linux-ppp.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Eric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>,
	"Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavo@embeddedor.com>,
	Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>, Rabin Vincent <rabinv@axis.com>,
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, Philipp Reisner <philipp.reisner@linbit.com>,
	Lars Ellenberg <lars.ellenberg@linbit.com>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Giovanni Cabiddu <giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com>,
	Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Tudor-Dan Ambarus <tudor.ambarus@microchip.com>,
	Jia-Ju Bai <baijiaju1990@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	dm-devel@redhat.com, linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org, drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com,
	linux-block@vger.kernel.org, qat-linux@intel.com,
	linux-ppp@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-afs@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 13/18] wireless/lib80211: Convert from ahash to shash
Date: Wed, 25 Jul 2018 07:24:53 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1532503493.3223.0.camel@sipsolutions.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180724164936.37477-14-keescook@chromium.org> (sfid-20180724_184958_869692_1891A71D)

On Tue, 2018-07-24 at 09:49 -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> In preparing to remove all stack VLA usage from the kernel[1], this
> removes the discouraged use of AHASH_REQUEST_ON_STACK in favor of
> the smaller SHASH_DESC_ON_STACK by converting from ahash-wrapped-shash
> to direct shash. By removing a layer of indirection this both improves
> performance and reduces stack usage. The stack allocation will be made
> a fixed size in a later patch to the crypto subsystem.
> 
I think you sent this before - it should be in net-next now.

johannes

  reply	other threads:[~2018-07-25  7:24 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 27+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-07-24 16:49 [PATCH v6 00/18] crypto: Remove VLA usage Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 01/18] crypto: xcbc: " Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 02/18] crypto: cbc: " Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 03/18] crypto: hash: " Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 04/18] dm: Remove VLA usage from hashes Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 05/18] crypto alg: Introduce generic max blocksize and alignmask Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 06/18] crypto: qat: Remove VLA usage Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 07/18] crypto: shash: Remove VLA usage in unaligned hashing Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 08/18] crypto: skcipher: Remove VLA usage for SKCIPHER_REQUEST_ON_STACK Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 09/18] ppp: mppe: Remove VLA usage Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 10/18] x86/power/64: " Kees Cook
2018-07-25 11:32   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2018-07-25 18:01     ` Kees Cook
2018-08-06 10:28       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 11/18] dm crypt: Convert essiv from ahash to shash Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 12/18] drbd: Convert " Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 13/18] wireless/lib80211: " Kees Cook
2018-07-25  7:24   ` Johannes Berg [this message]
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 14/18] staging: rtl8192u: ieee80211: " Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 15/18] staging: rtl8192e: " Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 16/18] rxrpc: Reuse SKCIPHER_REQUEST_ON_STACK buffer Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 17/18] crypto: ccm: Remove VLA usage Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:57   ` Ard Biesheuvel
2018-07-24 17:51     ` Kees Cook
2018-07-24 16:49 ` [PATCH v6 18/18] crypto: Remove AHASH_REQUEST_ON_STACK Kees Cook
2018-07-24 17:31   ` Joe Perches
2018-07-24 17:53     ` Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1532503493.3223.0.camel@sipsolutions.net \
    --to=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=agk@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=baijiaju1990@gmail.com \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dm-devel@redhat.com \
    --cc=drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com \
    --cc=dwmw@amazon.co.uk \
    --cc=ebiggers@google.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gustavo@embeddedor.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jpoimboe@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=lars.ellenberg@linbit.com \
    --cc=linux-afs@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ppp@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=philipp.reisner@linbit.com \
    --cc=qat-linux@intel.com \
    --cc=rabinv@axis.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=snitzer@redhat.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tudor.ambarus@microchip.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v6 13/18] wireless/lib80211: Convert from ahash to shash' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).