Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
To: Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>
Cc: tmaimon77@gmail.com, "Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	nsekhar@ti.com, guoren@kernel.org,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com,
	"Heiko Stübner" <heiko@sntech.de>,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	"open list:ARM/Rockchip SoC..."
	<linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Kevin Hilman" <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	ludovic.desroches@microchip.com, linux-imx@nxp.com,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp,
	"Marc Zyngier" <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	linux-unisoc@lists.infradead.org,
	"Krzysztof Hałasa" <khalasa@piap.pl>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	sbranden@broadcom.com, lkml <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Ralf Baechle" <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	"Paul Burton" <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	kernel@pengutronix.de, "Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	jhogan@kernel.org, palmer@sifive.com, eric@anholt.net,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Manivannan Sadhasivam" <manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org>,
	"Yoshinori Sato" <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	zhang.lyra@gmail.com,
	"Daniel Lezcano" <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	"Jon Hunter" <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	bgolaszewski@baylibre.com, "Kukjin Kim" <kgene@kernel.org>,
	alexandre.torgue@st.com, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	"Sudeep Holla" <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	linux-rpi-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	baohua@kernel.org, kaloz@openwrt.org,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	patrice.chotard@st.com, wahrenst@gmx.net,
	mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org, "Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"Lorenzo Pieralisi" <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	benjaminfair@google.com, shc_work@mail.ru,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzk@kernel.org>,
	yuenn@google.com, "Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com, orsonzhai@gmail.com,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org, rjui@broadcom.com,
	vz@mleia.com, john@phrozen.org, tali.perry1@gmail.com,
	avifishman70@gmail.com, venture@google.com, lftan@altera.com,
	linux-oxnas@groups.io, "Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	afaerber@suse.de, "Baruch Siach" <baruch@tkos.co.il>,
	maxime.ripard@bootlin.com, "Liviu Dudau" <liviu.dudau@arm.com>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	openbmc@lists.ozlabs.org,
	"Russell King - ARM Linux" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Andy Gross" <agross@kernel.org>,
	slemieux.tyco@gmail.com,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS"
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	aou@eecs.berkeley.edu, "Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org,
	"Santosh Shilimkar" <ssantosh@kernel.org>,
	"Matthias Brugger" <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	"Michal Simek" <monstr@monstr.eu>,
	"Baolin Wang" <baolin.wang@linaro.org>,
	vgupta@synopsys.com, nicolas.ferre@microchip.com,
	linux@prisktech.co.nz, nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/7] add support for clocksource/clockevent DT selection
Date: Tue, 10 Sep 2019 09:05:30 -0700
Message-ID: <CALAqxLWLStTqGx5DAvUKOYupdgK-doOxRF5Z_Us=L5vnFaa=7w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1568123236-767-1-git-send-email-claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>

On Tue, Sep 10, 2019 at 6:47 AM Claudiu Beznea
<claudiu.beznea@microchip.com> wrote:
>
> This series adds support to permit the selection of clocksource/clockevent
> via DT.

Sorry about this, but could you try to include more of a rational for
*why* this would be useful in your cover-letter/commit messages?

I'm not sure I understand the limitation that requires such an option
to be added to the dts.

thanks
-john

_______________________________________________
linux-riscv mailing list
linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-riscv

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 35+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-10 13:47 Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 1/7] clocksource/drivers/c-sky: request timer_of_init only for probing CPU Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 2/7] clocksource: change timer registration macros Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 14:49   ` Marc Zyngier
2019-09-10 14:57     ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 3/7] clocksource/timer_of: use BIT() macro Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 4/7] dt-bindings: chosen: Add clocksource and clockevent selection Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 14:32   ` Sudeep Holla
2019-09-10 14:51     ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-09-10 15:08       ` Sudeep Holla
2019-09-10 15:10         ` Alexandre Belloni
2019-09-11  0:03           ` Linus Walleij
2019-09-11  7:18             ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-09-12 14:18               ` Linus Walleij
2019-09-30 14:32               ` Rob Herring
2019-10-02 13:32                 ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-09-11  7:34   ` Neil Armstrong
2019-09-11  9:14     ` Alexandre Belloni
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 5/7] clocksource/drivers/timer-of: add support support for timer's functionalities Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 6/7] drivers/clocksource/timer-of: keep declaration on one line Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 13:47 ` [PATCH 7/7] clocksource/drivers/integrator-ap: parse the chosen node Claudiu Beznea
2019-09-10 23:48   ` Linus Walleij
2019-09-11  7:14     ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-09-10 16:05 ` John Stultz [this message]
2019-09-11  6:52   ` [PATCH 0/7] add support for clocksource/clockevent DT selection Claudiu.Beznea
2019-09-11 16:06     ` John Stultz
2019-09-25 17:19 ` Daniel Lezcano
2019-09-26  8:42   ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-10-02 13:35     ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-10-03 10:43       ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-10-13 18:16         ` Daniel Lezcano
2019-10-15  9:23           ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-10-18 20:24             ` Daniel Lezcano
2019-10-21  8:58               ` Claudiu.Beznea
2019-10-21 14:17                 ` Daniel Lezcano

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CALAqxLWLStTqGx5DAvUKOYupdgK-doOxRF5Z_Us=L5vnFaa=7w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=afaerber@suse.de \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=avifishman70@gmail.com \
    --cc=baohua@kernel.org \
    --cc=baolin.wang@linaro.org \
    --cc=baruch@tkos.co.il \
    --cc=bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com \
    --cc=benjaminfair@google.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=eric@anholt.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kaloz@openwrt.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khalasa@piap.pl \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=lftan@altera.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-oxnas@groups.io \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-rpi-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-unisoc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux@prisktech.co.nz \
    --cc=liviu.dudau@arm.com \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=ludovic.desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@bootlin.com \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org \
    --cc=nsekhar@ti.com \
    --cc=openbmc@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=orsonzhai@gmail.com \
    --cc=palmer@sifive.com \
    --cc=patrice.chotard@st.com \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rjui@broadcom.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sbranden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=shc_work@mail.ru \
    --cc=slemieux.tyco@gmail.com \
    --cc=ssantosh@kernel.org \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=tali.perry1@gmail.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tmaimon77@gmail.com \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=venture@google.com \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=vz@mleia.com \
    --cc=wahrenst@gmx.net \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=yuenn@google.com \
    --cc=zhang.lyra@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-RISC-V Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv/0 linux-riscv/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-riscv linux-riscv/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-riscv \
		linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-riscv

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-riscv


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git