Linux-Renesas-SoC Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
To: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: "Daniel Vetter" <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	"Sam Ravnborg" <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"Andrzej Hajda" <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Chris Wilson" <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>,
	"Ezequiel Garcia" <ezequiel@vanguardiasur.com.ar>,
	"Hans de Goede" <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	"Hoegeun Kwon" <hoegeun.kwon@samsung.com>,
	"Inki Dae" <inki.dae@samsung.com>,
	"Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	"Jonas Karlman" <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	"Joonas Lahtinen" <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Jyri Sarha" <jsarha@ti.com>,
	"Kieran Bingham" <kieran.bingham+renesas@ideasonboard.com>,
	"Konrad Dybcio" <konradybcio@gmail.com>,
	"Laurent Pinchart" <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	"Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	"Manasi Navare" <manasi.d.navare@intel.com>,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	"Patrik Jakobsson" <patrik.r.jakobsson@gmail.com>,
	"Paweł Chmiel" <pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com>,
	"Philippe CORNU" <philippe.cornu@st.com>,
	"Rob Clark" <robdclark@gmail.com>,
	"Robert Chiras" <robert.chiras@nxp.com>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	"Sebastian Reichel" <sebastian.reichel@collabora.com>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Tomi Valkeinen" <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>,
	"Ville Syrjälä" <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>,
	"Vinay Simha BN" <simhavcs@gmail.com>,
	"Wambui Karuga" <wambui.karugax@gmail.com>,
	"Zheng Bin" <zhengbin13@huawei.com>
Subject: [RFC PATCH v1 0/22] backlight: add init macros and accessors
Date: Sun,  2 Aug 2020 13:06:14 +0200
Message-ID: <20200802110636.1018743-1-sam@ravnborg.org> (raw)

The backlight drivers uses several different patterns when registering
a backlight:

- Register backlight and assign properties later
- Define a local backlight_properties variable and use memset
- Define a const backlight_properties and assign relevant properties

On top of this there was differences in what members was assigned in
backlight_properties.

To align how backlight drivers are initialized introduce following helper macros:
- DECLARE_BACKLIGHT_INIT_FIRMWARE()
- DECLARE_BACKLIGHT_INIT_PLATFORM()
- DECLARE_BACKLIGHT_INIT_RAW()

The macros are introduced in patch 2.

The backlight drivers used direct access to backlight_properties.
Encapsulate these in get/set access operations resulting in following benefits:
- The drivers no longer need to be concerned about the confusing power states,
  as there is now only a set_power_on() and set_power_off() operation.
- The access methods can be called with a NULL pointer so logic around the
  access can be made simpler.
- The code is in most cases more readable with the access operations.
- When everyone uses the access methods refactroring in the backlight core is simpler.

The get/set operations are introduced in patch 3.

The first patch trims backlight_update_status() so it can be called with a NULL
backlight_device. Then the called do not need to add this check just to avoid
a NULL reference.

The fourth patch introduce the new macros and get/set operations for the
gpio backlight driver, as an example.

The remaining patches updates most backlight users in drivers/gpu/drm/*
With this patch set applied then:
- Almost all references to FB_BLANK* are gone from drm/*
- All panel drivers uses devm_ variant for registering backlight
- Almost all direct references to backlight properties are gone

The drm/* patches are  used as examples how drivers can benefit from the
new macros and get/set operations.

Individual patches are only sent to the people listed in the patch + a few more.
Please check https://lore.kernel.org/dri-devel/ for the full series.

Feedback welcome!

	Sam

Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Cc: amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>
Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@vanguardiasur.com.ar>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Hoegeun Kwon <hoegeun.kwon@samsung.com>
Cc: Inki Dae <inki.dae@samsung.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>
Cc: Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>
Cc: Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jyri Sarha <jsarha@ti.com>
Cc: Kieran Bingham <kieran.bingham+renesas@ideasonboard.com>
Cc: Konrad Dybcio <konradybcio@gmail.com>
Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Manasi Navare <manasi.d.navare@intel.com>
Cc: Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>
Cc: Patrik Jakobsson <patrik.r.jakobsson@gmail.com>
Cc: Paweł Chmiel <pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com>
Cc: Philippe CORNU <philippe.cornu@st.com>
Cc: Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>
Cc: Robert Chiras <robert.chiras@nxp.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Sebastian Reichel <sebastian.reichel@collabora.com>
Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
Cc: "Ville Syrjälä" <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Vinay Simha BN <simhavcs@gmail.com>
Cc: Wambui Karuga <wambui.karugax@gmail.com>
Cc: Zheng Bin <zhengbin13@huawei.com>

