Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
To: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>,
	Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>,
	uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp,
	Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>,
	linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-um@lists.infradead.org,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Aurelien Jacquiot <jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com>,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org,
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>,
	Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org,
	Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	x86@kernel.org, Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	openrisc@lists.librecores.org,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>,
	nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/50] Add log level to show_stack()
Date: Wed, 13 Nov 2019 09:47:22 +0100
Message-ID: <20191113084722.emzee7g34zki4kkl@pathway.suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191113063334.GA147997@google.com>

On Wed 2019-11-13 15:33:34, Sergey Senozhatsky wrote:
> On (19/11/13 02:25), Dmitry Safonov wrote:
> > I guess I've pointed that in my point of view price for one-time testing
> > code is cheaper than adding a new printk feature to swap log levels on
> > the fly.
> [..]
> > I've gone through functions used by sysrq driver and the same changes
> > introducing log level parameter would be needed for: sched_show_task(),
> > debug_show_all_locks(), show_regs(), show_state(), show_mem(). Some of
> > them don't need any platform changes, but at least show_regs() needs.
> 
> Good points and nice conclusion.
> 
> Well, here we go. There is a number of generally useful functions that
> print nice data and where people might want to have better loglevel control
> (for debugging purposes). show_stack() is just one of them.

Could you please provide some examples so that we get an idea about
the scope, usefulness, and requirements?

> Patching all
> those functions, which you have mentioned above, is hardly a fun task to do.
> Hence the printk() per-CPU per-context loglevel proposition. The code there
> is not clever or complicated and is meant for debugging purposes only, but
> with just 3 lines of code one can do some stuff:
> 
> 	/* @BTW you can't do this with "%s" KERN_FOO ;P */
> +	printk_emergency_enter(LOGLEVEL_SCHED);
> +	debug_show_all_locks();
> +	printk_emergency_exit();

But this will not solve situations where the original loglevel should
stay from any reason. It happened in this patchset, see

https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191106091258.GS25745@shell.armlinux.org.uk
https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191106132516.GC5808@willie-the-truck

We would need to investigate more potential users of this feature to
see eventual requirements. If there are too many exceptions and modes
then the generic API might get pretty complicated.

At the moment, I am in favor of this patchset. It is huge and
needed a lot of manual work. But the result is straightforward and
easy to understand.

Best Regards,
Petr

_______________________________________________
linux-riscv mailing list
linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-riscv

  reply index

Thread overview: 41+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-06  3:04 Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-06  3:04 ` [PATCH 01/50] kallsyms/printk: Add loglvl to print_ip_sym() Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-06  4:38   ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-06 16:39     ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-13 15:49   ` Steven Rostedt
2019-11-06  3:05 ` [PATCH 27/50] riscv: Add show_stack_loglvl() Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-06  8:35 ` [PATCH 00/50] Add log level to show_stack() Petr Mladek
2019-11-06 16:12   ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-08 10:37   ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-08 13:04     ` Petr Mladek
2019-11-11  1:23       ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-11  9:12         ` Petr Mladek
2019-11-12  4:44           ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-12  4:57             ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-12  8:35               ` Petr Mladek
2019-11-12 10:12                 ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-13  1:23                   ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-13  2:25                     ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-13  6:33                       ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-13  8:47                         ` Petr Mladek [this message]
2019-11-13 16:24                           ` Steven Rostedt
2019-11-13 16:40                         ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-15  0:50                           ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-13 15:32             ` Steven Rostedt
2019-11-11 19:47         ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-12  2:17           ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-12  2:40             ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-12  4:25               ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-13  2:41                 ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-13  2:51                   ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-13 15:39             ` Steven Rostedt
2019-11-15  3:36               ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-11-06  9:20 ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-11-06 16:27   ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-06 20:34     ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-11-06 23:25       ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2019-11-13 15:44         ` Steven Rostedt
2019-11-08 16:28       ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-08 17:30         ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2019-11-08 21:08           ` Dmitry Safonov
2019-11-13 15:41       ` Steven Rostedt

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191113084722.emzee7g34zki4kkl@pathway.suse.cz \
    --to=pmladek@suse.com \
    --cc=0x7f454c46@gmail.com \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=bcain@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chris@zankel.net \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=dima@arista.com \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru \
    --cc=jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com \
    --cc=jason.wessel@windriver.com \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jdike@addtoit.com \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=len.brown@intel.com \
    --cc=lftan@altera.com \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org \
    --cc=linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mattst88@gmail.com \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=msalter@redhat.com \
    --cc=nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=paulburton@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rth@twiddle.net \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv/0 linux-riscv/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-riscv linux-riscv/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv \
		linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-riscv

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-riscv


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git