linux-rdma.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org>
To: "David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>, Ariel Elior <aelior@marvell.com>,
	Bin Luo <luobin9@huawei.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Coiby Xu <coiby.xu@gmail.com>,
	Derek Chickles <dchickles@marvell.com>,
	drivers@pensando.io, Felix Manlunas <fmanlunas@marvell.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Geetha sowjanya <gakula@marvell.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	GR-everest-linux-l2@marvell.com, GR-Linux-NIC-Dev@marvell.com,
	hariprasad <hkelam@marvell.com>, Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	Intel Corporation <linuxwwan@intel.com>,
	intel-wired-lan@lists.osuosl.org,
	Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Jiri Pirko <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@gmail.com>,
	Linu Cherian <lcherian@marvell.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, linux-staging@lists.linux.dev,
	Loic Poulain <loic.poulain@linaro.org>,
	Manish Chopra <manishc@marvell.com>,
	M Chetan Kumar <m.chetan.kumar@intel.com>,
	Michael Chan <michael.chan@broadcom.com>,
	Michael Guralnik <michaelgur@mellanox.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, oss-drivers@corigine.com,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>,
	Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@nvidia.com>,
	Satanand Burla <sburla@marvell.com>,
	Sergey Ryazanov <ryazanov.s.a@gmail.com>,
	Shannon Nelson <snelson@pensando.io>,
	Simon Horman <simon.horman@corigine.com>,
	Subbaraya Sundeep <sbhatta@marvell.com>,
	Sunil Goutham <sgoutham@marvell.com>,
	Taras Chornyi <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	Tariq Toukan <tariqt@nvidia.com>,
	Tony Nguyen <anthony.l.nguyen@intel.com>,
	UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com, Vadym Kochan <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>
Subject: [PATCH net-next v1 07/21] octeontx2: Move devlink registration to be last devlink command
Date: Sat, 25 Sep 2021 14:22:47 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <c711bbd0519dfdf3d28141cf9aa159d05f94aab7.1632565508.git.leonro@nvidia.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1632565508.git.leonro@nvidia.com>

From: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>

This change prevents from users to access device before devlink is fully
configured. This change allows us to delete call to devlink_params_publish()
and impossible check during unregister flow.

Signed-off-by: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>
---
 .../ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/af/rvu_devlink.c   | 10 ++--------
 .../ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/nic/otx2_devlink.c | 15 +++------------
 2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 20 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/af/rvu_devlink.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/af/rvu_devlink.c
index de9562acd04b..70bacd38a6d9 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/af/rvu_devlink.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/af/rvu_devlink.c
@@ -1510,7 +1510,6 @@ int rvu_register_dl(struct rvu *rvu)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 	}
 
-	devlink_register(dl);
 	rvu_dl = devlink_priv(dl);
 	rvu_dl->dl = dl;
 	rvu_dl->rvu = rvu;
@@ -1531,13 +1530,11 @@ int rvu_register_dl(struct rvu *rvu)
 		goto err_dl_health;
 	}
 
-	devlink_params_publish(dl);
-
+	devlink_register(dl);
 	return 0;
 
 err_dl_health:
 	rvu_health_reporters_destroy(rvu);
-	devlink_unregister(dl);
 	devlink_free(dl);
 	return err;
 }
@@ -1547,12 +1544,9 @@ void rvu_unregister_dl(struct rvu *rvu)
 	struct rvu_devlink *rvu_dl = rvu->rvu_dl;
 	struct devlink *dl = rvu_dl->dl;
 
-	if (!dl)
-		return;
-
+	devlink_unregister(dl);
 	devlink_params_unregister(dl, rvu_af_dl_params,
 				  ARRAY_SIZE(rvu_af_dl_params));
 	rvu_health_reporters_destroy(rvu);
-	devlink_unregister(dl);
 	devlink_free(dl);
 }
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/nic/otx2_devlink.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/nic/otx2_devlink.c
index 3de18f9433ae..777a27047c8e 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/nic/otx2_devlink.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2/nic/otx2_devlink.c
@@ -108,7 +108,6 @@ int otx2_register_dl(struct otx2_nic *pfvf)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 	}
 
-	devlink_register(dl);
 	otx2_dl = devlink_priv(dl);
 	otx2_dl->dl = dl;
 	otx2_dl->pfvf = pfvf;
@@ -122,12 +121,10 @@ int otx2_register_dl(struct otx2_nic *pfvf)
 		goto err_dl;
 	}
 
