Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@nxp.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Sascha Hauer <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Yang-Leo Li <leoyang.li@nxp.com>, Vinod <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>,
	Andrew Murray <amurray@thegoodpenguin.co.uk>,
	Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>,
	Vidya Sagar <vidyas@nvidia.com>,
	Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Jonathan Chocron <jonnyc@amazon.com>,
	Dilip Kota <eswara.kota@linux.intel.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	PCI <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	NXP Linux Team <Linux-imx@nxp.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V3 3/3] pci: imx: Select RESET_IMX7 by default
Date: Wed, 29 Jul 2020 09:26:10 -0600
Message-ID: <CAL_JsqLXGduym51-Ej8Td4yOyP-UfGP-WCh2xeP_V90Yabm4XA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1595254921-26050-3-git-send-email-Anson.Huang@nxp.com>

On Mon, Jul 20, 2020 at 8:26 AM Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@nxp.com> wrote:
>
> i.MX7 reset driver now supports module build and it is no longer
> built in by default, so i.MX PCI driver needs to select it explicitly
> due to it is NOT supporting loadable module currently.
>
> Signed-off-by: Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@nxp.com>
> ---
> No change.
> ---
>  drivers/pci/controller/dwc/Kconfig | 1 +
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/Kconfig b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/Kconfig
> index 044a376..bcf63ce 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/Kconfig
> @@ -90,6 +90,7 @@ config PCI_EXYNOS
>
>  config PCI_IMX6
>         bool "Freescale i.MX6/7/8 PCIe controller"
> +       select RESET_IMX7

This will break as select will not cause all of RESET_IMX7's
dependencies to be met. It also doesn't scale. Are you going to do the
same thing for clocks, pinctrl, gpio, etc.?

You should make the PCI driver work as a module.

Rob

>         depends on ARCH_MXC || COMPILE_TEST
>         depends on PCI_MSI_IRQ_DOMAIN
>         select PCIE_DW_HOST
> --
> 2.7.4
>

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-20 14:21 [PATCH V3 1/3] reset: imx7: Support module build Anson Huang
2020-07-20 14:22 ` [PATCH V3 2/3] arm64: defconfig: Select CONFIG_RESET_IMX7 as module by default Anson Huang
2020-07-20 14:22 ` [PATCH V3 3/3] pci: imx: Select RESET_IMX7 " Anson Huang
2020-07-28 10:51   ` Lorenzo Pieralisi
2020-07-30  8:08     ` [EXT] " Richard Zhu
2020-07-29 15:26   ` Rob Herring [this message]
2020-07-29 15:47     ` Philipp Zabel
2020-07-30  2:11       ` Anson Huang
2020-07-30  7:19         ` Philipp Zabel
2020-07-30 13:11           ` Anson Huang
2020-07-24  8:03 ` [PATCH V3 1/3] reset: imx7: Support module build Philipp Zabel
2020-07-28 10:53   ` Lorenzo Pieralisi
2020-07-29 15:47     ` Philipp Zabel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAL_JsqLXGduym51-Ej8Td4yOyP-UfGP-WCh2xeP_V90Yabm4XA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=Anson.Huang@nxp.com \
    --cc=Linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=amurray@thegoodpenguin.co.uk \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=eswara.kota@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=jonnyc@amazon.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=leoyang.li@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=treding@nvidia.com \
    --cc=vidyas@nvidia.com \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git