Linux-Security-Module Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Nicolas Viennot <Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com>
To: Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>
Cc: "Christian Brauner" <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	"Eric Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	"Pavel Emelyanov" <ovzxemul@gmail.com>,
	"Oleg Nesterov" <oleg@redhat.com>,
	"Dmitry Safonov" <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>,
	"Andrei Vagin" <avagin@gmail.com>,
	"Michał Cłapiński" <mclapinski@google.com>,
	"Kamil Yurtsever" <kyurtsever@google.com>,
	"Dirk Petersen" <dipeit@gmail.com>,
	"Christine Flood" <chf@redhat.com>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Radostin Stoyanov" <rstoyanov1@gmail.com>,
	"Cyrill Gorcunov" <gorcunov@openvz.org>,
	"Serge Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	"Stephen Smalley" <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>,
	"Sargun Dhillon" <sargun@sargun.me>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Aaron Goidel" <acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	"linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org"
	<linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"selinux@vger.kernel.org" <selinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Eric Paris" <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	"Jann Horn" <jannh@google.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH] capabilities: Introduce CAP_RESTORE
Date: Wed, 27 May 2020 16:37:31 +0000
Message-ID: <ac167440b8b64f02a034dd94687b8aee@EXMBDFT11.ad.twosigma.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <f43921ac-2e55-7d9d-406a-d0f4cfd8ff93@schaufler-ca.com>

> > If I understand part of CRIU correctly, then we only need read-access 
> > for the current user. I am sure Andrei, Pavel or Cyrill will correct 
> > me if I am wrong concerning map_files.
> If I do "ls -l /proc/self/map_files" I get the link name and link content.
> While I can't open /proc/self/map_files/7fbde0c3200-7fbde0c3300 I can read that it points to /usr/lib64/ld-2.30.so, which is something I can open and read. Sure, it's an extra step, but it's no big deal. It does raise the question of what value comes from disallowing open via the symlink.

Reading the symlink doesn't work in two cases:
1) The file has been deleted
2) The file is a memfd file

  reply index

Thread overview: 25+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-22  5:53 Adrian Reber
2020-05-22  7:53 ` Christian Brauner
2020-05-22 18:02   ` Andrei Vagin
2020-05-22 13:41 ` Christian Brauner
2020-05-22 16:40 ` Casey Schaufler
2020-05-23  4:27   ` Andrei Vagin
2020-05-25  2:01     ` Casey Schaufler
2020-05-25  8:05   ` Adrian Reber
2020-05-25 18:55     ` Casey Schaufler
2020-05-27 13:48       ` Adrian Reber
2020-05-27 15:57         ` Casey Schaufler
2020-05-27 16:37           ` Nicolas Viennot [this message]
2020-05-27 16:46             ` Casey Schaufler
2020-05-26 13:59     ` Eric W. Biederman
     [not found]       ` <CALKUemw0UZ67yaDwAomHh0n8QZfjd52QvgEXTJ4R3JSrQjZX9g@mail.gmail.com>
2020-05-26 19:19         ` Casey Schaufler
2020-05-26 19:51         ` Jann Horn
2020-05-27 14:14       ` Adrian Reber
2020-05-27 15:29         ` Christian Brauner
2020-05-27 18:05           ` Nicolas Viennot
2020-05-28  9:48             ` Christian Brauner
2020-06-08  2:09               ` Andrei Vagin
2020-05-25 21:53 ` Jann Horn
2020-05-26  9:09   ` Radostin Stoyanov
2020-06-12  0:17 ` Matt Helsley
2020-06-12 14:39   ` Christian Brauner

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=ac167440b8b64f02a034dd94687b8aee@EXMBDFT11.ad.twosigma.com \
    --to=nicolas.viennot@twosigma.com \
    --cc=0x7f454c46@gmail.com \
    --cc=acgoide@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=areber@redhat.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=avagin@gmail.com \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=chf@redhat.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=dipeit@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=gorcunov@openvz.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=kyurtsever@google.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mclapinski@google.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=ovzxemul@gmail.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=rstoyanov1@gmail.com \
    --cc=sargun@sargun.me \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Security-Module Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-security-module/0 linux-security-module/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-security-module linux-security-module/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-security-module \
		linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-security-module

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-security-module


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git