linux-samsung-soc.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: "Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Linus W" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS"
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Steev Klimaszewski" <steev@kali.org>,
	"Thomas Zimmermann" <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	"Al Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Alexandre Torgue" <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	"Andreas Kemnade" <andreas@kemnade.info>,
	"Andrey Zhizhikin" <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com>,
	"Anson Huang" <Anson.Huang@nxp.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	"Claudiu Beznea" <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	"Codrin Ciubotariu" <codrin.ciubotariu@microchip.com>,
	"Corentin Labbe" <clabbe@baylibre.com>,
	"Daniel Thompson" <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	"Dmitry Baryshkov" <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>,
	"Dmitry Osipenko" <digetx@gmail.com>,
	"Emil Velikov" <emil.velikov@collabora.com>,
	"Enric Balletbo i Serra" <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>,
	"Eugen Hristev" <eugen.hristev@microchip.com>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"Fabrice Gasnier" <fabrice.gasnier@st.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Grygorii Strashko" <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	"Guido Günther" <agx@sigxcpu.org>,
	"Jagan Teki" <jagan@amarulasolutions.com>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	"Joel Stanley" <joel@jms.id.au>,
	"Jonathan Hunter" <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzk@kernel.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>,
	"Lionel Debieve" <lionel.debieve@st.com>,
	"Liviu Dudau" <liviu.dudau@arm.com>,
	"Lorenzo Pieralisi" <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	"Ludovic Desroches" <ludovic.desroches@microchip.com>,
	"Magnus Damm" <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	"Manivannan Sadhasivam" <mani@kernel.org>,
	"Marek Szyprowski" <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	"Martin Jücker" <martin.juecker@gmail.com>,
	"Michael Walle" <michael@walle.cc>,
	"NXP Linux Team" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Nicolas Ferre" <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	"Nishanth Menon" <nm@ti.com>,
	"Olivier Moysan" <olivier.moysan@st.com>,
	"Olof Johansson" <olof@lixom.net>,
	"Otavio Salvador" <otavio@ossystems.com.br>,
	"Paul Cercueil" <paul@crapouillou.net>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Razvan Stefanescu" <razvan.stefanescu@microchip.com>,
	"Robert Richter" <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Stefan Wahren" <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>,
	"Sudeep Holla" <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	"Thomas Bogendoerfer" <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	"Tony Lindgren" <tony@atomide.com>,
	"Tudor Ambarus" <tudor.ambarus@microchip.com>,
	"Vinod Koul" <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	"Viresh Kumar" <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	"Vladimir Zapolskiy" <vz@mleia.com>,
	"Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	"Linux ARM" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-mips <linux-mips@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-omap <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-samsung-soc <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev,
	"open list:TEGRA ARCHITECTURE SUPPORT"
	<linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Łukasz Stelmach" <l.stelmach@samsung.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 00/16] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding
Date: Wed, 8 Sep 2021 17:24:28 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAD=FV=U+dnyuGc9OuvMJpYWVx1x6yYQPJgi6fh+6Ne37+veedw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YTUSiHiCgihz1AcO@ravnborg.org>

