Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
To: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	"Krishnakumar,
	Lalithambika" <lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs
Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2020 11:12:56 +0300
Message-ID: <CAHp75Vc6eA33cyAQH-m+yixTuHqiobg6fo7nzbbb-J6vN6qFcA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACK8Z6FecYkAYQh4sm4RbAQ1iwb9gexqgY9ExD9BH2p-5Usj=g@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, Jun 17, 2020 at 10:56 PM Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com> wrote:
> On Wed, Jun 17, 2020 at 12:31 AM Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> wrote:

...

> (and likely call it "external" instead of "untrusted".

Which is not okay. 'External' to what? 'untrusted' has been carefully
chosen by the meaning of it.
What external does mean for M.2. WWAN card in my laptop? It's in ACPI
tables, but I can replace it.
This is only one example. Or if firmware of some device is altered,
and it's internal (whatever it means) is it trusted or not?

So, please leave it as is (I mean name).

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-16  1:17 [PATCH 1/4] pci: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 2/4] pci: set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  9:07   ` Mika Westerberg
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 3/4] pci: acs: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain
2020-06-19 16:10   ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-22 23:01     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  5:57   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-16  7:32   ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-16 19:27     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-17  7:31       ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-17 19:53         ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18  6:18           ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  8:12           ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2020-06-18  8:36             ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  9:14               ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 14:56                 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 15:03                 ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 15:39                   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 16:02                   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 16:23                     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-18 17:23                       ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 18:46                         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 23:58   ` Rajat Jain

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAHp75Vc6eA33cyAQH-m+yixTuHqiobg6fo7nzbbb-J6vN6qFcA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git