Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
To: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Bhupesh Sharma <bhsharma@redhat.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Anthony Yznaga <anthony.yznaga@oracle.com>,
	Tobias Klauser <tklauser@distanz.ch>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@oracle.com>,
	linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Miles Chen <miles.chen@mediatek.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 0/7] mm: PG_reserved cleanups and documentation
Date: Wed, 5 Dec 2018 13:56:07 +0100
Message-ID: <20181205125607.GM1286@dhcp22.suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20181205122851.5891-1-david@redhat.com>

On Wed 05-12-18 13:28:44, David Hildenbrand wrote:
[...]
> Most notably, for device memory we can hopefully soon stop setting
> it PG_reserved

I am busy as hell so I am not likely to look at specific patche this
week. But could you be more specific why we need to get rid of other
PG_reserved users before we can do so for device memory?

I am all for removing relicts because they just confuse people but I
fail to see any relation here.

-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

_______________________________________________
linux-riscv mailing list
linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-riscv

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-12-05 12:28 David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 1/7] agp: efficeon: no need to set PG_reserved on GATT tables David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 2/7] s390/vdso: don't clear PG_reserved David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 3/7] powerpc/vdso: " David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 4/7] riscv/vdso: " David Hildenbrand
2018-12-07 18:45   ` Palmer Dabbelt
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 5/7] m68k/mm: use __ClearPageReserved() David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 6/7] arm64: kexec: no need to ClearPageReserved() David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 14:00   ` James Morse
2018-12-05 12:28 ` [PATCH RFC 7/7] mm: better document PG_reserved David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:59   ` Michal Hocko
2018-12-05 14:35   ` Matthew Wilcox
2018-12-05 15:05     ` David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 17:32       ` Matthew Wilcox
2018-12-05 18:13         ` David Hildenbrand
2018-12-06 10:46           ` David Hildenbrand
2018-12-05 12:56 ` Michal Hocko [this message]
2018-12-05 13:04   ` [PATCH RFC 0/7] mm: PG_reserved cleanups and documentation David Hildenbrand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20181205125607.GM1286@dhcp22.suse.cz \
    --to=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=anthony.yznaga@oracle.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bhsharma@redhat.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.kleikamp@oracle.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jrdr.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=miles.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=palmer@sifive.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@oracle.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=sfr@canb.auug.org.au \
    --cc=tklauser@distanz.ch \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv/0 linux-riscv/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-riscv linux-riscv/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv \
		linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org infradead-linux-riscv@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-riscv


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-riscv


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox