linux-pci.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
To: Yoshihiro Shimoda <yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@renesas.com>
Cc: Prabhakar Mahadev Lad <prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@bp.renesas.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>,
	"devicetree@vger.kernel.org" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org" 
	<linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Chris Paterson <Chris.Paterson2@renesas.com>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Simon Horman <horms@verge.net.au>,
	Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@rock-chips.com>,
	Tom Joseph <tjoseph@cadence.com>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	"linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org" 
	<linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org>,
	Lad Prabhakar <prabhakar.csengg@gmail.com>,
	Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Marek Vasut <marek.vasut+renesas@gmail.com>,
	"linux-pci@vger.kernel.org" <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 02/11] arm64: defconfig: enable CONFIG_PCIE_RCAR_HOST
Date: Fri, 3 Apr 2020 10:28:13 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMuHMdVWn=U82k5RJnBaRUgRHh3bRfdncOupmX67-u-nbwsG9w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <TYAPR01MB454403D69A74036B74CC8220D8C70@TYAPR01MB4544.jpnprd01.prod.outlook.com>

Hi Shimoda-san,

On Fri, Apr 3, 2020 at 10:03 AM Yoshihiro Shimoda
<yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@renesas.com> wrote:
> > From: Lad Prabhakar, Sent: Friday, April 3, 2020 4:39 AM
> >
> > config option PCIE_RCAR internally selects PCIE_RCAR_HOST which builds the
> > same driver. So this patch renames CONFIG_PCIE_RCAR to
> > CONFIG_PCIE_RCAR_HOST so that PCIE_RCAR can be safely dropped from Kconfig
> > file.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Lad Prabhakar <prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@bp.renesas.com>
>
> Thank you for the patch!
>
> Reviewed-by: Yoshihiro Shimoda <yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@renesas.com>
>
> But, I'm thinking this patch (and patch 03/11) should be separated
> from this patch series for arm64 subsystem to ease maintenance.
> My scenario is:
>  1) patch series 1: R-Car PCIe endpoint support.
>  -- This means: patch 1, 4 - 9, 11
>
>  2) After the patch series 1 is merged, submit this patch 2/11 to arm subsystem
>    and submit the patch 10/11 to misc subsystem.
>
>  3) At last, submit patch 3/11 after the patch 2/11 is merged.
>
> Geert-san, what do you think?

Thanks, I agree with your summary.

I can take patch 2/11 through renesas-devel.
Probably it's best if I submit it to arm-soc as a fix for v5.8, after
the driver part
has been merged into v5.8-rc1, so 3/11 can be submitted for v5.9.

BTW, I'm wondering about "[PATCH v6 05/11] PCI: rcar: Fix calculating
mask for PCIEPAMR register". Can the issue fixed by this patch happen with
the current driver in host mode, or is that limited to ep mode?
In case of the former, please submit it to the PCI maintainer as a separate
fix.

Thanks!

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

-- 
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

  reply	other threads:[~2020-04-03  8:28 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 30+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-02 19:38 [PATCH v6 00/11] Add support for PCIe controller to work in endpoint mode on R-Car SoCs Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 01/11] PCI: rcar: Rename pcie-rcar.c to pcie-rcar-host.c Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  7:52   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 02/11] arm64: defconfig: enable CONFIG_PCIE_RCAR_HOST Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:03   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-03  8:28     ` Geert Uytterhoeven [this message]
2020-04-03  9:04       ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-03  9:31         ` Prabhakar Mahadev Lad
2020-04-03  9:44           ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 03/11] PCI: drop PCIE_RCAR config option Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 04/11] PCI: rcar: Move shareable code to a common file Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:06   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 05/11] PCI: rcar: Fix calculating mask for PCIEPAMR register Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 06/11] PCI: endpoint: Add support to handle multiple base for mapping outbound memory Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:23   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-03  9:11     ` Prabhakar Mahadev Lad
2020-04-03  9:34       ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-03  9:47         ` Prabhakar Mahadev Lad
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 07/11] dt-bindings: PCI: rcar: Add bindings for R-Car PCIe endpoint controller Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:28   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-03  9:02     ` Prabhakar Mahadev Lad
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 08/11] PCI: rcar: Add support for rcar PCIe controller in endpoint mode Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:44   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-03  8:58     ` Prabhakar Mahadev Lad
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 09/11] PCI: Add Renesas R8A774C0 device ID Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:46   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 10/11] misc: pci_endpoint_test: Add Device ID for RZ/G2E PCIe controller Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:47   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda
2020-04-02 19:38 ` [PATCH v6 11/11] MAINTAINERS: Add file patterns for rcar PCI device tree bindings Lad Prabhakar
2020-04-03  8:48   ` Yoshihiro Shimoda

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMuHMdVWn=U82k5RJnBaRUgRHh3bRfdncOupmX67-u-nbwsG9w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=Chris.Paterson2@renesas.com \
    --cc=andrew.murray@arm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=horms@verge.net.au \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=marek.vasut+renesas@gmail.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=prabhakar.csengg@gmail.com \
    --cc=prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@bp.renesas.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=shawn.lin@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=tjoseph@cadence.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@renesas.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).