-	devlink_params_publish(dl);
-
+	devlink_register(dl);
 	return 0;
 
 err_dl:
-	devlink_unregister(dl);
 	devlink_free(dl);
 	return err;
 }
@@ -135,16 +132,10 @@ int otx2_register_dl(struct otx2_nic *pfvf)
 void otx2_unregister_dl(struct otx2_nic *pfvf)
 {
 	struct otx2_devlink *otx2_dl = pfvf->dl;
-	struct devlink *dl;
-
-	if (!otx2_dl || !otx2_dl->dl)
-		return;
-
-	dl = otx2_dl->dl;
+	struct devlink *dl = otx2_dl->dl;
 
+	devlink_unregister(dl);
 	devlink_params_unregister(dl, otx2_dl_params,
 				  ARRAY_SIZE(otx2_dl_params));
-
-	devlink_unregister(dl);
 	devlink_free(dl);
 }
-- 
2.31.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-09-25 11:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 32+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-25 11:22 [PATCH net-next v1 00/21] Move devlink_register to be last devlink command Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 01/21] devlink: Notify users when objects are accessible Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-28  2:49   ` Eric Dumazet
2021-09-28  7:34     ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 02/21] bnxt_en: Register devlink instance at the end devlink configuration Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 03/21] liquidio: Overcome missing device lock protection in init/remove flows Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 04/21] dpaa2-eth: Register devlink instance at the end of probe Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 05/21] net: hinic: Open device for the user access when it is ready Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 06/21] ice: Open devlink when device " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-27 19:47   ` Jesse Brandeburg
2021-09-25 11:22 ` Leon Romanovsky [this message]
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 08/21] net/prestera: Split devlink and traps registrations to separate routines Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 09/21] net/mlx4: Move devlink_register to be the last initialization command Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 10/21] net/mlx5: Accept devlink user input after driver initialization complete Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 11/21] mlxsw: core: Register devlink instance last Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-26 14:56   ` Ido Schimmel
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 12/21] net: mscc: ocelot: delay devlink registration to the end Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 13/21] nfp: Move delink_register to be last command Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-27  8:39   ` Simon Horman
2021-09-27 11:53     ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-27 12:20       ` Simon Horman
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 14/21] ionic: Move devlink registration to be last devlink command Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-27 16:07   ` Shannon Nelson
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 15/21] qed: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 16/21] net: ethernet: ti: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 17/21] netdevsim: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 18/21] net: wwan: iosm: Move devlink_register " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:22 ` [PATCH net-next v1 19/21] ptp: ocp: Move devlink registration " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:23 ` [PATCH net-next v1 20/21] staging: qlge: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-25 11:23 ` [PATCH net-next v1 21/21] net: dsa: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-09-29 13:02   ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-09-29 13:07     ` Leon Romanovsky

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=c711bbd0519dfdf3d28141cf9aa159d05f94aab7.1632565508.git.leonro@nvidia.com \
    --to=leon@kernel.org \
    --cc=GR-Linux-NIC-Dev@marvell.com \
    --cc=GR-everest-linux-l2@marvell.com \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=aelior@marvell.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=anthony.l.nguyen@intel.com \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=coiby.xu@gmail.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dchickles@marvell.com \
    --cc=drivers@pensando.io \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fmanlunas@marvell.com \
    --cc=gakula@marvell.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hkelam@marvell.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=intel-wired-lan@lists.osuosl.org \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jonathan.lemon@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=lcherian@marvell.com \
    --cc=leonro@nvidia.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-staging@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linuxwwan@intel.com \
    --cc=loic.poulain@linaro.org \
    --cc=luobin9@huawei.com \
    --cc=m.chetan.kumar@intel.com \
    --cc=manishc@marvell.com \
    --cc=michael.chan@broadcom.com \
    --cc=michaelgur@mellanox.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oss-drivers@corigine.com \
    --cc=richardcochran@gmail.com \
    --cc=ryazanov.s.a@gmail.com \
    --cc=saeedm@nvidia.com \
    --cc=sbhatta@marvell.com \
    --cc=sburla@marvell.com \
    --cc=sgoutham@marvell.com \
    --cc=simon.horman@corigine.com \
    --cc=snelson@pensando.io \
    --cc=tariqt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).