Linux-PM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	arm-soc <arm@kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 driver dependencies
Date: Thu, 12 Sep 2019 11:03:08 +0100
Message-ID: <20190912100308.GJ2036@sirena.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAK8P3a2zGJx7SCA4LUHPGTybN8GU16Ah3H0FbaOEwR3H7uGCnA@mail.gmail.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 698 bytes --]

On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 11:29:00AM +0200, Arnd Bergmann wrote:

> Generally speaking, the way that works best is

> config SUBSYS_DRIVER_FOO
>        tristate "SUBSYS support for FOO platform"
>        depends on ARCH_FOO || COMPILE_TEST
>        depends on SUBSYS
>        default "m" if ARCH_FOO

> This means it's enabled as a loadable module by default (use
> default "y" instead where necessary) as long as the platform
> is enabled, but an x86 allmodconfig build also includes it
> because of COMPILE_TEST, while any configuration without
> ARCH_FOO that is not compile-testing cannot enable it.

Indeed, though we shouldn't be adding any default m/y to things
that don't already default on.

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 488 bytes --]

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-11 22:18 Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 1/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix XGENE " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  1:03   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-09-12  9:23   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 2/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix BRCMSTB " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:20   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 " Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:47   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Mark Brown [this message]
2019-09-12  9:46 ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:53     ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190912100308.GJ2036@sirena.org.uk \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@linaro.org \
    --cc=arm@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pm/0 linux-pm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pm linux-pm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pm \
		linux-pm@vger.kernel.org linux-pm@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pm


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox