linux-samsung-soc.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>
To: Sam Protsenko <semen.protsenko@linaro.org>,
	Chanwoo Choi <cwchoi00@gmail.com>,
	Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com>
Cc: "Paweł Chmiel" <pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com>,
	"Chanwoo Choi" <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	"Tomasz Figa" <tomasz.figa@gmail.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	"Michael Turquette" <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	"Ryu Euiyoul" <ryu.real@samsung.com>,
	"Tom Gall" <tom.gall@linaro.org>,
	"Sumit Semwal" <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>,
	"John Stultz" <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	"Amit Pundir" <amit.pundir@linaro.org>,
	devicetree <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm Mailing List" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux Samsung SOC" <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] dt-bindings: clock: Add bindings definitions for Exynos850 CMU
Date: Wed, 6 Oct 2021 12:49:24 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <77d976c3-a0b4-294f-d49a-8fd46b112a28@canonical.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPLW+4mEeh8Fo8kGHx+rB7nX7bDfaQRPGDotgPLTp4pm4rC0Cg@mail.gmail.com>

On 05/10/2021 12:28, Sam Protsenko wrote:
> On Wed, 15 Sept 2021 at 19:37, Chanwoo Choi <cwchoi00@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>> You don't add clock ids for the all defined clocks in clk-exynos850.c.
>> I recommend that add all clock ids for the defined clocks if possible.
>>
>> If you want to change the parent clock of mux or change the clock rate
>> of div rate for some clocks, you have to touch the files as following:
>> - include/dt-bindings/clock/exynos850.h
>> - drivers/clk/samsung/clk-exynos850.c
>> - exynos850 dt files
>>
>> If you define the clock ids for all clocks added to this patchset,
>> you can change the parent or rate by just editing the dt files.
>>
> 
> Hi Chanwoo,
> 
> I see your point. But I have intentionally omitted some clock ids,
> which can't be / shouldn't be used by consumers in device tree.
> Actually I took that idea from clk-exynos7.c.
> 
> Krzysztof, Sylwester: can you please advice if all clock ids should be
> defined, or only those that are going to be used in dts clk consumers?
> I don't mind reworking the patch, just want to be sure which design
> approach we want to follow.
> 

I would advise to define all clock IDs, unless the clock really, really
should not be used. Why do you think several clocks should not be used?
Have in mind it is not only about consumers but also clock reparenting
and assigning rates.


Best regards,
Krzysztof

  reply	other threads:[~2021-10-06 10:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 38+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-14 15:56 [PATCH 0/6] clk: samsung: Introduce Exynos850 SoC clock driver Sam Protsenko
2021-09-14 15:56 ` [PATCH 1/6] clk: samsung: Enable bus clock on init Sam Protsenko
2021-09-15  8:21   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-10-06 10:46     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-10-06 12:38       ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-10-06 13:29         ` Sam Protsenko
2021-10-08  6:50           ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-09-15 12:51   ` Sylwester Nawrocki
2021-10-06 11:18     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-10-06 12:45       ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-10-09 18:49       ` Sylwester Nawrocki
2021-09-14 15:56 ` [PATCH 2/6] clk: samsung: clk-pll: Implement pll0822x PLL type Sam Protsenko
2021-09-15  8:24   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-09-15 15:59   ` Chanwoo Choi
2021-09-14 15:56 ` [PATCH 3/6] clk: samsung: clk-pll: Implement pll0831x " Sam Protsenko
2021-09-15  8:26   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-09-15 16:11   ` Chanwoo Choi
2021-09-14 15:56 ` [PATCH 4/6] dt-bindings: clock: Add bindings definitions for Exynos850 CMU Sam Protsenko
2021-09-15  8:27   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-09-15 16:37   ` Chanwoo Choi
2021-10-05 10:28     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-10-06 10:49       ` Krzysztof Kozlowski [this message]
2021-10-06 13:31         ` Sam Protsenko
2021-09-21 21:10   ` Rob Herring
2021-09-14 15:56 ` [PATCH 5/6] dt-bindings: clock: Document Exynos850 CMU bindings Sam Protsenko
2021-09-14 21:35   ` Rob Herring
2021-09-15  8:28   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-10-05 11:48     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-09-15 16:47   ` Chanwoo Choi
2021-09-14 15:56 ` [PATCH 6/6] clk: samsung: Introduce Exynos850 clock driver Sam Protsenko
2021-09-15  8:59   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-10-05 11:29     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-10-06 12:50       ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-09-15 13:07   ` Sylwester Nawrocki
2021-10-05 11:36     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-10-06 12:46       ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-09-15 18:04   ` Chanwoo Choi
2021-09-15 22:00     ` Sam Protsenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=77d976c3-a0b4-294f-d49a-8fd46b112a28@canonical.com \
    --to=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=amit.pundir@linaro.org \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=cwchoi00@gmail.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=ryu.real@samsung.com \
    --cc=s.nawrocki@samsung.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=semen.protsenko@linaro.org \
    --cc=sumit.semwal@linaro.org \
    --cc=tom.gall@linaro.org \
    --cc=tomasz.figa@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/6] dt-bindings: clock: Add bindings definitions for Exynos850 CMU' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).