linux-samsung-soc.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
To: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: "Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Sam Ravnborg" <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	"Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Linus W" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	DTML <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Steev Klimaszewski" <steev@kali.org>,
	"Thomas Zimmermann" <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"DRI mailing list" <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	"Al Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Alexandre Torgue" <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	"Andreas Kemnade" <andreas@kemnade.info>,
	"Andrey Zhizhikin" <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com>,
	"Anson Huang" <Anson.Huang@nxp.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>, "Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	"Claudiu Beznea" <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	"Codrin Ciubotariu" <codrin.ciubotariu@microchip.com>,
	"Corentin Labbe" <clabbe@baylibre.com>,
	"Daniel Thompson" <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	"Dmitry Osipenko" <digetx@gmail.com>,
	"Emil Velikov" <emil.velikov@collabora.com>,
	"Eugen Hristev" <eugen.hristev@microchip.com>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"Fabrice Gasnier" <fabrice.gasnier@st.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Grygorii Strashko" <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	"Joel Stanley" <joel@jms.id.au>,
	"Jonathan Hunter" <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>,
	"Lionel Debieve" <lionel.debieve@st.com>,
	"Liviu Dudau" <liviu.dudau@arm.com>,
	"Lorenzo Pieralisi" <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	"Ludovic Desroches" <ludovic.desroches@microchip.com>,
	"Magnus Damm" <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	"Manivannan Sadhasivam" <mani@kernel.org>,
	"Marek Szyprowski" <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	"Martin Jücker" <martin.juecker@gmail.com>,
	"NXP Linux Team" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Nicolas Ferre" <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	"Olivier Moysan" <olivier.moysan@st.com>,
	"Otavio Salvador" <otavio@ossystems.com.br>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Razvan Stefanescu" <razvan.stefanescu@microchip.com>,
	"Robert Richter" <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Stefan Wahren" <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>,
	"Sudeep Holla" <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	"Tony Lindgren" <tony@atomide.com>,
	"Tudor Ambarus" <tudor.ambarus@microchip.com>,
	"Viresh Kumar" <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	"Vladimir Zapolskiy" <vz@mleia.com>,
	"Linux ARM Mailing List" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-omap <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/SAMSUNG EXYNOS ARM ARCHITECTURES"
	<linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev,
	"open list:TEGRA ARCHITECTURE SUPPORT"
	<linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Łukasz Stelmach" <l.stelmach@samsung.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 06/16] ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP
Date: Wed, 1 Sep 2021 14:12:00 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAOesGMjp4pscuxciHZo7br-acgbkZSdRA_mUWNpcz0OfF7zOSA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210901131531.v3.6.I02250cd7d4799661b068bcc65849a456ed411734@changeid>

On Wed, Sep 1, 2021 at 1:20 PM Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> In the patch ("drm/panel-simple-edp: Split eDP panels out of
> panel-simple") we split the PANEL_SIMPLE driver in 2. By default let's
> give everyone who had the old driver enabled the new driver too. If
> folks want to opt-out of one or the other they always can later.
>
> Signed-off-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>

Isn't this a case where the new option should just have had the old
option as the default value to avoid this kind of churn and possibly
broken platforms?


-Olof

  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-01 21:12 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-01 20:19 [PATCH v3 00/16] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding Douglas Anderson
2021-09-01 20:19 ` [PATCH v3 06/16] ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP Douglas Anderson
2021-09-01 21:12   ` Olof Johansson [this message]
2021-09-01 23:10     ` Doug Anderson
     [not found]       ` <CGME20210903071832eucas1p10a7b8a295e68df4d2735110c9ec09cf1@eucas1p1.samsung.com>
2021-09-03  7:18         ` Andrzej Hajda
     [not found]       ` <163070152582.405991.9480635890491684680@swboyd.mtv.corp.google.com>
2021-09-08 22:36         ` Doug Anderson
2021-09-08 23:08           ` Olof Johansson
     [not found] ` <CGME20210902221015eucas1p26fae8f6ba4c70087dc7b007a271dce4b@eucas1p2.samsung.com>
2021-09-02 22:10   ` [PATCH v3 00/16] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-02 22:33     ` Doug Anderson
     [not found] ` <YTUSiHiCgihz1AcO@ravnborg.org>
2021-09-09  0:24   ` Doug Anderson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAOesGMjp4pscuxciHZo7br-acgbkZSdRA_mUWNpcz0OfF7zOSA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=Anson.Huang@nxp.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andreas@kemnade.info \
    --cc=andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=clabbe@baylibre.com \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=codrin.ciubotariu@microchip.com \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=digetx@gmail.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=emil.velikov@collabora.com \
    --cc=eugen.hristev@microchip.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fabrice.gasnier@st.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=l.stelmach@samsung.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lionel.debieve@st.com \
    --cc=liviu.dudau@arm.com \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=ludovic.desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=mani@kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.juecker@gmail.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=olivier.moysan@st.com \
    --cc=otavio@ossystems.com.br \
    --cc=razvan.stefanescu@microchip.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=steev@kali.org \
    --cc=stefan.wahren@i2se.com \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --cc=tudor.ambarus@microchip.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vz@mleia.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 06/16] ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).