Linux-RTC Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andreas Kemnade <andreas@kemnade.info>
To: "Jonathan Neuschäfer" <j.neuschaefer@gmx.net>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, "Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Alessandro Zummo" <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"NXP Linux Team" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Sam Ravnborg" <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Heiko Stuebner" <heiko.stuebner@theobroma-systems.com>,
	"Stephan Gerhold" <stephan@gerhold.net>,
	"Lubomir Rintel" <lkundrak@v3.sk>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>, allen <allen.chen@ite.com.tw>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	"Heiko Stuebner" <heiko@sntech.de>,
	"Josua Mayer" <josua.mayer@jm0.eu>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 00/10] Netronix embedded controller driver for Kobo and Tolino ebook readers
Date: Tue, 30 Jun 2020 21:22:07 +0200
Message-ID: <20200630212207.018ad355@aktux> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200630071523.GA2983@latitude>

On Tue, 30 Jun 2020 09:15:23 +0200
Jonathan Neuschäfer <j.neuschaefer@gmx.net> wrote:

> On Tue, Jun 30, 2020 at 08:40:51AM +0200, Andreas Kemnade wrote:
> [...]
> > got a chance to test it on a Tolino Shine 2 HD.
> > It uses the RTC from the RC5T619 but backlight seems to go via MSP430
> > EC.
> > 
> > I got this.
> > 
> > [    1.453603] ntxec 0-0043: Netronix embedded controller version f110 detected.
> > [   10.723638] ntxec-rtc 21a0000.i2c:embedded-controller@43:rtc: registered as rtc0
> > [   10.775276] ntxec-pwm: probe of 21a0000.i2c:embedded-controller@43:pwm failed with error -5  
> 
> Hmm, -EIO from the PWM driver.
>
Weird...
IOMUXC_SW_PAD_CTL_PAD_I2C1_SDA/SCL is identical between
vendor kernel (heavily patched 3.0.35) and patched mainline.
                        
MX6SL_PAD_I2C1_SCL__I2C1_SCL     0x4001f8b1
MX6SL_PAD_I2C1_SDA__I2C1_SDA     0x4001f8b1

root@tolino2:~# i2cset -f 0 0x43 0xa3 0x0001 w
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will write to device file /dev/i2c-0, chip address 0x43, data address
0xa3, data 0x01, mode word.
Continue? [Y/n] 
Error: Write failed
root@tolino2:~# i2cset -f 0 0x43 0xa3 0x0000 w
WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
I will write to device file /dev/i2c-0, chip address 0x43, data address
0xa3, data 0x00, mode word.
Continue? [Y/n] 
Error: Write failed

but backlight gets toggled. Same behavior on vendor kernel and
in vendor uboot.
That smells.

Regards,
Andreas

  reply index

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-20 22:39 Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-06-20 22:39 ` [RFC PATCH 01/10] DT bindings in plain text format Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-06-22 10:32   ` Lee Jones
2020-06-27  0:07     ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-06-30  6:40 ` [RFC PATCH 00/10] Netronix embedded controller driver for Kobo and Tolino ebook readers Andreas Kemnade
2020-06-30  7:15   ` Jonathan Neuschäfer
2020-06-30 19:22     ` Andreas Kemnade [this message]
2020-06-30 20:14     ` Andreas Kemnade

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200630212207.018ad355@aktux \
    --to=andreas@kemnade.info \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=allen.chen@ite.com.tw \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=heiko.stuebner@theobroma-systems.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=j.neuschaefer@gmx.net \
    --cc=josua.mayer@jm0.eu \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lkundrak@v3.sk \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=stephan@gerhold.net \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-RTC Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-rtc/0 linux-rtc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-rtc linux-rtc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-rtc \
		linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-rtc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-rtc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git