Linux SNPS ARC Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
To: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com>,
	Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>,
	linux-csky@vger.kernel.org,
	sparclinux <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>,
	linux-s390 <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org,
	Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>,
	linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>,
	x86@kernel.org, Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>,
	Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org,
	uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp,
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-um@lists.infradead.org,
	linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	Aurelien Jacquiot <jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com>,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>,
	Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>,
	Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	openrisc@lists.librecores.org,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 16/17] arch: remove HAVE_COPY_THREAD_TLS
Date: Sat, 27 Jun 2020 11:06:08 +0800
Message-ID: <CAEbi=3f3o5jS7zZDo50Vq857mS9n9kDsxkseGKrWshmmp3q5wA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200622234326.906346-17-christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>

Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com> 於 2020年6月23日 週二 上午7:46寫道:
>
> All architectures support copy_thread_tls() now, so remove the legacy
> copy_thread() function and the HAVE_COPY_THREAD_TLS config option. Everyone
> uses the same process creation calling convention based on
> copy_thread_tls() and struct kernel_clone_args. This will make it easier to
> maintain the core process creation code under kernel/, simplifies the
> callpaths and makes the identical for all architectures.
>
> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
> Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com>
> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
> Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>
> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>
> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
> Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>
> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>
> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
> Cc: Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>
> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: "Matthew Wilcox
> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org
> Cc: linux-csky@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp
> Cc: linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
> Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: openrisc@lists.librecores.org
> Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> Cc: linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-um@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
> Signed-off-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
> [...]
> diff --git a/arch/nds32/Kconfig b/arch/nds32/Kconfig
> index 7b6eaca81cce..e30298e99e1b 100644
> --- a/arch/nds32/Kconfig
> +++ b/arch/nds32/Kconfig
> @@ -48,7 +48,6 @@ config NDS32
>         select HAVE_FUNCTION_GRAPH_TRACER
>         select HAVE_FTRACE_MCOUNT_RECORD
>         select HAVE_DYNAMIC_FTRACE
> -       select HAVE_COPY_THREAD_TLS
>         help
>           Andes(nds32) Linux support.

Hi Christian, Thank you.
Acked-by: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>

_______________________________________________
linux-snps-arc mailing list
linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-snps-arc

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20200622234326.906346-1-christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
     [not found] ` <20200622234326.906346-17-christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
2020-06-25  8:25   ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2020-06-27  3:06   ` Greentime Hu [this message]
     [not found] ` <20200622234326.906346-18-christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
2020-06-25  8:26   ` [PATCH 17/17] arch: rename copy_thread_tls() back to copy_thread() Thomas Bogendoerfer
2020-06-25 21:17   ` Stafford Horne
2020-07-04 16:10     ` Christian Brauner
2020-06-27  3:10   ` Greentime Hu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAEbi=3f3o5jS7zZDo50Vq857mS9n9kDsxkseGKrWshmmp3q5wA@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=green.hu@gmail.com \
    --cc=James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=bcain@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=deanbo422@gmail.com \
    --cc=deller@gmx.de \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=gxt@pku.edu.cn \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru \
    --cc=jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com \
    --cc=jdike@addtoit.com \
    --cc=jonas@southpole.se \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=ley.foon.tan@intel.com \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org \
    --cc=linux-csky@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mattst88@gmail.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=msalter@redhat.com \
    --cc=nickhu@andestech.com \
    --cc=openrisc@lists.librecores.org \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=rth@twiddle.net \
    --cc=shorne@gmail.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux SNPS ARC Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-snps-arc/0 linux-snps-arc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-snps-arc linux-snps-arc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-snps-arc \
		linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-snps-arc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-snps-arc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git