Sam Ravnborg (22):
      backlight: Silently fail backlight_update_status() if no device
      backlight: Add DECLARE_* macro for device registration
      backlight: Add get/set operations for brightness/power properties
      backlight: gpio: Use DECLARE_BACKLIGHT_INIT_RAW and get/setters
      drm/gma500: Backlight support
      drm/panel: asus-z00t-tm5p5-n35596: Backlight update
      drm/panel: jdi-lt070me05000: Backlight update
      drm/panel: novatek-nt35510: Backlight update
      drm/panel: orisetech-otm8009a: Backlight update
      drm/panel: raydium-rm67191: Backlight update
      drm/panel: samsung-s6e63m0: Backlight update
      drm/panel: samsung-s6e63j0x03: Backlight update
      drm/panel: samsung-s6e3ha2: Backlight update
      drm/panel: sony-acx424akp: Backlight update
      drm/panel: sony-acx565akm: Backlight update
      drm/bridge: parade-ps8622: Backlight update
      drm/tilcdc: Backlight update
      drm/radeon: Backlight update
      drm/amdgpu/atom: Backlight update
      drm/i915: Backlight update
      drm/omap: display: Backlight update
      drm/shmobile: Backlight update

 drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu/atombios_encoders.c     |  15 ++-
 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/parade-ps8622.c             |  43 ++++----
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/backlight.c                 |  35 ++----
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/cdv_device.c                |  29 +++--
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/mdfld_device.c              |   9 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/oaktrail_device.c           |  10 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/opregion.c                  |   2 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/psb_device.c                |  10 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/psb_drv.c                   |   8 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_panel.c         |  88 +++++++--------
 drivers/gpu/drm/omapdrm/displays/panel-dsi-cm.c    |  35 ++----
 .../gpu/drm/panel/panel-asus-z00t-tm5p5-n35596.c   |  15 +--
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-jdi-lt070me05000.c     |  17 ++-
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-novatek-nt35510.c      |   9 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-orisetech-otm8009a.c   |  14 +--
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-raydium-rm67191.c      |  11 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-samsung-s6e3ha2.c      |  68 ++++++------
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-samsung-s6e63j0x03.c   |  56 +++++-----
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-samsung-s6e63m0.c      |  25 ++---
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-sony-acx424akp.c       |  49 ++-------
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-sony-acx565akm.c       |  44 +++-----
 drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/atombios_encoders.c         |  23 ++--
 drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_legacy_encoders.c    |  15 ++-
 drivers/gpu/drm/shmobile/shmob_drm_backlight.c     |  20 ++--
 drivers/gpu/drm/tilcdc/tilcdc_panel.c              |  11 +-
 drivers/video/backlight/gpio_backlight.c           |  17 ++-
 include/linux/backlight.h                          | 120 +++++++++++++++++++++
 27 files changed, 377 insertions(+), 421 deletions(-)



             reply index

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-02 11:06 Sam Ravnborg [this message]
2020-08-02 11:06 ` [PATCH v1 22/22] drm/shmobile: Backlight update Sam Ravnborg
2020-08-04 16:51 ` [RFC PATCH v1 0/22] backlight: add init macros and accessors daniel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200802110636.1018743-1-sam@ravnborg.org \
    --to=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=chris@chris-wilson.co.uk \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=ezequiel@vanguardiasur.com.ar \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=hoegeun.kwon@samsung.com \
    --cc=inki.dae@samsung.com \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jsarha@ti.com \
    --cc=kieran.bingham+renesas@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=konradybcio@gmail.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=manasi.d.navare@intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=patrik.r.jakobsson@gmail.com \
    --cc=pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com \
    --cc=philippe.cornu@st.com \
    --cc=robdclark@gmail.com \
    --cc=robert.chiras@nxp.com \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sebastian.reichel@collabora.com \
    --cc=simhavcs@gmail.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tomi.valkeinen@ti.com \
    --cc=ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=wambui.karugax@gmail.com \
    --cc=zhengbin13@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Renesas-SoC Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-renesas-soc/0 linux-renesas-soc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-renesas-soc linux-renesas-soc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-renesas-soc \
		linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-renesas-soc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-renesas-soc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git