linux-sh.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
To: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>,
	Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	"James E . J . Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org, linux-csky@vger.kernel.org,
	uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp,
	linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, openrisc@lists.librecores.org,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-um@lists.infradead.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] arch: Export machine_restart() instances so they can be called from modules
Date: Thu, 5 Aug 2021 11:16:03 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210805091603.GE5979@alpha.franken.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210805075032.723037-2-lee.jones@linaro.org>

On Thu, Aug 05, 2021 at 08:50:30AM +0100, Lee Jones wrote:
> A recent attempt to convert the Power Reset Restart driver to tristate
> failed because of the following compile error (reported once merged by
> Stephen Rothwell via Linux Next):
> 
>   ERROR: "machine_restart" [drivers/power/reset/restart-poweroff.ko] undefined!
> 
> This error occurs since some of the machine_restart() instances are
> not currently exported for use in modules.  This patch aims to rectify
> that.
> 
> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
> Cc: John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>
> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
> Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>
> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>
> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
> Cc: Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>
> Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-csky@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp
> Cc: linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
> Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: openrisc@lists.librecores.org
> Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> Cc: linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-um@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
> Signed-off-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
> ---
> 
> The 2 patches this change supports have the required Acks already.
> 
> NB: If it's safe to omit some of these, let me know and I'll revise the patch.
> 
>  [...]
>  arch/mips/kernel/reset.c           | 1 +
>  arch/mips/lantiq/falcon/reset.c    | 1 +
>  arch/mips/sgi-ip27/ip27-reset.c    | 1 +

Acked-by: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>

-- 
Crap can work. Given enough thrust pigs will fly, but it's not necessarily a
good idea.                                                [ RFC1925, 2.3 ]

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05  9:17 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-05  7:50 [PATCH 0/3] power: reset: Convert Power-Off driver to tristate Lee Jones
2021-08-05  7:50 ` [PATCH 1/3] arch: Export machine_restart() instances so they can be called from modules Lee Jones
2021-08-05  9:16   ` Thomas Bogendoerfer [this message]
2021-08-05 17:36   ` Catalin Marinas
2021-08-05 18:41     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2021-08-05 18:54       ` Lee Jones

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210805091603.GE5979@alpha.franken.de \
    --to=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=bcain@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chris@zankel.net \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jdike@addtoit.com \
    --cc=john@phrozen.org \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=ley.foon.tan@intel.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-csky@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/3] arch: Export machine_restart() instances so they can be called from modules' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).