linux-sh.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Laight <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM>
To: 'Segher Boessenkool' <segher@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Cc: "linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org" <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	"linux-sh@vger.kernel.org" <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Richard Russon (FlatCap)" <ldm@flatcap.org>,
	X86 ML <x86@kernel.org>, Amitkumar Karwar <amitkarwar@gmail.com>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"open list:SPARC + UltraSPARC (sparc/sparc64)" 
	<sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>, Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.osdn.me>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Ganapathi Bhat <ganapathi017@gmail.com>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	"linux-block@vger.kernel.org" <linux-block@vger.kernel.org>,
	"openrisc@lists.librecores.org" <openrisc@lists.librecores.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@kernel.org>,
	John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com>,
	Xinming Hu <huxinming820@gmail.com>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net" 
	<linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net>,
	"linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org" 
	<linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:BPF JIT for MIPS (32-BIT AND 64-BIT)" 
	<netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	"johannes@sipsolutions.net" <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	"open list:LINUX FOR POWERPC (32-BIT AND 64-BIT)" 
	<linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	Sharvari Harisangam <sharvari.harisangam@nxp.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper
Date: Fri, 17 Dec 2021 12:34:53 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <698cfc52a0d441f7b9f29424be82b2e8@AcuMS.aculab.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20211216185620.GP614@gate.crashing.org>

From: Segher Boessenkool
> Sent: 16 December 2021 18:56
...
> > The only remaining problem here is reinterpreting a char* pointer to a
> > u32*, e.g., for accessing the IP address in an Ethernet frame when
> > NET_IP_ALIGN == 2, which could suffer from the same UB problem again,
> > as I understand it.
> 
> The problem is never casting a pointer to pointer to character type, and
> then later back to an appriopriate pointer type.
> These things are both required to work.

I think that is true of 'void *', not 'char *'.
'char' is special in that 'strict aliasing' doesn't apply to it.
(Which is actually a pain sometimes.)

> The problem always is accessing something as if it
> was something of another type, which is not valid C.  This however is
> exactly what -fno-strict-aliasing allows, so that works as well.

IIRC the C language only allows you to have pointers to valid data items.
(Since they can only be generated by the & operator on a valid item.)
Indirecting any other pointer is probably UB!

This (sort of) allows the compiler to 'look through' casts to find
what the actual type is (or might be).
It can then use that information to make optimisation choices.
This has caused grief with memcpy() calls that are trying to copy
a structure that the coder knows is misaligned to an aligned buffer.

So while *(unaligned_ptr *)char_ptr probably has to work.
If the compiler can see *(unaligned_ptr *)(char *)int_ptr it can
assume the alignment of the 'int_ptr' and do a single aligned access.

	David

-
Registered Address Lakeside, Bramley Road, Mount Farm, Milton Keynes, MK1 1PT, UK
Registration No: 1397386 (Wales)


  reply	other threads:[~2021-12-17 12:34 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-14 10:00 Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 10:00 ` [PATCH v2 03/13] sh: remove unaligned access for sh4a Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 10:34   ` John Paul Adrian Glaubitz
2021-05-14 12:22     ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-15 15:36       ` John Paul Adrian Glaubitz
2021-05-15 20:10         ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 17:32 ` [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 18:51   ` Vineet Gupta
2021-05-14 19:22     ` Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 19:45       ` Vineet Gupta
2021-05-14 20:19         ` Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 19:31   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-12-16 17:29 ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-12-16 17:42   ` Linus Torvalds
2021-12-16 17:49   ` David Laight
2021-12-16 18:56   ` Segher Boessenkool
2021-12-17 12:34     ` David Laight [this message]
2021-12-17 13:35       ` Segher Boessenkool

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=698cfc52a0d441f7b9f29424be82b2e8@AcuMS.aculab.com \
    --to=david.laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=Jason@zx2c4.com \
    --cc=amitkarwar@gmail.com \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=ganapathi017@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=huxinming820@gmail.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=john.johansen@canonical.com \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ldm@flatcap.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=segher@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sharvari.harisangam@nxp.com \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.osdn.me \
    --subject='RE: [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).