linux-sh.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Vineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Amitkumar Karwar <amitkarwar@gmail.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Ganapathi Bhat <ganapathi017@gmail.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	"Richard Russon (FlatCap)" <ldm@flatcap.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Sharvari Harisangam <sharvari.harisangam@nxp.com>,
	Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>,
	Xinming Hu <huxinming820@gmail.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>,
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	"openrisc@lists.librecores.org" <openrisc@lists.librecores.org>,
	linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-sparc <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net" 
	<linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net>,
	linux-block <linux-block@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-wireless <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>,
	Netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM List <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper
Date: Fri, 14 May 2021 18:51:59 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <2408c893-4ae7-4f53-f58c-497c91f5b034@synopsys.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHk-=whGObOKruA_bU3aPGZfoDqZM1_9wBkwREp0H0FgR-90uQ@mail.gmail.com>

On 5/14/21 10:32 AM, Linus Torvalds wrote:
> On Fri, May 14, 2021 at 3:02 AM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
>> I've included this version in the asm-generic tree for 5.14 already,
>> addressing the few issues that were pointed out in the RFC. If there
>> are any remaining problems, I hope those can be addressed as follow-up
>> patches.
> This continues to look great to me, and now has the even simpler
> remaining implementation.
>
> I'd be tempted to just pull it in for 5.13, but I guess we don't
> actually have any _outstanding_ bug in this area (the bug was in our
> zlib code, required -O3 to trigger, has been fixed now,

Wasn't the new zlib code slated for 5.14. I don't see it in your master yet

>   and the biggy
> case didn't even use "get_unaligned()").

Indeed this series is sort of orthogonal to that bug, but IMO that bug 
still exists in 5.13 for -O3 build, granted that is not enabled for !ARC.

-Vineet

>
> So I guess your 5.14 timing is the right thing to do.
>
>          Linus


  reply	other threads:[~2021-05-14 18:52 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-14 10:00 Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 10:00 ` [PATCH v2 03/13] sh: remove unaligned access for sh4a Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 10:34   ` John Paul Adrian Glaubitz
2021-05-14 12:22     ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-15 15:36       ` John Paul Adrian Glaubitz
2021-05-15 20:10         ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 17:32 ` [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 18:51   ` Vineet Gupta [this message]
2021-05-14 19:22     ` Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 19:45       ` Vineet Gupta
2021-05-14 20:19         ` Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 19:31   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-12-16 17:29 ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-12-16 17:42   ` Linus Torvalds
2021-12-16 17:49   ` David Laight
2021-12-16 18:56   ` Segher Boessenkool
2021-12-17 12:34     ` David Laight
2021-12-17 13:35       ` Segher Boessenkool

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=2408c893-4ae7-4f53-f58c-497c91f5b034@synopsys.com \
    --to=vineet.gupta1@synopsys.com \
    --cc=amitkarwar@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=ganapathi017@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=huxinming820@gmail.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=john.johansen@canonical.com \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ldm@flatcap.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sharvari.harisangam@nxp.com \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).