Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu>
To: Alexei Starovoitov <alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com>,
	Quentin Monnet <quentin@isovalent.com>
Cc: "Ian Rogers" <irogers@google.com>,
	"Song Liu" <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Zi Shen Lim" <zlim.lnx@gmail.com>,
	"Paul Walmsley" <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	"Alexei Starovoitov" <ast@kernel.org>,
	"Andrii Nakryiko" <andrii@kernel.org>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"Sandipan Das" <sandipan@linux.ibm.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	"Shubham Bansal" <illusionist.neo@gmail.com>,
	"Mahesh Bandewar" <maheshb@google.com>,
	"Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	"Nicolas Dichtel" <nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com>,
	linux-s390 <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Ilya Leoshkevich" <iii@linux.ibm.com>,
	paulburton@kernel.org, "Jonathan Corbet" <corbet@lwn.net>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	"Masahiro Yamada" <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	"X86 ML" <x86@kernel.org>,
	"John Fastabend" <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	linux-riscv <linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Christian Borntraeger" <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Naveen N . Rao" <naveen.n.rao@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Tobias Klauser" <tklauser@distanz.ch>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, grantseltzer@gmail.com,
	"Xi Wang" <xi.wang@gmail.com>,
	"Albert Ou" <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Vasily Gorbik" <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Luke Nelson" <luke.r.nels@gmail.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Heiko Carstens" <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	ppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	"KP Singh" <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	iecedge@gmail.com, "Simon Horman" <horms@verge.net.au>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	"Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Yonghong Song" <yhs@fb.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Dmitry Vyukov" <dvyukov@google.com>,
	tsbogend@alpha.franken.de,
	"Daniel Borkmann" <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	"Hideaki YOSHIFUJI" <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>,
	"Network Development" <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	"David Ahern" <dsahern@kernel.org>,
	"Wang YanQing" <udknight@gmail.com>,
	"Martin KaFai Lau" <kafai@fb.com>,
	"Björn Töpel" <bjorn@kernel.org>,
	"Palmer Dabbelt" <palmer@dabbelt.com>, bpf <bpf@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Jianlin Lv" <Jianlin.Lv@arm.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH bpf-next 1/2] bpf: Remove bpf_jit_enable=2 debugging mode
Date: Sat, 17 Apr 2021 10:16:22 +0200
Message-ID: <0dea05ba-9467-0d84-4515-b8766f60318e@csgroup.eu> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAADnVQJ2oHbYfgY9jqM_JMxUsoZxaNrxKSVFYfgCXuHVpDehpQ@mail.gmail.com>



Le 16/04/2021 à 01:49, Alexei Starovoitov a écrit :
> On Thu, Apr 15, 2021 at 8:41 AM Quentin Monnet <quentin@isovalent.com> wrote:
>>
>> 2021-04-15 16:37 UTC+0200 ~ Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
>>> On 4/15/21 11:32 AM, Jianlin Lv wrote:
>>>> For debugging JITs, dumping the JITed image to kernel log is discouraged,
>>>> "bpftool prog dump jited" is much better way to examine JITed dumps.
>>>> This patch get rid of the code related to bpf_jit_enable=2 mode and
>>>> update the proc handler of bpf_jit_enable, also added auxiliary
>>>> information to explain how to use bpf_jit_disasm tool after this change.
>>>>
>>>> Signed-off-by: Jianlin Lv <Jianlin.Lv@arm.com>
>>
>> Hello,
>>
>> For what it's worth, I have already seen people dump the JIT image in
>> kernel logs in Qemu VMs running with just a busybox, not for kernel
>> development, but in a context where buiding/using bpftool was not
>> possible.
> 
> If building/using bpftool is not possible then majority of selftests won't
> be exercised. I don't think such environment is suitable for any kind
> of bpf development. Much so for JIT debugging.
> While bpf_jit_enable=2 is nothing but the debugging tool for JIT developers.
> I'd rather nuke that code instead of carrying it from kernel to kernel.
> 

When I implemented JIT for PPC32, it was extremely helpfull.

As far as I understand, for the time being bpftool is not usable in my environment because it 
doesn't support cross compilation when the target's endianess differs from the building host 
endianess, see discussion at 
https://lore.kernel.org/bpf/21e66a09-514f-f426-b9e2-13baab0b938b@csgroup.eu/

That's right that selftests can't be exercised because they don't build.

The question might be candid as I didn't investigate much about the replacement of "bpf_jit_enable=2 
debugging mode" by bpftool, how do we use bpftool exactly for that ? Especially when using the BPF 
test module ?


_______________________________________________
linux-riscv mailing list
linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-riscv

  reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-15  9:32 Jianlin Lv
2021-04-15  9:32 ` [PATCH bpf-next 2/2] docs: bpf: bpf_jit_enable mode changed Jianlin Lv
2021-04-15 14:37 ` [PATCH bpf-next 1/2] bpf: Remove bpf_jit_enable=2 debugging mode Daniel Borkmann
2021-04-15 15:41   ` Quentin Monnet
2021-04-15 23:49     ` Alexei Starovoitov
2021-04-17  8:16       ` Christophe Leroy [this message]
2021-04-20  3:28         ` Alexei Starovoitov
2021-04-21 13:10           ` Christophe Leroy
2021-04-21 15:27             ` Quentin Monnet
2021-04-21 16:29             ` John Fastabend
2021-04-23  7:19           ` Christophe Leroy
2021-04-23 10:26             ` Quentin Monnet
2021-04-23 10:46               ` Christophe Leroy
2021-04-23 10:59                 ` Quentin Monnet
2021-04-23 11:29                   ` Christophe Leroy
2021-05-14  6:34               ` Christophe Leroy
2021-04-16 13:38   ` Jianlin Lv

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=0dea05ba-9467-0d84-4515-b8766f60318e@csgroup.eu \
    --to=christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu \
    --cc=Jianlin.Lv@arm.com \
    --cc=alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn@kernel.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dsahern@kernel.org \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=grantseltzer@gmail.com \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=horms@verge.net.au \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=iecedge@gmail.com \
    --cc=iii@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=illusionist.neo@gmail.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luke.r.nels@gmail.com \
    --cc=maheshb@google.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=naveen.n.rao@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=paulburton@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=quentin@isovalent.com \
    --cc=sandipan@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tklauser@distanz.ch \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=udknight@gmail.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=xi.wang@gmail.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org \
    --cc=zlim.lnx@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv/0 linux-riscv/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-riscv linux-riscv/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv \
		linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-riscv

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-riscv


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git