Linux-Renesas-SoC Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@collabora.com>
To: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org
Cc: "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	"Len Brown" <lenb@kernel.org>,
	"Vishal Kulkarni" <vishal@chelsio.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Jiri Pirko" <jiri@mellanox.com>,
	"Ido Schimmel" <idosch@mellanox.com>,
	"Johannes Berg" <johannes.berg@intel.com>,
	"Emmanuel Grumbach" <emmanuel.grumbach@intel.com>,
	"Luca Coelho" <luciano.coelho@intel.com>,
	"Intel Linux Wireless" <linuxwifi@intel.com>,
	"Kalle Valo" <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	"Peter Kaestle" <peter@piie.net>,
	"Darren Hart" <dvhart@infradead.org>,
	"Andy Shevchenko" <andy@infradead.org>,
	"Sebastian Reichel" <sre@kernel.org>,
	"Miquel Raynal" <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>,
	"Daniel Lezcano" <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	"Amit Kucheria" <amit.kucheria@verdurent.com>,
	"Support Opensource" <support.opensource@diasemi.com>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"NXP Linux Team" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Niklas Söderlund" <niklas.soderlund@ragnatech.se>,
	"Heiko Stuebner" <heiko@sntech.de>,
	"Orson Zhai" <orsonzhai@gmail.com>,
	"Baolin Wang" <baolin.wang7@gmail.com>,
	"Chunyan Zhang" <zhang.lyra@gmail.com>,
	"Zhang Rui" <rui.zhang@intel.com>,
	"Allison Randal" <allison@lohutok.net>,
	"Enrico Weigelt" <info@metux.net>,
	"Gayatri Kammela" <gayatri.kammela@intel.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz" <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	"Andrzej Pietrasiewicz" <andrzej.p@collabora.com>,
	kernel@collabora.com
Subject: [PATCH v7 01/11] acpi: thermal: Fix error handling in the register function
Date: Mon, 29 Jun 2020 14:29:15 +0200
Message-ID: <20200629122925.21729-2-andrzej.p@collabora.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200629122925.21729-1-andrzej.p@collabora.com>

The acpi_thermal_register_thermal_zone() is missing any error handling.
This needs to be fixed.

Signed-off-by: Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@collabora.com>
Reviewed-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Reviewed-by: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>
Reviewed-by: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
---
 drivers/acpi/thermal.c | 20 ++++++++++++++++----
 1 file changed, 16 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/acpi/thermal.c b/drivers/acpi/thermal.c
index 19067a5e5293..6de8066ca1e7 100644
--- a/drivers/acpi/thermal.c
+++ b/drivers/acpi/thermal.c
@@ -901,23 +901,35 @@ static int acpi_thermal_register_thermal_zone(struct acpi_thermal *tz)
 	result = sysfs_create_link(&tz->device->dev.kobj,
 				   &tz->thermal_zone->device.kobj, "thermal_zone");
 	if (result)
-		return result;
+		goto unregister_tzd;
 
 	result = sysfs_create_link(&tz->thermal_zone->device.kobj,
 				   &tz->device->dev.kobj, "device");
 	if (result)
-		return result;
+		goto remove_tz_link;
 
 	status =  acpi_bus_attach_private_data(tz->device->handle,
 					       tz->thermal_zone);
-	if (ACPI_FAILURE(status))
-		return -ENODEV;
+	if (ACPI_FAILURE(status)) {
+		result = -ENODEV;
+		goto remove_dev_link;
+	}
 
 	tz->tz_enabled = 1;
 
 	dev_info(&tz->device->dev, "registered as thermal_zone%d\n",
 		 tz->thermal_zone->id);
+
 	return 0;
+
+remove_dev_link:
+	sysfs_remove_link(&tz->thermal_zone->device.kobj, "device");
+remove_tz_link:
+	sysfs_remove_link(&tz->device->dev.kobj, "thermal_zone");
+unregister_tzd:
+	thermal_zone_device_unregister(tz->thermal_zone);
+
+	return result;
 }
 
 static void acpi_thermal_unregister_thermal_zone(struct acpi_thermal *tz)
-- 
2.17.1


  reply index

Thread overview: 39+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-29 12:29 [PATCH v7 00/11] Stop monitoring disabled devices Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz [this message]
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 02/11] thermal: Store thermal mode in a dedicated enum Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 03/11] thermal: Add current mode to thermal zone device Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 04/11] thermal: Store device mode in struct thermal_zone_device Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 05/11] thermal: remove get_mode() operation of drivers Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 06/11] thermal: Add mode helpers Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 07/11] thermal: Use mode helpers in drivers Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:45   ` Amit Kucheria
2020-06-29 14:14   ` Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 08/11] thermal: Explicitly enable non-changing thermal zone devices Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 14:15   ` Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz
2020-06-30  5:07   ` Amit Kucheria
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 09/11] thermal: core: Stop polling DISABLED thermal devices Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:46   ` Amit Kucheria
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 10/11] thermal: Simplify or eliminate unnecessary set_mode() methods Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:47   ` Amit Kucheria
2020-06-29 12:29 ` [PATCH v7 11/11] thermal: Rename set_mode() to change_mode() Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-29 12:48   ` Amit Kucheria
2020-06-30 12:57 ` [PATCH v7 00/11] Stop monitoring disabled devices Daniel Lezcano
2020-06-30 13:43   ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-30 14:53     ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-06-30 15:29       ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-30 15:53         ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-06-30 16:56           ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-06-30 18:33             ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-01 10:23               ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-07-01 14:25                 ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-02 13:47                 ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-02 13:53                   ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-07-02 14:58                     ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-02 17:01                     ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-02 17:19                       ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-07-02 17:49                         ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-02 17:52                           ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-03  1:49                           ` Zhang Rui
2020-07-03  6:38                             ` Daniel Lezcano
2020-07-03 10:45                               ` Andrzej Pietrasiewicz
2020-07-03 11:05                                 ` Daniel Lezcano

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200629122925.21729-2-andrzej.p@collabora.com \
    --to=andrzej.p@collabora.com \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@verdurent.com \
    --cc=andy@infradead.org \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=baolin.wang7@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dvhart@infradead.org \
    --cc=emmanuel.grumbach@intel.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gayatri.kammela@intel.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=idosch@mellanox.com \
    --cc=info@metux.net \
    --cc=jiri@mellanox.com \
    --cc=johannes.berg@intel.com \
    --cc=kernel@collabora.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxwifi@intel.com \
    --cc=luciano.coelho@intel.com \
    --cc=miquel.raynal@bootlin.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=niklas.soderlund@ragnatech.se \
    --cc=orsonzhai@gmail.com \
    --cc=peter@piie.net \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rui.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=support.opensource@diasemi.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vishal@chelsio.com \
    --cc=zhang.lyra@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Renesas-SoC Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-renesas-soc/0 linux-renesas-soc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-renesas-soc linux-renesas-soc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-renesas-soc \
		linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-renesas-soc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-renesas-soc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git