Linux-PM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
To: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Lists LAKML <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	arm-soc <arm@kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 driver dependencies
Date: Thu, 12 Sep 2019 15:33:20 +0530
Message-ID: <CAP245DXBwwtcbjRQV_bCdYK5SZH9C9oxZJ2rFraJpbd5L0sHvw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190912094651.GH2036@sirena.org.uk>

On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 3:17 PM Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 03:48:44AM +0530, Amit Kucheria wrote:
>
> > I was using initcall_debugging on a QCOM platform and ran across a bunch of
> > driver initcalls that are enabled even if their SoC support is disabled.
>
> What exactly is the problem you're trying to fix here?  For the
> drivers I looked at these were bog standard register the driver
> with the subsystem type initcalls on optional drivers so not
> doing anything particularly disruptive or anything like that.

I was trying to prune the defconfig only to drivers that make sense on
the SoC. e.g. Why should I see a brcmstb_soc_device_early_init() call
on a QCOM system when I've disabled ARCH_BRCMSTB?

I came across this while trying to figure out how to make thermal and
cpufreq frameworks initialise as early as possible.

> For any given system that's going to be an issue for the
> overwhelming majority of drivers on the tree, including those
> that aren't associated with any particular architecture.

Indeed. From a quick check, MFD and GPIO has a bunch of 'generic'
drivers that aren't SoC-specific. I'm sure there are several such
drivers in regulator framework too. They don't need to be 'fixed'.

I was just trying to ring-fence obvious SoC-specific drivers behind a
ARCH_FOO dependency since they seemed like low-hanging fruit. Let me
know if it isn't a good use of everyone's time.

Regards,
Amit

  reply index

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-11 22:18 Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 1/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix XGENE " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  1:03   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-09-12  9:23   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 2/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix BRCMSTB " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:20   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 " Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:47   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:46 ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Amit Kucheria [this message]
2019-09-12 10:53     ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAP245DXBwwtcbjRQV_bCdYK5SZH9C9oxZJ2rFraJpbd5L0sHvw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=amit.kucheria@linaro.org \
    --cc=arm@kernel.org \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pm/0 linux-pm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pm linux-pm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pm \
		linux-pm@vger.kernel.org linux-pm@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pm


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox