linux-renesas-soc.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ideasonboard.com>
To: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart+renesas@ideasonboard.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	Laurentiu Palcu <laurentiu.palcu@oss.nxp.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	linux-imx@nxp.com, Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Jyri Sarha <jyri.sarha@iki.fi>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/7] drm: Extend COMPILE_TEST support to some ARM drivers
Date: Thu, 29 Jul 2021 09:19:31 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <3b44d00b-62b5-8b68-c3f1-62d7c456b231@ideasonboard.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210728153736.15240-1-laurent.pinchart+renesas@ideasonboard.com>

On 28/07/2021 18:37, Laurent Pinchart wrote:
> Hello,
> 
> This patch series stems from subsystem-wide changes I wanted to
> compile-test with an ARM64 cross-compiler. My laziness to fire a 32-bit
> ARM build probably resulted in more time being spent writing these
> patches, but hopefully they'll turn out to be useful for more people :-)
> 
> Patches 1/7 and 2/7 are fixes for compilation warnings on 64-bit
> platforms in the omapdrm and sti-drm drivers. They are a dependency for
> the Kconfig changes that follow to avoid introducing build warnings, but
> could also be merged before.
> 
> Patches 3/7 to 7/7 enable compilation of the imx-dcss, omapdrm, sti-drm,
> tegra-drm and tilcdc drivers on ARM64 with COMPILE_TEST. The patches are
> independent from each other, so they can be picked by their respective
> maintainers.
> 
> We could also extend test compilation to more architecture, but I didn't
> want to remove all dependencies on ARM or ARM64 at this point for fear
> or triggering build warnings that I wouldn't be able to catch locally.
> If there's a consensus that fully relaxing the platform requirement is
> better, I can submit a new version that does so and rely on the 0day bot
> to catch issues.

I would allow compilation for any architecture if COMPILE_TEST is 
enabled. I think git grep shows that is how COMPILE_TEST is usually used.

  Tomi

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-29  6:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-28 15:37 Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 1/7] drm/omap: Cast pointer to integer safely Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-29  6:13   ` Tomi Valkeinen
2021-07-31  0:25     ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 2/7] drm/sti: Use correct printk format specifiers for size_t Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-30  9:35   ` Philippe CORNU
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 3/7] drm/imx/dcss: Enable COMPILE_TEST on all ARM64 platforms Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-30 12:10   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2021-07-30 12:31     ` Philipp Zabel
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 4/7] drm/omap: Enable COMPILE_TEST on all ARM and " Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 5/7] drm/sti: " Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-30  9:39   ` Philippe CORNU
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 6/7] drm/tegra: Enable COMPILE_TEST on all " Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-28 15:37 ` [PATCH 7/7] drm/tilcdc: " Laurent Pinchart
2021-07-29  6:19 ` Tomi Valkeinen [this message]
     [not found] ` <YQLdDTu4duXXQXAs@ravnborg.org>
2021-07-30 19:33   ` [PATCH 0/7] drm: Extend COMPILE_TEST support to some ARM drivers Laurent Pinchart

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=3b44d00b-62b5-8b68-c3f1-62d7c456b231@ideasonboard.com \
    --to=tomi.valkeinen@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jyri.sarha@iki.fi \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart+renesas@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=laurentiu.palcu@oss.nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/7] drm: Extend COMPILE_TEST support to some ARM drivers' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).