Linux-PM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@nxp.com>
To: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>
Cc: "Chanwoo Choi" <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	"MyungJoo Ham" <myungjoo.ham@samsung.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Kyungmin Park" <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Michael Turquette" <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	"Artur Świgoń" <a.swigon@partner.samsung.com>,
	"Saravana Kannan" <saravanak@google.com>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzk@kernel.org>,
	"Alexandre Bailon" <abailon@baylibre.com>,
	"Georgi Djakov" <georgi.djakov@linaro.org>,
	"Aisheng Dong" <aisheng.dong@nxp.com>,
	"Abel Vesa" <abel.vesa@nxp.com>, "Jacky Bai" <ping.bai@nxp.com>,
	"Anson Huang" <anson.huang@nxp.com>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <fabio.estevam@nxp.com>,
	"Viresh Kumar" <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	"devicetree@vger.kernel.org" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-pm@vger.kernel.org" <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-clk@vger.kernel.org" <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"kernel@pengutronix.de" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org"
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/7] clk: imx8m: Set CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE on dram_alt/apb
Date: Mon, 16 Sep 2019 23:03:53 +0000
Message-ID: <VI1PR04MB70239F26BE42AD5E6FC3639DEE8C0@VI1PR04MB7023.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190916203312.CF8D02067B@mail.kernel.org>

On 2019-09-16 11:33 PM, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> Quoting Leonard Crestez (2019-08-20 08:45:06)
>> Dram frequency changes required modifying these clocks outside the
>> control of clk framework. Mark them as CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE so that
>> rates are always read back from registers.
> 
> Why can't we control the clks from the clk framework? Please add that
> information in the commit text here.

OK, I will update commit message and comments

These clocks are only modified for DRAM frequency switches during which 
DRAM is briefly inaccessible. The switch is performed with a SMC call to 
by TF-A which runs from a SRAM area. Upon returning to linux several 
clocks bits are modified and we need to update them.

For rate bits an easy solution is to just mark with 
CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE, muxes are handled explicitly.

Linux code performing the SMC call is also part of this series:

     https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/11104145/

>> Signed-off-by: Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@nxp.com>
>> ---
>>   drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mm.c | 6 ++++--
>>   drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mn.c | 6 ++++--
>>   drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mq.c | 7 ++++---
>>   3 files changed, 12 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)
>>
>> diff --git a/drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mm.c b/drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mm.c
>> index 4ead3ea2713c..6cac80550f43 100644
>> --- a/drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mm.c
>> +++ b/drivers/clk/imx/clk-imx8mm.c
>> @@ -526,12 +526,14 @@ static int imx8mm_clocks_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>>          /* IPG */
>>          clks[IMX8MM_CLK_IPG_ROOT] = imx_clk_divider2("ipg_root", "ahb", base + 0x9080, 0, 1);
>>          clks[IMX8MM_CLK_IPG_AUDIO_ROOT] = imx_clk_divider2("ipg_audio_root", "audio_ahb", base + 0x9180, 0, 1);
>>   
>>          /* IP */
>> -       clks[IMX8MM_CLK_DRAM_ALT] = imx8m_clk_composite("dram_alt", imx8mm_dram_alt_sels, base + 0xa000);
>> -       clks[IMX8MM_CLK_DRAM_APB] = imx8m_clk_composite_critical("dram_apb", imx8mm_dram_apb_sels, base + 0xa080);
>> +       clks[IMX8MM_CLK_DRAM_ALT] = __imx8m_clk_composite("dram_alt", imx8mm_dram_alt_sels, base + 0xa000,
>> +                       CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE);
>> +       clks[IMX8MM_CLK_DRAM_APB] = __imx8m_clk_composite("dram_apb", imx8mm_dram_apb_sels, base + 0xa080,
>> +                       CLK_IS_CRITICAL | CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE);
> 
> Also, add a comment to this effect about why it can't be done from the
> clk framework wherever the CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE flag is set. Basically
> this flag is a hack and is an example of something that we need to fix.

DRAM freq switch requires multiple clk changes to be performed 
atomically while DRAM itself is not accessible so it's not something to 
"fix".

--
Regards,
Leonard

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-20 15:45 [PATCH v2 0/7] PM / devfreq: Add initial imx support Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 1/7] clk: imx8m: Set CLK_GET_RATE_NOCACHE on dram_alt/apb Leonard Crestez
     [not found]   ` <20190916203312.CF8D02067B@mail.kernel.org>
2019-09-16 23:03     ` Leonard Crestez [this message]
     [not found]       ` <20190917163215.A838020665@mail.kernel.org>
2019-09-17 16:59         ` Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 2/7] dt-bindings: devfreq: Add bindings for generic imx buses Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 3/7] PM / devfreq: Add generic imx bus driver Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 4/7] dt-bindings: devfreq: Add bindings for imx ddr controller Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 5/7] PM / devfreq: Add dynamic scaling " Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 6/7] PM / devfreq: imx-ddrc: Measure bandwidth with perf Leonard Crestez
2019-08-20 15:45 ` [PATCH v2 7/7] arm64: dts: imx8mm: Add devfreq nodes Leonard Crestez

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=VI1PR04MB70239F26BE42AD5E6FC3639DEE8C0@VI1PR04MB7023.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=leonard.crestez@nxp.com \
    --cc=a.swigon@partner.samsung.com \
    --cc=abailon@baylibre.com \
    --cc=abel.vesa@nxp.com \
    --cc=aisheng.dong@nxp.com \
    --cc=anson.huang@nxp.com \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=fabio.estevam@nxp.com \
    --cc=georgi.djakov@linaro.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=kyungmin.park@samsung.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=myungjoo.ham@samsung.com \
    --cc=ping.bai@nxp.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pm/0 linux-pm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pm linux-pm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pm \
		linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git