Linux-PWM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
To: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Emil Velikov <emil.l.velikov@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	Michael Hennerich <michael.hennerich@analog.com>,
	patches@opensource.cirrus.com,
	Support Opensource <support.opensource@diasemi.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Uwe Kleine-Konig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@ti.com>, Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.v>
Subject: [PATCH v5 12/19] backlight: introduce backlight_get_brightness()
Date: Sun, 19 Jul 2020 10:07:36 +0200
Message-ID: <20200719080743.8560-13-sam@ravnborg.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200719080743.8560-1-sam@ravnborg.org>

Based on an idea from Emil Velikov <emil.l.velikov@gmail.com>
add a helper that checks backlight_is_blank() and return 0 as brightness
if display is blank or the property value if not.

This allows us to simplify the update_status() implementation
in most of the backlight drivers.

Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Reviewed-by: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Emil Velikov <emil.l.velikov@gmail.com>
Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>
---
 include/linux/backlight.h | 19 +++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 19 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/linux/backlight.h b/include/linux/backlight.h
index c6ac4cbb9ddb..38db67588b16 100644
--- a/include/linux/backlight.h
+++ b/include/linux/backlight.h
@@ -417,6 +417,25 @@ static inline bool backlight_is_blank(const struct backlight_device *bd)
 	       bd->props.state & (BL_CORE_SUSPENDED | BL_CORE_FBBLANK);
 }
 
+/**
+ * backlight_get_brightness - Returns the current brightness value
+ * @bd: the backlight device
+ *
+ * Returns the current brightness value, taking in consideration the current
+ * state. If backlight_is_blank() returns true then return 0 as brightness
+ * otherwise return the current brightness property value.
+ *
+ * Backlight drivers are expected to use this function in their update_status()
+ * operation to get the brightness value.
+ */
+static inline int backlight_get_brightness(const struct backlight_device *bd)
+{
+	if (backlight_is_blank(bd))
+		return 0;
+	else
+		return bd->props.brightness;
+}
+
 struct backlight_device *
 backlight_device_register(const char *name, struct device *dev, void *devdata,
 			  const struct backlight_ops *ops,
-- 
2.25.1

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-19  8:07 [PATCH v5 0/19] backlight: backlight updates Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 01/19] backlight: refactor fb_notifier_callback() Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 02/19] backlight: add backlight_is_blank() Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 03/19] backlight: improve backlight_ops documentation Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 04/19] backlight: improve backlight_properties documentation Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 05/19] backlight: improve backlight_device documentation Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 06/19] backlight: document inline functions in backlight.h Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 07/19] backlight: document enums " Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 08/19] backlight: remove the unused backlight_bl driver Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 09/19] backlight: drop extern from prototypes Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 10/19] backlight: add overview and update existing doc Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 11/19] backlight: wire up kernel-doc documentation Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` Sam Ravnborg [this message]
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 13/19] backlight: as3711_bl: simplify update_status Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 14/19] backlight: cr_bllcd: introduce gpio-backlight semantics Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-20  8:48   ` Daniel Thompson
2020-07-20  9:14     ` Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 15/19] backlight: gpio_backlight: simplify update_status() Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 16/19] backlight: jornada720_bl: introduce backlight_is_blank() Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 17/19] backlight: use backlight_get_brightness() Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 18/19] backlight: drop backlight_put() Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-19  8:07 ` [PATCH v5 19/19] backlight: make of_find_backlight static Sam Ravnborg
2020-07-20  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 0/19] backlight: backlight updates Lee Jones
2020-07-20 11:01   ` Sam Ravnborg

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200719080743.8560-13-sam@ravnborg.org \
    --to=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=emil.l.velikov@gmail.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=michael.hennerich@analog.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=patches@opensource.cirrus.com \
    --cc=peter.ujfalusi@ti.com \
    --cc=support.opensource@diasemi.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PWM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pwm/0 linux-pwm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pwm linux-pwm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pwm \
		linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pwm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pwm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git