Hi,

On Sun, Sep 5, 2021 at 11:55 AM Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> wrote:
>
> Hi Douglas,
>
> On Wed, Sep 01, 2021 at 01:19:18PM -0700, Douglas Anderson wrote:
> > The goal of this patch series is to move away from hardcoding exact
> > eDP panels in device tree files. As discussed in the various patches
> > in this series (I'm not repeating everything here), most eDP panels
> > are 99% probable and we can get that last 1% by allowing two "power
> > up" delays to be specified in the device tree file and then using the
> > panel ID (found in the EDID) to look up additional power sequencing
> > delays for the panel.
> >
> > This patch series is the logical contiunation of a previous patch
> > series where I proposed solving this problem by adding a
> > board-specific compatible string [1]. In the discussion that followed
> > it sounded like people were open to something like the solution
> > proposed in this new series.
> >
> > In version 2 I got rid of the idea that we could have a "fallback"
> > compatible string that we'd use if we didn't recognize the ID in the
> > EDID. This simplifies the bindings a lot and the implementation
> > somewhat. As a result of not having a "fallback", though, I'm not
> > confident in transitioning any existing boards over to this since
> > we'll have to fallback to very conservative timings if we don't
> > recognize the ID from the EDID and I can't guarantee that I've seen
> > every panel that might have shipped on an existing product. The plan
> > is to use "edp-panel" only on new boards or new revisions of old
> > boards where we can guarantee that every EDID that ships out of the
> > factory has an ID in the table.
> >
> > Version 3 of this series now splits out all eDP panels to their own
> > driver and adds the generic eDP panel support to this new driver. I
> > believe this is what Sam was looking for [2].
> >
> > [1] https://lore.kernel.org/r/YFKQaXOmOwYyeqvM@google.com/
> > [2] https://lore.kernel.org/r/YRTsFNTn%2FT8fLxyB@ravnborg.org/
> >
> > Changes in v3:
> > - Decode hex product ID w/ same endianness as everyone else.
> > - ("Reorder logicpd_type_28...") patch new for v3.
> > - Split eDP panels patch new for v3.
> > - Move wayward panels patch new for v3.
> > - ("Non-eDP panels don't need "HPD" handling") new for v3.
> > - Split the delay structure out patch just on eDP now.
> > - ("Better describe eDP panel delays") new for v3.
> > - Fix "prepare_to_enable" patch new for v3.
> > - ("Don't re-read the EDID every time") moved to eDP only patch.
> > - Generic "edp-panel" handled by the eDP panel driver now.
> > - Change init order to we power at the end.
> > - Adjust endianness of product ID.
> > - Fallback to conservative delays if panel not recognized.
> > - Add Sharp LQ116M1JW10 to table.
> > - Add AUO B116XAN06.1 to table.
> > - Rename delays more generically so they can be reused.
> >
> > Changes in v2:
> > - No longer allow fallback to panel-simple.
> > - Add "-ms" suffix to delays.
> > - Don't support a "fallback" panel. Probed panels must be probed.
> > - Not based on patch to copy "desc"--just allocate for probed panels.
> > - Add "-ms" suffix to delays.
> >
> > Douglas Anderson (16):
> >   dt-bindings: drm/panel-simple-edp: Introduce generic eDP panels
> >   drm/edid: Break out reading block 0 of the EDID
> >   drm/edid: Allow the querying/working with the panel ID from the EDID
> >   drm/panel-simple: Reorder logicpd_type_28 / mitsubishi_aa070mc01
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Split eDP panels out of panel-simple
> >   ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP
> >   arm64: defconfig: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets
> >     PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP
> >   MIPS: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Move some wayward panels to the eDP driver
> >   drm/panel-simple: Non-eDP panels don't need "HPD" handling
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Split the delay structure out
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Better describe eDP panel delays
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: hpd_reliable shouldn't be subtraced from
> >     hpd_absent
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Fix "prepare_to_enable" if panel doesn't handle
> >     HPD
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Don't re-read the EDID every time we power off
> >     the panel
> >   drm/panel-simple-edp: Implement generic "edp-panel"s probed by EDID
>
> Thanks for looking into this. I really like the outcome.
> We have panel-simple that now (mostly) handle simple panels,
> and thus all the eDP functionality is in a separate driver.
>
> I have provided a few nits.
> My only take on this is the naming - as we do not want to confuse
> panel-simple and panel-edp I strongly suggest renaming the driver to
> panel-edp.

Sure, I'll do that. I was trying to express the fact that the new
"panel-edp" driver won't actually handle _all_ eDP panels, only the
eDP panels that are (comparatively) simpler. For instance, I'm not
planning to handle panel-samsung-atna33xc20.c in "panel-edp". I guess
people will figure it out, though.


> And then rename the corresponding Kconfig entry.
>
> With these few changes all patches are:
> Acked-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>

Thanks, I'll add it to the patches. If there's anything major I need
to change I'll give you a yell to make sure you see it.


> For bisectability I suggest to move the defconfig patches up before you
> introduce the new Kconfig symbol. Or maybe they will be added via
> another tree and then this is not possible to control

Yup, I'll do that. There was some question about the defconfig patch
but they are hopefully cleared up now.


> I assume you will apply the patches yourself.

Sure, I can do that with your Ack. I'll also make sure that patches
that Jani commented on get resolved.


-Doug

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-09-09  0:30 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-01 20:19 Douglas Anderson
2021-09-01 20:19 ` [PATCH v3 06/16] ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP Douglas Anderson
2021-09-01 21:12   ` Olof Johansson
2021-09-01 23:10     ` Doug Anderson
     [not found]       ` <CGME20210903071832eucas1p10a7b8a295e68df4d2735110c9ec09cf1@eucas1p1.samsung.com>
2021-09-03  7:18         ` Andrzej Hajda
     [not found]       ` <163070152582.405991.9480635890491684680@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com>
2021-09-08 22:36         ` Doug Anderson
2021-09-08 23:08           ` Olof Johansson
     [not found] ` <CGME20210902221015eucas1p26fae8f6ba4c70087dc7b007a271dce4b@eucas1p2.samsung.com>
2021-09-02 22:10   ` [PATCH v3 00/16] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-02 22:33     ` Doug Anderson
     [not found] ` <YTUSiHiCgihz1AcO@ravnborg.org>
2021-09-09  0:24   ` Doug Anderson [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAD=FV=U+dnyuGc9OuvMJpYWVx1x6yYQPJgi6fh+6Ne37+veedw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=Anson.Huang@nxp.com \
    --cc=agx@sigxcpu.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andreas@kemnade.info \
    --cc=andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clabbe@baylibre.com \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=codrin.ciubotariu@microchip.com \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=digetx@gmail.com \
    --cc=dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=emil.velikov@collabora.com \
    --cc=enric.balletbo@collabora.com \
    --cc=eugen.hristev@microchip.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fabrice.gasnier@st.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=jagan@amarulasolutions.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=l.stelmach@samsung.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lionel.debieve@st.com \
    --cc=liviu.dudau@arm.com \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=ludovic.desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=mani@kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.juecker@gmail.com \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=nm@ti.com \
    --cc=olivier.moysan@st.com \
    --cc=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=otavio@ossystems.com.br \
    --cc=paul@crapouillou.net \
    --cc=razvan.stefanescu@microchip.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=steev@kali.org \
    --cc=stefan.wahren@i2se.com \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=tudor.ambarus@microchip.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    --cc=vz@mleia.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 00/16] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).