Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
To: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	"Krishnakumar,
	Lalithambika" <lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	"Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs
Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2020 18:39:25 +0300
Message-ID: <CAHp75Vf_gheXBZh-Mm7ME_eVWc5gPcwY98oCH1-QD920mK7gZw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACK8Z6F2Ssj=EqhR2DZ114ETgQ-3PhzVi2rm2xxenCNOVH=60g@mail.gmail.com>

On Thu, Jun 18, 2020 at 6:04 PM Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com> wrote:
> On Thu, Jun 18, 2020 at 2:14 AM Andy Shevchenko
> <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com> wrote:

...

> To clarify, the attribute exposed by the firmware today is
> "ExternalFacingPort" and "external-facing" respectively:
>
> 617654aae50e ("PCI / ACPI: Identify untrusted PCI devices")
> 9cb30a71ac45d("PCI: OF: Support "external-facing" property")
>
> The kernel flag was named "untrusted" though, hence the assumption
> that "external=untrusted" is currently baked into the kernel today.
> IMHO, using "external" would fix that (The assumption can thus be
> contained in the IOMMU drivers) and at the same time allow more use of
> this attribute.

That discussion had been held, IIRC, during introduction of the
untrusted member in struct pci_dev...

> > > Trust is different, yes, don't get the two mixed up please.  That should
> > > be a different sysfs attribute for obvious reasons.
> >
> > Yes, as a bottom line that's what I meant as well.
>
> So what is the consensus here? I don't have a strong opinion - but it
> seemed to me Greg is saying "external" and Andy is saying "untrusted"?

...and a conclusion has been made as you may see. So, I would highly
recommend to speak to the author(s) of the patch that introduced /
adopted 'untrusted' member.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

  reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-16  1:17 [PATCH 1/4] pci: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 2/4] pci: set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  9:07   ` Mika Westerberg
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 3/4] pci: acs: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain
2020-06-19 16:10   ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-22 23:01     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  5:57   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-16  7:32   ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-16 19:27     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-17  7:31       ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-17 19:53         ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18  6:18           ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  8:12           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18  8:36             ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  9:14               ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 14:56                 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 15:03                 ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 15:39                   ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2020-06-18 16:02                   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 16:23                     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-18 17:23                       ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 18:46                         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 23:58   ` Rajat Jain

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAHp75Vf_gheXBZh-Mm7ME_eVWc5gPcwY98oCH1-QD920mK7gZw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git