assume you verified that all these quirks are FINAL quirks, since
> pci_init_capabilities() is called after HEADER quirks.  I'll
> double-check before applying this.

None of these quirks are applied via DECLARE_PCI_FIXUP_*(). All these
quirks are called (directly or indirectly) from either
pci_enable_acs() or pci_acs_enabled(),

EXCEPT

pci_idt_bus_quirk(). That one is called from
pci_bus_read_dev_vendor_id() which should be called only after the
parent bridge has been added and setup correctly.

So it looks all good to me.

Thanks,

Rajat



>
> Bjorn

  reply index

Thread overview: 43+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-30  4:49 [PATCH v2 0/7] Tighten PCI security, expose dev location in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 1/7] PCI: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-07-06 15:58   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-06 22:16     ` Rajat Jain [this message]
2020-07-06 23:18       ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 2/7] PCI: Set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  7:38   ` Lu Baolu
2020-06-30  7:55   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-06 16:41     ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-06 18:48       ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-06 16:38   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-06 22:31     ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-06 23:30       ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-06 23:40         ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 3/7] PCI/ACS: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain
2020-07-06 16:45   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-06 23:12     ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-06 17:07   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-06 23:19     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 4/7] PCI: Add device even if driver attach failed Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  8:02   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-06 23:35     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 5/7] driver core: Add device location to "struct device" and expose it in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  8:01   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-30 10:49   ` Heikki Krogerus
2020-06-30 12:52     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-30 13:00       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2020-06-30 15:38         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-30 16:08           ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2020-06-30 17:00             ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-01 18:06               ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-02  5:23                 ` Oliver O'Halloran
2020-07-02  7:32                   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-02  8:40                     ` Oliver O'Halloran
2020-07-02  8:52                       ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-02  8:53                         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-07  6:03                   ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-30 17:43   ` Saravana Kannan
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 6/7] PCI: Move pci_dev->untrusted logic to use device location instead Rajat Jain
2020-06-30  7:39   ` Lu Baolu
2020-06-30  4:49 ` [PATCH v2 7/7] PCI: Add parameter to disable attaching external devices Rajat Jain
2020-07-04 11:44 ` [PATCH v2 0/7] Tighten PCI security, expose dev location in sysfs Pavel Machek
2020-07-06 22:18   ` Rajat Jain

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACK8Z6GtOH4o6J17YXnesf0VvQSQRTCR011RRD2U7gkrwA8ziQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git