Linux SNPS ARC Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
To: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	x86@kernel.org, Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Steven Price <Steven.Price@arm.com>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>,
	Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Sri Krishna chowdary <schowdary@nvidia.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V6 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests validating architecture page table helpers
Date: Wed, 16 Oct 2019 14:29:59 +0530
Message-ID: <fb1fe447-d30a-21ea-1b85-0d46e14f0872@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1571164920.5937.45.camel@lca.pw>



On 10/16/2019 12:12 AM, Qian Cai wrote:
> On Tue, 2019-10-15 at 20:51 +0530, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
>>
>> On 10/15/2019 08:11 PM, Qian Cai wrote:
>>> The x86 will crash with linux-next during boot due to this series (v5) with the
>>> config below plus CONFIG_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE=y. I am not sure if v6 would address
>>> it.
>>>
>>> https://raw.githubusercontent.com/cailca/linux-mm/master/x86.config
>>>
>>> [   33.862600][    T1] page:ffffea0009000000 is uninitialized and poisoned
>>> [   33.862608][    T1] raw: ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff
>>> ffffff871140][    T1]  ? _raw_spin_unlock_irq+0x27/0x40
>>> [   33.871140][    T1]  ? rest_init+0x307/0x307
>>> [   33.871140][    T1]  kernel_init+0x11/0x139
>>> [   33.871140][    T1]  ? rest_init+0x307/0x307
>>> [   33.871140][    T1]  ret_from_fork+0x27/0x50
>>> [   33.871140][    T1] Modules linked in:
>>> [   33.871140][    T1] ---[ end trace e99d392b0f7befbd ]---
>>> [   33.871140][    T1] RIP: 0010:alloc_gigantic_page_order+0x3fe/0x490
>>
>> Hmm, with defconfig (DEBUG_VM=y and DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE=y) it does not crash but
>> with the config above, it does. Just wondering if it is possible that these
>> pages might not been initialized yet because DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT=y ?
> 
> Yes, this patch works fine.
> 
> diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
> index 676d8020dd29..591be8f9e8e0 100644
> --- a/init/main.c
> +++ b/init/main.c
> @@ -1177,7 +1177,6 @@ static noinline void __init kernel_init_freeable(void)
>         workqueue_init();
>  
>         init_mm_internals();
> -       debug_vm_pgtable();
>  
>         do_pre_smp_initcalls();
>         lockup_detector_init();
> @@ -1186,6 +1185,8 @@ static noinline void __init kernel_init_freeable(void)
>         sched_init_smp();
>  
>         page_alloc_init_late();
> +       debug_vm_pgtable();
> +
>         /* Initialize page ext after all struct pages are initialized. */
>         page_ext_init();
> 

Sure, will keep this in mind if we at all end up with memory allocation approach
for this test.

>>
>> [   13.898549][    T1] page:ffffea0005000000 is uninitialized and poisoned
>> [   13.898549][    T1] raw: ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff
>> [   13.898549][    T1] raw: ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff ffffffffffffffff
>> [   13.898549][    T1] page dumped because: VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(PagePoisoned(p))
>> [   13.898549][    T1] ------------[ cut here ]------------
>> [   13.898549][    T1] kernel BUG at ./include/linux/mm.h:1107!
>> [   13.898549][    T1] invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] SMP DEBUG_PAGEALLOC KASAN PTI
>> [   13.898549][    T1] CPU: 0 PID: 1 Comm: swapper/0 Not tainted 5.4.0-rc3-next-20191015+ #
> 

_______________________________________________
linux-snps-arc mailing list
linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-snps-arc

  reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <1571131302-32290-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
     [not found] ` <1571131302-32290-2-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
2019-10-15 10:45   ` [PATCH V6 1/2] mm/page_alloc: Make alloc_gigantic_page() available for general use Michal Hocko
2019-10-15 11:07     ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-10-15 11:42   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-15 11:47     ` Michal Hocko
2019-10-15 11:50       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-15 12:01         ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-15 12:09         ` Michal Hocko
2019-10-15 12:11           ` Michal Hocko
     [not found] ` <1571131302-32290-3-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
2019-10-15 11:46   ` [PATCH V6 2/2] mm/debug: Add tests validating architecture page table helpers Michal Hocko
2019-10-15 12:27     ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-10-15 18:09   ` Qian Cai
2019-10-16  9:54     ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-10-15 14:41 ` [PATCH V6 0/2] " Qian Cai
2019-10-15 15:21   ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-10-15 18:42     ` Qian Cai
2019-10-16  8:59       ` Anshuman Khandual [this message]
2019-10-16  8:20     ` Michal Hocko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=fb1fe447-d30a-21ea-1b85-0d46e14f0872@arm.com \
    --to=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=Steven.Price@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=schowdary@nvidia.com \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux SNPS ARC Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-snps-arc/0 linux-snps-arc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-snps-arc linux-snps-arc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-snps-arc \
		linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-snps-arc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-snps-arc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git