linux-samsung-soc.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
To: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>,
	Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>,
	freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Xinliang Liu <xinliang.liu@linaro.org>,
	Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@samsung.com>,
	Tian Tao <tiantao6@hisilicon.com>,
	Inki Dae <inki.dae@samsung.com>,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	Chen Feng <puck.chen@hisilicon.com>,
	Xinwei Kong <kong.kongxinwei@hisilicon.com>,
	Joonyoung Shim <jy0922.shim@samsung.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 24/24] drm/exynos: dsi: Adjust probe order
Date: Fri, 17 Sep 2021 14:35:05 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <fc1fbd42-6ed4-9d67-2903-8f9cc2aaad43@samsung.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <29a2111d-024b-4d9e-27ef-e3399509ff32@samsung.com>

Hi,

On 13.09.2021 12:30, Andrzej Hajda wrote:
> W dniu 10.09.2021 o 12:12, Maxime Ripard pisze:
>> Without proper care and an agreement between how DSI hosts and devices
>> drivers register their MIPI-DSI entities and potential components, we can
>> end up in a situation where the drivers can never probe.
>>
>> Most drivers were taking evasive maneuvers to try to workaround this,
>> but not all of them were following the same conventions, resulting in
>> various incompatibilities between DSI hosts and devices.
>>
>> Now that we have a sequence agreed upon and documented, let's convert
>> exynos to it.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
> This patch should be dropped, as it will probably break the driver.
>
> Exynos is already compatible with the pattern
> register-bus-then-get-sink, but it adds/removes panel/bridge
> dynamically, so it creates drm_device without waiting for downstream sink.

Right, this patch breaks Exynos DSI driver operation. Without it, the 
whole series works fine on all Exynos based test boards.

Best regards
-- 
Marek Szyprowski, PhD
Samsung R&D Institute Poland


  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-17 12:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 53+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-10 10:11 [PATCH v4 00/24] drm/bridge: Make panel and bridge probe order consistent Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:11 ` [PATCH v4 01/24] drm/bridge: Add documentation sections Maxime Ripard
2021-09-24 17:52   ` (subset) " Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:11 ` [PATCH v4 02/24] drm/bridge: Document the probe issue with MIPI-DSI bridges Maxime Ripard
2021-09-13  6:29   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-14 14:35     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-09-14 19:00       ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-22  8:57         ` Maxime Ripard
2021-09-24 17:52   ` (subset) " Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:11 ` [PATCH v4 03/24] drm/mipi-dsi: Create devm device registration Maxime Ripard
2021-09-24 17:52   ` (subset) " Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:11 ` [PATCH v4 04/24] drm/mipi-dsi: Create devm device attachment Maxime Ripard
2021-09-24 17:52   ` (subset) " Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:11 ` [PATCH v4 05/24] drm/bridge: adv7533: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 06/24] drm/bridge: adv7511: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 07/24] drm/bridge: anx7625: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 08/24] drm/bridge: anx7625: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 09/24] drm/bridge: lt8912b: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 10/24] drm/bridge: lt8912b: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 11/24] drm/bridge: lt9611: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 12/24] drm/bridge: lt9611: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 13/24] drm/bridge: lt9611uxc: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 14/24] drm/bridge: lt9611uxc: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 15/24] drm/bridge: ps8640: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 16/24] drm/bridge: ps8640: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 17/24] drm/bridge: sn65dsi83: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 18/24] drm/bridge: sn65dsi83: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 19/24] drm/bridge: sn65dsi86: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 20/24] drm/bridge: sn65dsi86: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 21/24] drm/bridge: tc358775: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 22/24] drm/bridge: tc358775: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 23/24] drm/kirin: dsi: Adjust probe order Maxime Ripard
2021-09-10 10:12 ` [PATCH v4 24/24] drm/exynos: " Maxime Ripard
2021-09-13 10:30   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-17 12:35     ` Marek Szyprowski [this message]
2021-09-22  8:53       ` Maxime Ripard
2021-09-23  8:14         ` Marek Szyprowski
2021-09-29 21:27 ` [PATCH v4 00/24] drm/bridge: Make panel and bridge probe order consistent John Stultz
2021-09-29 21:32   ` John Stultz
2021-09-29 21:51     ` John Stultz
2021-09-29 23:25       ` Rob Clark
2021-09-29 23:25         ` John Stultz
2021-09-30  2:30         ` John Stultz
2021-09-30 19:49         ` Amit Pundir
2021-09-30 20:20           ` Caleb Connolly
2021-10-13 14:16             ` Maxime Ripard
2021-10-14  0:16               ` [Freedreno] " Rob Clark
2021-10-18 12:34                 ` Maxime Ripard
2021-10-18 15:55                   ` Rob Clark
2021-09-29 23:29       ` John Stultz
2021-10-13 13:45         ` Maxime Ripard
2021-09-29 21:56 ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-10-03 13:25   ` Laurent Pinchart

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=fc1fbd42-6ed4-9d67-2903-8f9cc2aaad43@samsung.com \
    --to=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=inki.dae@samsung.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=jy0922.shim@samsung.com \
    --cc=kong.kongxinwei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=kyungmin.park@samsung.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=maxime@cerno.tech \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=puck.chen@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=robdclark@gmail.com \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=sean@poorly.run \
    --cc=sw0312.kim@samsung.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tiantao6@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=xinliang.liu@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 24/24] drm/exynos: dsi: Adjust probe order' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).