linux-sh.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Vineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Amitkumar Karwar <amitkarwar@gmail.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Ganapathi Bhat <ganapathi017@gmail.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	"Richard Russon (FlatCap)" <ldm@flatcap.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Sharvari Harisangam <sharvari.harisangam@nxp.com>,
	Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>,
	Xinming Hu <huxinming820@gmail.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	"the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>,
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	"openrisc@lists.librecores.org" <openrisc@lists.librecores.org>,
	linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-sparc <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net" 
	<linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net>,
	linux-block <linux-block@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-wireless <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>,
	Netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM List <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper
Date: Fri, 14 May 2021 12:22:42 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHk-=wih8UHDwJ8x6m-p0PQ7o4S4gOBwGNs=w=q10GNY7A-70w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <2408c893-4ae7-4f53-f58c-497c91f5b034@synopsys.com>

On Fri, May 14, 2021 at 11:52 AM Vineet Gupta
<Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com> wrote:
>
> Wasn't the new zlib code slated for 5.14. I don't see it in your master yet

You're right, I never actually committed it, since it was specific to
ARC and -O3 and I wasn't entirely happy with the amount of testing it
got (with Heiko pointing out that the s390 stuff needed more fixes for
the change).

So in fact it's not even queued up for 5.14 due to this all, I just dropped it.

> >   and the biggy
> > case didn't even use "get_unaligned()").
>
> Indeed this series is sort of orthogonal to that bug, but IMO that bug
> still exists in 5.13 for -O3 build, granted that is not enabled for !ARC.

Right, the zlib bug is still there.

But Arnd's series wouldn't even fix it: right now inffast has its own
- ugly and slow - special 2-byte-only version of "get_unaligned()",
called "get_unaligned16()".

And because it's ugly and slow, it's not actually used for
CONFIG_HAVE_EFFICIENT_UNALIGNED_ACCESS.

Vineet - maybe the fix is to not take my patch to update to a newer
zlib, but to just fix inffast to use the proper get_unaligned(). Then
Arnd's series _would_ actually fix all this..

              Linus

  reply	other threads:[~2021-05-14 19:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-14 10:00 Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 10:00 ` [PATCH v2 03/13] sh: remove unaligned access for sh4a Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 10:34   ` John Paul Adrian Glaubitz
2021-05-14 12:22     ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-15 15:36       ` John Paul Adrian Glaubitz
2021-05-15 20:10         ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-05-14 17:32 ` [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 18:51   ` Vineet Gupta
2021-05-14 19:22     ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2021-05-14 19:45       ` Vineet Gupta
2021-05-14 20:19         ` Linus Torvalds
2021-05-14 19:31   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-12-16 17:29 ` Ard Biesheuvel
2021-12-16 17:42   ` Linus Torvalds
2021-12-16 17:49   ` David Laight
2021-12-16 18:56   ` Segher Boessenkool
2021-12-17 12:34     ` David Laight
2021-12-17 13:35       ` Segher Boessenkool

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=wih8UHDwJ8x6m-p0PQ7o4S4gOBwGNs=w=q10GNY7A-70w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com \
    --cc=amitkarwar@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=ganapathi017@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=huxinming820@gmail.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=john.johansen@canonical.com \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ldm@flatcap.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sharvari.harisangam@nxp.com \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 00/13] Unify asm/unaligned.h around struct helper' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).