Linux-Samsung-soc Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Krzysztof Wilczyński" <kw@linux.com>
To: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>, Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Yue Wang <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Hou Zhiqiang <Zhiqiang.Hou@nxp.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Toan Le <toan@os.amperecomputing.com>,
	Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>,
	Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@rock-chips.com>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org, linux-arm-kernel@axis.com,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	rfi@lists.rocketboards.org
Subject: [PATCH 00/10] Remove surplus dev_err() when handing an error from platform_get_irq()
Date: Sun,  2 Aug 2020 14:25:52 +0000
Message-ID: <20200802142601.1635926-1-kw@linux.com> (raw)

At the moment a lot of error handling code would print a duplicated
error message should either the platform_get_irq() or
platform_get_irq_byname() function fails to obtain an IRQ for a device.

There is no need to call the dev_err() function directly to print
a custom message when handling an error from either of these functions
as both are going to display an appropriate error message in case of
a failure.

This series aims to remove surplus call to dev_err() when handing an
error originating from either platform_get_irq() or
platform_get_irq_byname() function as per suggestion from Coccinelle.

Related commits are commit 7723f4c5ecdb ("driver core: platform: Add an
error message to platform_get_irq*()") and commit 98051ba2b28b
("coccinelle: Add script to check for platform_get_irq() excessive
prints").

Krzysztof Wilczyński (10):
  PCI: dwc: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: mobiveil: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: tegra: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: altera: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: host-generic: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: v3-semi: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: altera-msi: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: xgene-msi: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: rockchip: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()
  PCI: xilinx-nwl: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from
    platform_get_irq()

 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-dra7xx.c              |  8 ++------
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-exynos.c              |  9 +++------
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c                |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-keystone.c            |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-meson.c               |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-armada8k.c           |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-artpec6.c            |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-histb.c              |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-kirin.c              |  5 +----
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-spear13xx.c          |  5 ++---
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c           |  4 +---
 .../pci/controller/mobiveil/pcie-layerscape-gen4.c   |  5 ++---
 drivers/pci/controller/mobiveil/pcie-mobiveil-host.c |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/pci-tegra.c                   |  8 ++------
 drivers/pci/controller/pci-v3-semi.c                 |  5 ++---
 drivers/pci/controller/pci-xgene-msi.c               |  2 --
 drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera-msi.c             |  1 -
 drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c                 |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/pcie-rockchip-host.c          | 12 +++---------
 drivers/pci/controller/pcie-tango.c                  |  4 +---
 drivers/pci/controller/pcie-xilinx-nwl.c             | 11 ++---------
 21 files changed, 29 insertions(+), 82 deletions(-)

-- 
2.27.0


             reply index

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-02 14:25 Krzysztof Wilczyński [this message]
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 01/10] PCI: dwc: Remove " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03  7:16   ` Jesper Nilsson
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 02/10] PCI: mobiveil: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 03/10] PCI: tegra: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 04/10] PCI: altera: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03  6:19   ` Tan, Ley Foon
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 05/10] PCI: host-generic: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 06/10] PCI: v3-semi: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:25 ` [PATCH 07/10] PCI: altera-msi: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:26 ` [PATCH 08/10] PCI: xgene-msi: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-02 14:26 ` [PATCH 09/10] PCI: rockchip: " Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03  2:01 ` [PATCH 00/10] Remove surplus " Bjorn Helgaas
2020-08-03 11:10   ` Krzysztof Wilczyński
2020-08-03 14:55   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-08-03  7:10 ` [PATCH 10/10] PCI: xilinx-nwl: Remove " Krzysztof Wilczyński

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200802142601.1635926-1-kw@linux.com \
    --to=kw@linux.com \
    --cc=Zhiqiang.Hou@nxp.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=ley.foon.tan@intel.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=rfi@lists.rocketboards.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawn.lin@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=toan@os.amperecomputing.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Samsung-soc Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-samsung-soc/0 linux-samsung-soc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-samsung-soc linux-samsung-soc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-samsung-soc \
		linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-samsung-soc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-samsung-soc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git